KVS logo

Lezarts Danses Urbaines 2017

Lezarts Urbains

Once a year, Lezarts Danses Urbaines forms the epicentre of the Belgian hip hop dance scene. It’s where the rich landscape of urban dance unfolds in a wide range of creations, techniques and styles. From ultra-short choreographic shows to carefully polished performances. From amateur crews and dance schools to up-and-coming names and professional companies. The finale is always a performance of international calibre.

On Saturday 28 October 2017, this festival will be taking over the BOX and the BOL at KVS. Thanks to this brand-new collaboration, the programming will be expanding to include new artists from urban cultures. On this day, Brussels will be the place to be for urban dancers from Liege to Ghent, and from Amsterdam to Namur. As well as for an audience that wants to discover their work and experience the power of the various hip hop styles in dance.

Lezarts Danses Urbaines 2017 comprises an afternoon programme in the BOX and an evening programme in the BOL. In between, those dancers who are present can measure themselves against each other in an open cypher contest.

 

PROGRAMME

16u Focus on dance choreography and young creators at KVS BOX

Les Mybalés | Be Fries | Aurel Zola & Max Dbk | Ronin | Battle Droid | Funky Feet Academy | Likiyo | Afro House Belgium | Panda crew | 2Mad | One Nation | Saho | Funky Belgian'Z | Ismaël Mouaraki

18:30u Open cypher

19:30u Focus on hip hop creations and try-outs at KVS BOL

Untitled – Mazel Freten (FR) | Got to Groove – Ghetto Funk Collective (NL) | Cyborgs’ Quest – The Slayers (BXL) | Gaou ! – Cie La Mer Noire (SEN) | To Be a Slave – Cie Hendrickx Ntela (Liège) | Treasuries of Mysteries – Sheyda Darab (NL) | Team Shmetta

 

A SELECTION OF THE ARTISTS

Les Mybalés (BE)
The twin sisters Doris and Nathalie Bokongo Nkumu from Brussels together make up the Les Mybalés dance duo. They are passionate about hip hop and specialise in the house dance and afro house genres. They have previously appeared at the KVS in Malcolm X. They have made their mark in the hip-hop world in international contests in the house dance category. For their first stage production, as part of the European 7Steps project, the sisters worked with the French choreographer Marion Motin. With this piece, Illusion, they immediately made their breakthrough on the European hip-hop scene. By now they are an established name at the Lezarts Danses Urbaines Festival. This year they will be presenting a preview of their latest creation, which is still a work in progress. For this piece they question their own codes so as to dig down to a more instinctive way of dancing, which has always been a feature of the hip-hop idiom.

Be Fries (BE)
This hip-hop trio from Verviers is made up of Hendrickx Ntela and Pierre Aganda – both members of the BBF 2.0 krump collective – and the experimental dancer Stéphane Deheselle. These three dancers combine different sources of inspiration and techniques to create a new form of dance.

Ronin (BE)
Ronin is a collective of Belgian performing artists with differing and complementary artistic skills. It is a versatile crew that mainly performs hip hop, but also dancehall, house, jazz, breakdance and tricks.

Funky Feet Academy (BE)
The Funky Feet breakdance group from Namur was formed in 2008. Out of this grew the Funky Feet Academy, a dance school and artistic home of hip hop that offers top quality training.

Afro House Belgium (BE)
This collective presents a fusion of traditional African dances from the ancestral culture with the basic techniques of house dance.

Other performers include: Aurel Zola & Max Dbk | Battle Droid | Likiyo | Panda Crew | 2MAD | One Nation | Team Shmetta | Funky Belgian’Z

 

PERFORMANCES & WORK IN PROGRESS

Untitled – Mazel Freten (FR)
Mazel Freten consists of the dancers Brandon Malboneige Masele and Laura Defretin. They are presenting their first creation, Untitled, which they describe as an unaffected, sincere, intense and living moment. This duo arose out of a cocktail of the hip-hop culture and electro, and highlights their similarities and differences. No stage setting, just two bodies in perfect harmony. A still moment in human openness. A way of defending their ideas, in silence, with no title.

