Mockumentary of a Contemporary Saviour

Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez

"Science fiction is not predictive. It is descriptive.

I talk about the gods, I am an atheist. But I am an artist too, and therefore a liar.
Distrust everything I say. I am telling the truth."

- Introduction in The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin

 

We are in the distant future. A turning point in the history of mankind has been reached. A devastating force is engaged in utterly destroying all life on earth. With the aid of a child, a few people have nonetheless succeeded in reaching a place of safety. But life in this safe room is far from easy. The survivors, being human, are constantly at odds with one another. On top of all this is the fact that the chosen ones cannot escape life. Immortality prevails, and suicide doesn’t offer any way out. 

The ambiguous relationship with the child in the outside world, internal conflicts, cultural differences and the urges and instincts characteristic of humanity make it a time of uninterrupted commotion. The desire to surrender to the all-destroying forces of the outside world is always lurking. Is mankind actually worth saving?

In the theatre and dance performance Mockumentary of a Contemporary Saviour, Wim Vandekeybus, through the medium of seven characters, presents an incisive portrait of a messiah as an imaginary figure. Utopia and dystopia at a single glance. Nothing is what it seems in this futuristic reality.

IN THE PRESS: 

07.04.2017 - BRUZZ - 'Religion is also a form of creation'

Length
110
Price
€ 25 (cat. 1) / €22 (cat. 2)
reduction
€ 22 (cat. 1) / € 18 (cat. 2) / € 13 (-26)
Category
TheatreDance
Extra info

PROGRAMME

EN

Mockumentary of a contemporary saviour

Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez

"Science fiction is not predictive. It is descriptive.


I talk about the gods, I am an atheist. But I am an artist too, and therefore a liar.
Distrust everything I say. I am telling the truth."

- Introduction in The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin

 

Nous sommes dans un futur lointain. L’histoire de l’humanité a atteint un point de rupture. Une force destructrice est en train de balayer définitivement toute vie de la terre. Avec l’aide d’un enfant, quelques personnes ont pourtant réussi à atteindre un endroit sûr. Mais la vie dans ce safe room n’a rien d’évident. En bons humains qu’ils sont, les survivants ne cessent de s’affronter. De plus, les « élus » ne peuvent échapper à la vie. Ils sont en effet immortels, si bien que le suicide ne leur offre aucune issue.

La relation ambiguë avec l’enfant, les conflits internes, les différences culturelles, les instincts et ressorts propres à l’homme créent un traumatisme permanent. Le désir de se rendre aux forces destructrices du monde extérieur n’est jamais bien loin. L’humanité vaut-elle bien la peine d’être sauvée ?

Dans Mockumentary of a Contemporary Saviour, spectacle de théâtre et de danse, Wim Vandekeybus dresse le portrait lucide d’un messie en tant que personnage fictif à travers sept figures. Utopie et dystopie se rejoignent. Les apparences sont trompeuses dans cette réalité futuriste:

DANS LA PRESSE: 

07.04.2017 - LeVif - Jésus revient
07.04.2017 - La Libre - Danser avec les élus dans un trou noir
14.04.2017 - Musiq'3 - Wim Vandekeybus - Mockumentary of contemporary saviour
18.04.2017 - La Libre - "Mockumentary" ou les limites du symbolisme

 

Durée
110
Prix
€ 25 (cat. 1) / €22 (cat. 2)
reduction
€ 22 (cat. 1) / € 18 (cat. 2) / € 13 (-26)
Catégorie
ThéatreDanse
EN