Congolisation

Congolisation is a multidisciplinary cultural festival that lends the stage to a wide variety of artistic ventures from the Congolese and wider sub-Saharan diaspora. From the 1st to the 4th of February the Pianofabriek will host artists from different horizons, with different perspectives, histories and stories. 

The term ‘Congolisation’ is a blend of the name of the country Congo and the term colonisation. The common thread of the festival is building and imagining together, to create a future we can all be part of. The festival unites various disciplines, including an exhibition, lectures and debates, theatre and theatrical workshops, film and performances. You can find the full programme via this link. 

 

Our hot tips:

Conference Black History Month – why and how?
Several speakers, including KVS city dramaturge Tunde Adefioye and KVS face Pitcho Womba Konga, engage in conversation about Black History Month. Should our country also organise a Black History Month to draw attention to the history of the African diaspora here? Why and how? The first debate takes place at Pianofabriek on February 3rd as part of Congolisation. A second debate takes place at BOZAR on February 23rd in the context of the Afropolitan festival. 

Projection: Kinshasa in video slams
On February 4th the creative splurges of the “laboratoire dramaturgie urbaine” will be shown at Pianofabriek. KVS organised this project in Kinshasa in the summer of 2017, together with Plateforme Contemporaine. Over a period of ten days, six slam poets and six filmmakers from Kinshasa collaborated closely around their artistic visions and their relation to the city. Working in duo, they endeavoured to find a cross-pollination between slam and video, resulting in a number of experimental video poems. 

Two of the poets, Do Nsoseme Dora and Fabrice Kalonji, aka Malabar, created the performance SLOW#03 – Slam Our World at KVS last autumn. 

 

KVS is a proud partner of Congolisation, an initiative by Pitcho Womba Konga.

Congolisation

Congolisation est un festival multidisciplinaire qui réunit sur les planches diverses initiatives artistiques de la diaspora congolaise en particulier et subsaharienne en général. Du 1er au 4 février 2018, le centre culturel et laboratoire urbain des arts Pianofabriek héberge des artistes d'horizons divers, aux perspectives, histoires et récits différents.

Le terme " Congolisation " est une contraction des termes Congo - le pays - et colonisation. Le fil rouge du festival réside dans la construction et la représentation communes afin d'ainsi générer un avenir commun pour tout un chacun.
Le festival réunit diverses disciplines, dont une exposition, des conférences et des débats, des spectacles et des ateliers de théâtre, des films et des performances. Découvrez le programme complet.

 

Nos conseils:

Conférence Black History Month - pourquoi et comment ?
Différents intervenants, dont le dramaturge urbain Tunde Adefioye et le visage du KVS Pitcho Womba Konga engagent la discussion sur le " mois de l'Histoire noire ", Black History Month. Faut-il également instaurer un tel événement dans notre pays pour attirer l'attention sur l'histoire de la diaspora africaine ? Pourquoi et comment ? Le premier débat se déroule au Pianofabriek le 3 février dans le cadre de Congolisation ; un second débat aura lieu à BOZAR le 23 février dans le cadre du festival Afropolitan.

Projection : Kinshasa en slam vidéo
Le 4 février, Pianofabriek présente, les extravagances créatives du laboratoire de dramaturgie urbaine que le KVS a organisé à Kinshasa au cours de l'été 2017, en partenariat avec l'organisation Plateforme Contemporaine. Durant une dizaine de jours, six slameurs et six cinéastes de Kinshasa ont étroitement collaboré autour de leur travail artistique et de leur relation à la ville. Ils sont partis en quête, par duo, de pollinisations interdisciplinaires entre le slam et la vidéo avec pour résultat une série de poèmes vidéo expérimentaux.

À l'automne, deux d'entre eux - Nsoseme Dora et Fabrice Kalonji, alias Malabar - ont créé au KVS le spectacle SLOW#03 (Slam Our World).

Le KVS est un fier partenaire de Congolisation, une initiative de Pitcho Womba Konga.