Lisbeth Gruwez & Penelope

Lisbeth Gruwez: ‘Penelope waits, struggling with time and longing. Her movement is that of standstill.’

Once all the verbal commotion made by the 24 men telling the story of the Odyssey has stormed across the stage, Lisbeth Gruwez presents a wordless reply of the purest simplicity: for twenty minutes she conjures up in dance all the sidelined women of the Odyssey, and thereby offers all these men a response.

This is the first time that Voetvolk are creating a piece on commission, in this case for the KVS. Their contribution to the Odysseus project is an epilogue: a footnote by Voetvolk. It is also different in many respects from their own productions, including We’re pretty fuckin’ far from okay, whose Belgian premiere is at KVS on 9 February.

Lisbeth Gruwez wants to add an open end to Odysseus by reducing the verbal abundance to a non-verbal nil. No trickerio, no deceptio: she uses only her own body to represent Penelope’s waiting and other elements.

As Lisbeth remarks, ‘Penelope waits, struggling with time and longing. Her movement is that of standstill.’ This moulds this unique combination of movement and standstill into the form of a spiral: a figure that is simultaneously limited and unlimited. Her aim is to conceive of time not as linear, but as circular.

After all, ‘has there actually ever been an end to the cycle of violence that the Odyssey depicts?’ According to Lisbeth, this is the main question in the poem. She interprets it in its entirety as an eternal recurrence of (male) violence: a cycle of trial and error, of attack and relapse.

In this interpretation, Penelope – and by extension women in general – are the symbol of commitment and reconciliation, while the male idiom of glory and heroism leads only to division.

But a great many other women are also given a non-verbal voice in addition to the home-loving Penelope. Lisbeth tries to display both the femme fatale and the tomboy. The nymphs and the sirens, Calypso and Circe. She aims to magnify and bring out the most diverse aspects of being a woman that are contained within her body.

As per usual, she does all this under the guidance of Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, her established partner at Voetvolk, who develops music that both underpins and challenges solo like a sort of counterpoint. Together, they intend to (briefly) solidify time.

Lisbeth Gruwez & Penelope

Lisbeth Gruwez : « Pénélope attend, elle est aux prises avec le temps et le désir. Son mouvement est celui de l’inertie. »

Aussitôt que la violence verbale des 24 hommes qui racontent l’Odyssée a fini de déferler sur scène, Lisbeth Gruwez répond sans paroles et dans la plus grande simplicité : vingt minutes durant, elle danse toutes les femmes que l’Odyssée passe sous silence et donne ainsi la réplique à tous ces hommes.

C’est la première fois que Voetvolk crée une œuvre sur commande, en l’occurrence à la demande du KVS. La contribution de la compagnie au projet Odysseus est un épilogue : une note de bas de page de Voetvolk. Aussi le spectacle diffère-t-il à plusieurs égards de leurs propres productions, parmi lesquelles We’re pretty fuckin’far from okay, dont la première belge aura lieu le 9 février au KVS.

Lisbeth Gruwez souhaite doter Odysseus d’une fin ouverte en détournant la profusion verbale vers le point zéro de la verbalité. No trucare, niks foefelare (ni trucs ni astuces) : pour représenter l’attente de Pénélope, par exemple, elle se sert exclusivement de son corps.

« Pénélope attend, elle est aux prises avec le temps et le désir. Son mouvement est celui de l’inertie », fait remarquer Lisbeth Gruwez. À cette combinaison unique de mouvement et d’immobilité, elle donne la forme d’une spirale : une figure à la fois finie et infinie. Son intention est de ne pas concevoir le temps de manière linéaire, mais circulaire.

Car : « le cycle de violence que représente l’Odyssée a-t-il jamais pris fin ? » Telle est la question fondamentale de l’épopée selon Lisbeth Gruwez qui fait une lecture de l’ensemble comme d’un éternel retour de la violence (masculine) : un cycle d’essais et d’erreurs, d’attaques et de récidives.

Dans cette interprétation, Pénélope – et par extension la femme – symbolise l’engagement et la réconciliation, alors que l’idiome masculin de gloire et d’héroïsme ne sème que la discorde.
Mais outre la Pénélope fidèle et casanière, tant d’autres femmes ont voix au chapitre, même sans paroles. Lisbeth Gruwez tente de faire émerger aussi bien la femme fatale que le garçon manqué. Les nymphes et les sirènes, Calypso et Circé. Elle veut agrandir et manifester les aspects les plus variés de la féminité contenue dans son corps.

Elle le fait comme toujours sous la direction de Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, son partenaire attitré au sein de Voetvolk, qui a composé la musique soutenant et attaquant à la fois le solo de Gruwez, comme une sorte de contrepoint. Ensemble, ils désirent figer le temps (d’un instant).