Got to Groove – Ghetto Funk Collective (NL)
How do you define funk in dance and in life? Got to Groove is an exercise in fundamental life research where funk symbolises the search for one’s own rhythm and a connection with others.

Cyborg’s Quest – The Slayers (BE)
The Slayers are a trio of dancers linked to the Impulsion collective. They take inspiration from hip hop new style, afro dance, turfing, yoga, martial arts and contemporary dance. At the Lezarts Danses Urbaines festival they will present their first creation, Cyborgs’ Quest. It is an embodiment of the symbolic struggle in a world where the human and the technological merge, and man’s uniqueness in relation to machines is questioned. With an eye to this loss of certainty and meaning, the question arises of what role man still has and how he tries to distinguish and define himself.

Gaou! – Cie La Mer Noire (SEN)
This Senegalese hip-hop group was set up in 2014 and consists of four dancers and choreographers. In November 2016 they won ‘Hip Hop Games Concept, Les Jeux de la Danse’ an international competition in Lille. Gaou!, their first production, is about people who leave their native country to discover the world. The main themes are uprooting and the desire for new discoveries.

To Be A Slave – Cie Hendrickx Ntela (BE)
This company consists entirely of krumpers from France, Germany, Senegal and Belgium. To Be A Slave is about slavery in all its forms and is evidence of the desire to show krumping, an expressive form of dance that aims to understand and express intentions, to the whole world.

Treasuries of Mysteries – Sheyda Darab (NL)
This piece is the first solo performance by the Amsterdam choreographer Sheyda Darab, a well-known name on the underground hip-hop scene. The performance is based on Makhzan al-Asrar, an ancient Persian poem from 1176. Sheyda Darab mixes urban dance, hip hop and breakdance with classical oriental music, as an echo of her Iranian roots.

D-Complex – Ismael Mouaraki (FR)
Ismael Mouaraki sets to work with the individuality, vulnerability and intuitive authenticity of eight performers bursting with talent. The bodies on stage surrender to each other. They merge and then free themselves from each other again, thereby displaying a lively and original interpretation of identity. D-Complex also questions the hierarchy of dance and defends the notion that dance is democratic and not the privilege of a limited elite.

Reviews

02.11.2017 - Culture Club - FESTIVAL LEZARTS DANSES URBAINES

Credits

production Lezarts urbains In collaboration with KVS, Mestizo Arts Festival, Right about now inc./flying solos

Pictures

Below are the high-resolution press photos of our own productions, which can be used free for coverage of the KVS (the name of the photographer must be clearly stated).

PERSVERANTWOORDELIJKE

Inge Jooris
inge.jooris@kvs.be
0483 54 73 88

(INTER)NATIONALE SPREIDING

Saskia Liénard
saskia.lienard@kvs.be
0496 55 19 92
Reviews

KVS logo

Lezarts Danses Urbaines 2017

Lezarts Urbains

Lezarts Danses Urbaines constitue une fois par an l’épicentre du monde de la danse hip-hop belge. Le riche paysage de la danse urbaine déploie un éventail de créations, de techniques et de styles allant de numéros chorégraphiques très brefs à des spectacles minutieusement peaufinés, de crew d’amateurs et d’écoles de danse à des noms émergents et des compagnies professionnelles. Et pour clôturer, comme chaque fois, un spectacle de calibre international.

Le samedi 28 octobre 2017, ce festival prend pour la première fois le KVS BOX et BOL d’assaut. Grâce à cette collaboration toute récente, la programmation du KVS s’étend à de nouveaux artistes des cultures urbaines. Ce jour-là, Bruxelles sera le lieu incontournable pour les danseurs urbains de Liège à Gand, d’Amsterdam à Namur et pour le public qui désire découvrir leur travail et faire l’expérience de la force des différents styles de danse hip-hop.

