Longread / Sachli Gholamalizad & Valentijn Dhaenens: Living Apart Together

Sachli Gholamalizad and Valentijn Dhaenens maintain a LAT relationship with their fellow actors. On the one hand they are eager to work together in theatre companies, on film sets and in television series, but on the other, they are also developing a personal oeuvre in which they often appear alone on stage. They are looking forward to coming across each other more often in the near future, they are both members of the open ensemble at the KVS.

Sachli, whom you may know from the TV series De Bunker, is making (Not) my paradise, and for the KVS is also doing a French version of her acclaimed production A reason to talk. Valentijn, a founding member of SKaGen and well known for his solo performances DegrotemonD and DeKleineOorlog, will also be a constant presence at the KVS next season. He will be creating his new production, Domestica, there, performs in Odysseus, een zwerver komt thuis (Odysseus. A wanderer returns), will make a guest appearance with Ontroerend Goed and lends his voice to Jaco Van Dormael’s opening production Cold Blood. The journalist Michael Bellon spoke to them.

MB: You have known each other for some time. Do you talk shop when you meet?
VD: We talk a lot about life, and through that about our projects too.

SG: I occasionally ask Valentijn for advice, for example now that I am taking A reason to talk to Toronto, where he has already been. It was his monologue DegrotemonD that opened my eyes to what I really wanted to do in the theatre.

VD: The things Sachli does make me reflect on my own work. A reason to talk is the proof that you can make highly personal theatre without behaving like an exhibitionist. That’s something I admire and may even want to do myself, but it scares me.

MB: In your work, the personal aspect is more deeply buried.
VD: DegrotemonD was a really personal performance, but it can hardly be seen because I perform several characters and texts. It will be similar in Domestica, though it will probably be even more personal. My parents divorced when I was young and I suffered a lot from it. So it’s quite clear that I am creating this play on quarrelling couples – with a child as the victim, also appearing on stage – because the topic affects me so much. But rather than telling my parents’ story, I shall be looking at world literature to find a sort of history of domestic violence, which has been depicted in everything from Molière to the YouTube films in which Mel Gibson abuses his ex-girlfriend, from The Taming of the Shrew to Ingmar Bergman’s Scenes from a Marriage. I shall then make a mash-up of all these samples, the same way I did in DegrotemonD and DeKleineOorlog.
But, for example, I also have a very intemperate relationship with my father, and seeing Sachli’s play made me start to think that one day I ought perhaps to risk being more explicit about that. It is after all something that is inside me and about which there is a lot to be said.

MB: You also hesitated for a long time before using your relationship with your mother in A Reason to Talk. But in the end you didn’t regret it.
SG: Right up until the day of the first night I was thinking ‘this is a serious mistake, I really shouldn’t do it’. And afterwards I did receive some comments from people who didn’t like the harshness of the play. But in the end it felt like a victory that taught me a lot. Previously, I had never really felt understood in the theatre, because I never truly claimed my position or knew how to put it into words. Now I have done it, I have got a taste for it.

For a long time I was also afraid of being ‘the migrant’, or of making ‘migrant productions’, and I got angry when I was put in that box. And in my view A Reason to Talk was not about Iranian mothers and daughters anyway, but about mothers and daughters in general. On the other hand I did want to elicit empathy for other stories than those that you always see in Flemish theatre. Especially when it’s a matter of migrants, everyone has their own view, while the migrant’s point of view is nowhere to be found. It was also the anger and the frustration about it that made me do that play. So migration became my subject after all, even though for a long time I wanted to deny it. Sometimes you just have to accept what you come across.

(Not) my paradise is again a family story. This time it’s about brothers and sisters who have already been trying to solve an inheritance issue for twenty-five years. This story also automatically shows up the positions of the characters, back in Iran and here in Europe. So it is about borders and the way they divide and mark families.

MB: It seems that you both like working solo in between your collaboration for TV, film and other companies.
VD: It’s agreeable to be able to make one’s own choices and work intuitively. I’ll be performing Domestica together with Alejandra Theus, but I’m going to create the whole play myself first. The extracts I choose will be linked to what specifically fascinates me in the way people quarrel, and how they often end up in a loop they can no longer get out of.

SG: When you work alone you are in a cocoon. There is nothing to indicate whether you are on the right track. You only have your intuition and the need that you feel to keep on chasing your idea. It’s often a matter of slogging away, distress and suffering. But it is only by working alone that I have learnt to say what I want, and to stand up for myself instead of going along with the group, or with what others expect of me. Though I also want to remain alert and flexible by working with others and standing on stage together. It’s also a pleasure not just to be faced with it or only be able to react to other people’s inspiration.

