KVS logo

Dernier Lit

Christophe Sermet / Le Rideau de Bruxelles & KVS

Het laatste bed is a novella from the  nal story collection Hugo claus published during his life. He died on 19th march 2008, by his own choice and with determination, after a final glass of champagne with his loved ones, refusing to wait until his illness would deprive him of his faculties. Het laatste bed also revolves around a planned death, one that brings an end to the passion between two women, a passion claus could dissect like no other.

Ostend, at the North sea coast. The imaginary Luxor Hotel is an archetype of faded glory, the likes of which are abundant between calais and knokke-Heist. Emily, the first-person narrator of the story, squares up with her mother, who has been admitted to hospital. She scribbles on the hotel writing pad while her lover rests in the suite. Memories of her life pass in quick review: her time as a child prodigy at the piano; her youth tainted by a love-hate relationship with her mother; her career as a music teacher at a strict flemish lyceum; her encounter with Anna, daughter of the lyceum’s cleaning lady; how they tried to hide their inappropriate passion for each other from the school, and how they got expelled from the institution.

The beginning of the end strikes up: a point of no return. The trip to Ostend escalates into a fight with a nail file on the bed of the suite, as a shocking ritual gets out of hand. The pills, swallowed down with a swig of Seven Up, cause an unexpected reaction. The demonic lovers battle to the death.

The Luxor hotel hosts a congress of bailiffs. They wear the colours of FC Bruges, are excited,  flirt and parade drunkenly over the esplanade, dancing the polonaise. A local journalist reporting on the event recognises Emily, the former child prodigy. He tries to convince her to give one last interview ...

Reviews

24.02.2018 - De Standaard - ‘Alleen in mijn liefde ben ik trouw’
26.02.2018 - BRUZZ - Voor Hugo! Met liefde, Marc D.
14.03.2018 - BRUZZ - Christophe Sermet
20.03.2018 - Focus, Le Vif - Dernier lit, l'amour à mort
21.03.2018 - La Libre Culture - "Dernier lit": De trouble et de fureur
21.03.2018 - La Libre - Courts mais intenses
22.03.2018 - Le Vif - A la nuit Claus
22.03.2018 - De Standaard - De dood in Oostende ****

Credits

text after the novel by Hugo Claus adaptation & direction Christophe Sermet french text Alain Van Crugten cast CLAIRE BODSON, LAURA SEPUL set design & lighting design Simon Siegmann costumes Brandy Alexander music Maxime Bodson make up Garance Van Rossum assistance direction Nelly Framinet assistance intern Fiona Grau stagemaster Stanislas Drouart lighting Gauthier Minne sound Boris Cekevda et Hubert Monroy dressing Nina Juncker translation surtitles Steven Tallon surtitling Inge Floré production Rideau de Bruxelles / Cie du Vendredi - Christophe Sermet / KVS / La Coop asbl. REALISED WITH THE SUPPORT OF Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING, TAXSHELTER OF THE BELGIAN FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

Pictures

Below are the high-resolution press photos of our own productions, which can be used free for coverage of the KVS (the name of the photographer must be clearly stated).

PERSVERANTWOORDELIJKE

Inge Jooris
inge.jooris@kvs.be
0475 80 04 87

(INTER)NATIONALE SPREIDING

Saskia Liénard
saskia.lienard@kvs.be
0496 55 19 92
Live recording

KVS logo

Dernier Lit

Christophe Sermet / Le Rideau de Bruxelles & KVS

Dernier Lit est une nouvelle tirée du dernier recueil de Hugo Claus publié de son vivant. Le 19 mars 2008, il s'en allait d’une mort décidée et choisie, après une dernière coupe de champagne avec quelques intimes, sans attendre que la maladie ne le prive de ses facultés. Dernier Lit, justement, raconte une mort programmée. La fin de course d’une passion entre femmes, passions que seul Claus savait décortiquer avec tant de précision.

Ostende. La Mer du Nord, le Louxor. Hôtel imaginaire au luxe douteux, comme il en existe entre Calais et Knokke-Heist. Emily, la voix du récit à la première personne, règle des comptes avec sa mère hospitalisée, elle griffonne sur le papier à lettre de l’hôtel, tandis que sa compagne se repose dans la chambre de la suite. Sa vie en deux mots : elle l’enfant pianiste prodige, elle et sa relation tissée d’amour-haine avec sa génitrice, elle professeur de musique dans un lycée rigide de Flandres où elle rencontre Anna, la fille de la femme de ménage. Elles deux qui peinent à dissimuler leur passion au point de se faire virer de l’établissement scolaire.

Début de la dégringolade. Point de non-retour. L’excursion à Ostende, le combat à la lime à ongle sur le lit de la suite et c’est le rituel macabre qui dérape parce que les médicaments avalés avec une gorgée de Seven Up provoquent une réaction inattendue.

Au Louxor se tient un congrès de notaires. Ils arborent des écharpes aux couleurs du FC Bruges, sont en colère, draguent et défilent ivres sur la digue en faisant la chenille. Un journaliste local qui couvre l’événement reconnaît Emily, l'ex-enfant prodige. Il tente de lui extirper une dernière interview...

Reviews

24.02.2018 - De Standaard - ‘Alleen in mijn liefde ben ik trouw’
26.02.2018 - BRUZZ - Voor Hugo! Met liefde, Marc D.
14.03.2018 - BRUZZ - Christophe Sermet
20.03.2018 - Focus, Le Vif - Dernier lit, l'amour à mort
21.03.2018 - La Libre Culture - "Dernier lit": De trouble et de fureur
21.03.2018 - La Libre - Courts mais intenses
22.03.2018 - Le Vif - A la nuit Claus
22.03.2018 - De Standaard - De dood in Oostende ****

Quotes

« Cette adaptation ne serait rien sans ses deux actrices qui vont, tête haute, toujours à la limite de la provocation, jusqu'au bout d'un texte malmenant et ne prenant aucune pincette pour sonder les abysses de la vie. Un bel hommage. »
- Le Vif -

Credits

Texte d'après la nouvelle de Hugo Claus Adaptation & mise en scène Christophe Sermet texte en français Alain Van Crugten jeu CLAIRE BODSON, LAURA SEPUL Scénographie & lumières Simon Siegmann Costumes Brandy Alexander Musique Maxime Bodson Maquillage Garance Van Rossum Assistanat à la mise en scène Nelly Framinet Assistante stagiaire Fiona Grau Régie plateau Stanislas Drouart Régie lumière Gauthier Minne Régie son Boris Cekevda, Hubert Monroy Habillage Nina Juncker surtitres Inge Floré traduction/rédaction Steven Tallon Production Rideau de Bruxelles / Cie du Vendredi - Christophe Sermet / KVS / La Coop asbl. Avec le soutien du Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING et du Tax-Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge

Pictures

Veuillez trouver ci-dessous les photos de presse en haute résolution de nos propres spectacles. Celles-ci peuvent être utilisées dans le cadre de la publication d’informations gratuites à propos du KVS. (Le nom du photographe doit toujours être mentionné explicitement mentionné.)

PERSVERANTWOORDELIJKE

Inge Jooris
inge.jooris@kvs.be
0475 80 04 87

(INTER)NATIONALE SPREIDING

Saskia Liénard
saskia.lienard@kvs.be
0496 55 19 92