COLOURED SWANS 1: KHOISWAN

Moya Michael & Tracey Rose / KVS, BOZAR, VOORUIT & Dance Umbrella (S.A.)

In Coloured Swans, dancer, performer and choreographer Moya Michael questions how layers of imposed identities change how an artist moves, speaks, sings and what specific spaces their bodies visualise or capture. Dance and performance are intertwined with singing, video and speech. 

Classified as a “coloured” person in Apartheid South Africa, Moya invites artists from a variety of disciplines and backgrounds to join her in this quest. Together they will share their personal stories in order to confront and intertwine the complexity of their experiences into one overarching creation. Each encounter leads to a solo created for and with the artist as one of the swans of Coloured Swans. You can book them together!

COLOURED SWAN 1: KHOISWAN 
Moya Michael / Tracey Rose 

Together with visual and performance artist Tracey Rose, Moya Michael will explore the common visual images that reflect their ancestries, their histories and where they are today as women of colour and specifically as descendants of the Khoi people. 

“If we use 'external systems' to refer to differences between bodies, then you could say that there are 'internal systems' that refer to individual answers to those external systems. Internal systems evolve over time and are a way to mitigate or strenghten what is inevitably imposed upon us.” – Moya Michael

COLOURED SWAN 2: ELDORADO 
Moya Michael / David Hernandez 

Coloured Swan 2: Eldorado uses the personal story of an immigrated performer from mixed latino heritage as a springboard to speak about hybridization and in-betweenism. David Hernandez has lived and worked in Belgium for over 25 years. 

“With the performance series Coloured Swans, we delve into identity and multiculturalism in contemporary society. Eldorado, the mythical city of gold, serves as a metaphor for all kinds of quests for the promised land. This performance is a multidisciplinary performance. A hybrid of dance, theatre, music and image, just as mixed as its makers.” – Moya Michael

Price
€ 17
reduction
€ 13 / € 9 (-26)
Premiere
06.11.2018
EN

COLOURED SWAN 1: KHOISWAN

Moya Michael & Tracey Rose / KVS, BOZAR, VOORUIT & Dance Umbrella (S.A.)

Dans Coloured Swans, la danseuse, performeuse et chorégraphe Moya Michael interroge la façon dont des strates d’identités imposées modifient la manière dont un(e) artiste se déplace, parle, chante et quels espaces spécifiques son corps visualise ou occupe. Des solos de danse truffées de multimédia, de vidéo, de chant et de texte.

Classifiée comme « personne de couleur » sous l’apartheid en Afrique du Sud, Moya Michael invite des artistes d’une variété de disciplines et origines à la rejoindre dans cette quête. Ensemble, ils vont partager leurs histoires personnelles afin de confronter et d’entrelacer la complexité de leurs expériences en une création totale. Chaque rencontre aboutit à un solo créé pour et avec l’artiste en question et donne ainsi lieu à l’un des cygnes de Coloured Swans

COLOURED SWAN 1: KHOISWAN 
Moya Michael / Tracey Rose 
Avec la plasticienne et artiste de la performance Tracey Rose, Moya Michael explore les images habituelles qui reflètent leurs ascendances, leurs histoires et qui les situent aujourd’hui en tant que femmes de couleur et en particulier en tant que descendantes du peuple Khoi. 

« Si nous utilisions des “systèmes externes” pour faire référence aux différences entre des corps, on pourrait dire qu’il y a des “systèmes internes” qui renvoient aux réponses individuelles à ces systèmes externes. Les systèmes internes se développent à travers le temps et sont une manière d’affaiblir ou de renforcer ce qui nous est inévitablement imposé. » – Moya Michael

COLOURED SWAN 2: ELDORADO 
Moya Michael / David Hernandez 

Coloured Swan 2: Eldorado s'inspire de l'histoire personnelle d'un performeur immigré aux origines mixtes, entre autres, latinos. Ce récit de vie fait office de tremplin vers une histoire « d'hybridation » et «d'identité intermédiaire ». David Hernandez vit et travaille depuis plus de 25 ans en Belgique. 

« Avec la série de spectacles Coloured Swans, nous nous penchons sur ce que signifient aujourd’hui l’identité et le multiculturalisme. L’Eldorado, la cité d’or mythique, sert de métaphore à toutes les quêtes vers la terre promise. Il s’agit d’un spectacle multidisciplinaire. Une forme hybride qui marie la danse, le théâtre, la musique et l’image, aussi mélangée que ses créateurs. – Moya Michael

Prix
€ 17
reduction
€ 13 / € 9 (-26)
Premiere
06.11.2018
Catégorie
Danse
EN
NL, FR