MB: In that sense, the open company that Michael De Cock advocates at the KVS is a good system for you both.
VD: I completely agree with his idea that a permanent company is no longer appropriate for the times. You have to see that everyone has their lines on time, so you have to work in accordance with others rather than on the basis of the story you want to tell. So it seems to me to be healthy that when you want to reshape this theatre you do it with people who from time to time go off again and come back with renewed energy.

MB: By performing A reason to talk in French at the KVS you are also strengthening its relations with the French-speaking community.
SG: I’m already having nightmares about it, as I haven’t kept up my French very well (laughs). But I definitely very much want to do it. I find the French language and culture marvellous and think it’s a shame that in this country we don’t do more with it, and that things are often so divided. So I hope that this theatre can help bridge that divide. We should not continue to avoid each other’s worlds. This too is one of the essential elements in my work.

MB: Do your international tours teach you anything about how theatre is made here in our country?
VD: I think we can be happy with the situation here. In Anglo-Saxon countries the theatre scene is really considerably less well-developed. They are often very enthusiastic about our work there, because they are surprised by the innovative forms we have on offer. Our dancers have paved the way as far as Australia, and the theatre followed. Belgium has become a quality guarantee.

Valentijn presents Domestica two more times in KVS this week.

A reason to talk will be presented in French at Théâtre Nationale as a part of the selection Toernee General.

Longread / Sachli Gholamalizad & Valentijn Dhaenens: Living Apart Together

La relation qu’entretiennent Sachli Gholamalizad et Valentijn Dhaenens avec leurs collègues acteurs est du type LAT (Living Apart Together). D’une part, ils se jettent à fond dans le travail au sein de compagnies théâtrales, sur des plateaux de cinéma et dans des séries télé. D’autre part, ils développent une œuvre personnelle, et sont alors souvent seuls sur scène. Ils se réjouissent de se rencontrer plus souvent dans un avenir proche; ils font tous deux partie de l’ensemble ouvert du KVS.

Sachli – que vous connaissez peut-être de la série télé De Bunker – crée (Not) my paradise, et monte pour le KVS une version en français de son spectacle primé A reason to talk. Valentijn – membre fondateur de SKaGen et bien connu pour ses spectacles en solo DegrotemonD et DeKleineOorlog, – est lui aussi bien ancré au KVS la saison prochaine. Il y monte son nouveau spectacle Domestica, joue dans Odysseus. Een zwerver komt thuis, est du nombre des invités avec Ontroerend Goed et prête sa voix à Cold Blood, de Jaco Van Dormael, spectacle d’ouverture de la saison. Le journaliste Michaël Bellon a discuté avec eux.

 

MB: Vous vous connaissez depuis un moment déjà. Est-ce que vous parlez souvent de votre boulot ?
VD: Nous parlons beaucoup de la vie, et donc aussi de nos projets.

SG: Parfois, je demande conseil à Valentijn, par exemple maintenant que je vais aller à Toronto avec A reason to talk, il y a déjà été. C’est son monologue DegrotemonD qui m’a ouvert les yeux sur ce que je voulais vraiment faire avec le théâtre.

VD: Ce que fait Sachli me fait réfléchir sur mon propre travail. A reason to talk est la preuve que l’on peut faire du théâtre très personnel sans verser dans l’exhibitionnisme. C’est quelque chose que j’admire et que j’aimerais faire aussi peut-être, mais cela m’angoisse.

MB: L’aspect personnel dans ton travail est enfoui encore plus profond.
VD: DegrotemonD était un spectacle personnel, oui, mais ça se voit à peine parce que j’y interprète plusieurs personnes et plusieurs textes. Ce sera pareil pour Domestica, même si ce spectacle sera sûrement plus personnel. Mes parents ont divorcé quand j’étais jeune et ça a été très dur pour moi. C’est donc plutôt une évidence pour moi de faire ce spectacle sur des couples qui se disputent – avec comme victime l’enfant, que l’on verra aussi sur scène – parce que le sujet me touche tellement. Mais au lieu de raconter l’histoire de mes parents, je vais chercher dans la littérature mondiale une sorte d’histoire de la violence conjugale, telle qu’elle apparaît chez Molière jusque dans les vidéos sur YouTube où Mel Gibson insulte son ex. De La Mégère apprivoisée aux Scènes de la vie conjugale d’Ingmar Bergman. Je mélange tous ces échantillons, comme pour DegrotemonD et DeKleineOorloG.
Mais j’ai aussi par exemple une relation très intense avec mon père et quand j’ai vu le spectacle de Sachli, je me suis dit que je devrais peut-être me risquer un jour à être un peu plus explicite sur ce sujet. Au bout du compte, c’est quelque chose qui est en moi et dont il y a beaucoup à dire.