Lezarts Danses Urbaines 2017 se compose d’un programme d’après-midi au BOX et d’un programme de soirée au BOL. Entre les deux, les artistes présents peuvent se mesurer les uns aux autres dans un open cypher.

PROGRAMME

16h Focus sur les shows chorégraphiques et la jeune création au KVS BOX

Les Mybalés | Be Fries | Aurel Zola & Max Dbk | Ronin | Battle Droid | Funky Feet Academy | Likiyo | Afro House Belgium | Panda crew | 2Mad | One Nation | Saho | Funky Belgian'Z | Ismaël Mouaraki

18h30  Open cypher

19h30  Focus sur la création hip-hop au KVS BOL

Untitled – Mazel Freten (FR) | Got to Groove – Ghetto Funk Collective (NL) | Cyborgs’ Quest – The Slayers (BXL) | Gaou ! – Cie La Mer Noire (SEN) | To Be a Slave – Cie Hendrickx Ntela (Liège) | Treasuries of Mysteries – Sheyda Darab (NL) | Team Shmetta

 

LES ARTISTES

Les Mybalés (BE)
Les sœurs jumelles bruxelloises Doris et Nathalie Bokongo Nkumu forment le duo de danse Les Mybalés. Passionnées de hip-hop et spécialisées dans les genres house dance et afro house, on a pu les admirer la saison passée dans le spectacle Malcolm X au KVS. Dans le monde du hip-hop, elles se sont fait remarquer lors de batailles internationales dans la catégorie house dance. Pour leur premier spectacle, les sœurs ont travaillé avec la chorégraphe française Marion Motin, dans le cadre du projet européen 7Steps. Illusion leur a d’emblée assuré une percée européenne sur la scène du hip-hop. Au festival Lezarts Urbains, elles sont entre-temps une valeur confirmée. Cette année, elles présentent une étape de leur nouvelle création dans laquelle elles remettent en question leurs codes pour sonder une manière plus instinctive de danser, ce qui a toujours été propre au vocabulaire du hip-hop.

Be Fries (BE)
Ce crew natif de Verviers se compose de trois fortes personnalités de la danse hip-hop. Hendrick Ntela et Pierre Aganda sont tous deux membres du collectif de krump BBF 2.0. Autodidactes de formation, ils participent à de nombreux battles et à des créations avec notamment le krumpeur français Grichka, lors du projet européen 7Steps. Hendrick Ntela présentera sa 1ère création aux influences hip-hop et krump en 2017. Stéphane Deheselle, danseur expérimental aux épaules hyper souples, nous a déjà impressionné lors des Festival Lezarts Urbains en 2014 et 2015. Il remporte le Battle Juste Debout pour la catégorie expérimentale en 2014. Ces trois danseurs se lient autour de l'envie de transcender la danse en y apportant diverses inspirations et techniques.

Ronin (BE)
Ronin est un collectif d’artistes belges avec des aptitudes artistiques variées et complémentaires. Ce crew polyvalent touche principalement au hip-hop mais aussi à la dancehall, à la house, au jazz, au break-dance et aux tricks.

Funky Feet Academy (BE)
Funky Feet est un groupe de breakdance de Namur créé en 2008. Par la suite, une académie de danse « Asbl Funky Feet Academy », décrite comme un lieu artistique et hip-hop, est créée dans le but d’offrir la meilleure qualité d’enseignement grâce à des professeurs formés et reconnus.

Afro House Belgium (BE)
L’Afro House est une fusion entre les danses ancestrales traditionnelles africaines et les fondamentaux techniques de la house dance.

Et aussi : Aurel Zola & Max Dbk | Battle Droid | Likiyo | Panda Crew | 2MAD | One Nation | Team Shmetta | Funky Belgian’Z

 

LES CRÉATIONS

Untitled – Mazel Freten (FR)
Mazel Freten est composé des danseurs Brandon Malboneige Masele et Laura Defretin. Ils proposent leur première création « Untitled » qu’ils décrivent comme un moment simple, honnête, intense et vivant. Ce duo chorégraphique issu d’un mélange entre la culture hip hop et électro se confronte à ses différences et ses similitudes. Ici, pas de scénographie, juste deux individus en parfaite harmonie. Un temps figé dans la sincérité humaine. Un moyen de défendre leurs idées, des idées muettes, sans titre.

Got to Groove – Ghetto Funk Collective (NL)
Comment définir le funk dans la danse et dans la vie ? Got to Groove s’attache à trouver une signification profonde et utilise le funk pour symboliser l’important de trouver son propre rythme dans la vie et dans notre connexion aux autres.

Cyborgs' Quest – The Slayers (BE)  
Vus sur de nombreuses scènes depuis quatre ans, The Slayers est un groupe bruxellois de trois danseurs liés au collectif « Impulsion ». Leurs gestuelles sont puisées dans le hip hop newstyle, la danse afro, le turfing, le yoga, les arts martiaux et la danse contemporaine.
Leur première création Cyborgs’ Quest  incarne la lutte symbolique prenant place dans un monde où l’humain et la technologie s’entremêlent jusqu’à remettre en question l’unicité de l’homme face à la machine. En raison de cette perte de repères et de sens, une question légitime se pose : quelle est encore la place de l’homme et par quels moyens tente-t-il de se définir ?

Gaou ! – Cie La Mer Noire (SEN)
Créée en novembre 2014 au Sénégal, La Mer Noire est une compagnie de danse hip hop formée de 4 danseurs interprètes et chorégraphes. En novembre 2016, la Compagnie La Mer Noire participe à la compétition internationale « Hip Hop Games Concept, Les Jeux de la Danse » à  Lille et en ressort  vainqueur. Leur premier spectacle GAOU ! parle de celui qui quitte sa terre natale pour partir à la découverte du Monde et nous questionne sur le dépaysement et sur la soif de découverte. 

To Be a Slave – Cie Hendrickx Ntela (BE)
Cette compagnie est exclusivement composée de krumpers venant de France, d’Allemagne, du Sénégal et de Belgique. To Be a Slave parle de l’esclavage sous toute ses formes et exprime le désir de montrer au monde entier cette danse expressive et qui capte l’intention qu’est le krump.

Treasuries of Mysteries – Sheyda Darab (NL)
Premier solo de la chorégraphe originaire d'Amsterdam et fascinée par la danse hip hop underground. Treasuries of Mysteries est basé sur un vieux poème persan « Makhzan al-Asrar » qui date de 1176. En mêlant danse urbaine, hip hop et breakdance, Sheyda Darab reste attachée à ses origines iraniennes en plaçant la musique classique orientale dans un nouveau contexte.

D-complex – Ismaël Mouaraki (FR)
Ismaël Mouaraki compose avec les individualités, les vulnérabilités et l’authenticité intuitive de huit interprètes bourrés de talents. Sur scène, les corps s’abandonnent, se mêlent et se démêlent pour mettre à jour une interprétation vibrante et authentique de l’identité de chacun d’eux. D-Complex questionne cette hiérarchie de la danse, défendant l’idée que la danse est démocratique, pas seulement un privilège étroit et élitiste.

Reviews

18.10.2017 - -

Credits

production Lezarts urbains en collaboration avec KVS, Mestizo Arts Festival, Right about now inc./flying solos

Pictures

Veuillez trouver ci-dessous les photos de presse en haute résolution de nos propres spectacles. Celles-ci peuvent être utilisées dans le cadre de la publication d’informations gratuites à propos du KVS. (Le nom du photographe doit toujours être mentionné explicitement mentionné.)

PERSVERANTWOORDELIJKE

Inge Jooris
inge.jooris@kvs.be
0483 54 73 88

(INTER)NATIONALE SPREIDING

Saskia Liénard
saskia.lienard@kvs.be
0496 55 19 92
Reviews