MB: Tu as longtemps hésité avant d’utiliser ta relation avec ta mère dans A reason to talk. Mais ensuite, tu ne l’as jamais regretté.
SG: Jusqu’au jour de la première, je me disais: c’est une grande erreur, je ne peux vraiment pas faire ça. Et après coup, j’ai aussi eu des commentaires de la part de gens qui n’appréciaient pas la dureté de ma pièce. Mais finalement, c’était comme une victoire qui m’a beaucoup appris. Avant cela, je ne m’étais jamais réellement sentie comprise au théâtre, parce que je ne prenais jamais vraiment ma place, ou parce que je ne savais pas l’exprimer. Maintenant que je l’ai fait, j’y ai pris goût.

Pendant longtemps aussi, j’avais peur d’être ‘l’immigrée’, ou de faire ‘des spectacles d’immigrés’, et cela me mettait en colère quand on me poussait dans cette catégorie-là. A reason to talk, pour moi, ne parlait pas de mères et de filles iraniennes, mais de mères et de filles tout court. D’un autre côté, je voulais aussi de l’empathie pour d’autres histoires que celles qu’on voit tout le temps dans le théâtre flamand. Surtout quand ça parle d’immigrés, tout le monde a son propre regard, alors que le point de vue de l’immigré, on ne le voit nulle part. Cette pièce est née aussi de la colère et de la frustration que cela provoquait chez moi. Donc, l’immigration est quand même devenue mon sujet, même si j’ai voulu le nier pendant longtemps. Parfois, il faut accepter ce qui croise votre route.

(Not) my paradise est de nouveau une histoire de famille. Cette fois de frères et de sœurs et qui essaient de résoudre une question d’héritage depuis vingt-cinq ans. Cette histoire montre automatiquement aussi les positions des personnages, là-bas en Iran et ici en Europe. Donc, ça parle de frontières qui séparent et marquent les familles.

MB: Apparemment, vous aimez travailler en solo, entre vos collaborations pour la télé, le cinéma et avec d’autres compagnies ?
VD: C’est agréable de faire ses propres choix et de travailler selon son intuition. Je joue Domestica avec Alejandra Theus, mais avant, je vais terminer la pièce moi-même. Les extraits que je choisis sont liés à ce qui me fascine spécifiquement dans la manière dont les gens se disputent, dont ils s’enlisent dans un cercle vicieux dont ils ne peuvent plus sortir.

SG: Quand on travaille seul, on est dans un cocon. Rien ne vous indique que vous êtes sur la bonne voie. On n’a que son intuition et la nécessité qu’on sent de poursuivre son idée. Souvent, on trime, on peine et on en bave. Mais ce n’est qu’en travaillant seule que j’ai appris à dire ce que je veux, à me défendre au lieu de suivre le groupe, ou ce que d’autres attendent de moi. Même si je veux rester vigilante et souple en travaillant et en montant sur scène avec d’autres. Ne pas affronter seule et pouvoir réagir à l’inspiration des autres, c’est aussi un plaisir.

MB: En ce sens, la compagnie ouverte que soutient Michael De Cock au KVS est une formule qui vous convient.
VD: Je le suis complètement dans l’idée qu’un ensemble aussi vaste n’est plus vraiment d’actualité. Il faut veiller à ce que chacun ait son petit rôle en son temps, cela veut dire travailler à la tête du client au lieu de partir de l’histoire qu’on veut raconter. Je trouve que c’est sain, si on veut redonner une forme à cette maison, de le faire avec des personnes qui partiront de temps en temps, pour pouvoir revenir avec une énergie nouvelle.

MB: En jouant A reason to talk au KVS en français, tu recherches une relation avec la communauté francophone.
SG: J’en ai déjà des cauchemars, parce que je n’ai pas bien entretenu mon français (rit). Mais j’ai bien envie de le faire. Je trouve que la langue et la culture françaises sont magnifiques et c’est dommage que dans notre pays nous ne travaillions pas plus avec, c’est dommage que les choses soient souvent si séparées. Donc, j’espère que cette maison peut aider à surmonter cette séparation. Nous ne pouvons pas continuer à éviter nos mondes respectifs. C’est aussi une donnée essentielle dans mon travail.

MB: Vos tournées internationales vous apprennent-elles quelque chose sur la façon dont on fait du théâtre chez nous?
VD: Je crois que nous pouvons être contents de la situation ici. Dans les pays anglo-saxons, le paysage théâtral est plus pauvre. D’ailleurs, ils sont souvent enthousiastes à propos de notre travail, parce qu’ils sont surpris des formes innovantes que nous apportons. Nos danseurs ont ouvert la voie jusqu’en Australie, et le théâtre a suivi. La Belgique est devenue un label de qualité. 

Domestica se joue encore au KVS cette semaine 19 et 20 janvier.

A reason to talk sera en première en français au Théâtre Nationale le 7 mars dans le cadre de Toernee General.