Palestine

Since 2007, the dramaturge Hildegard De Vuyst has coordinated PASS, the project in which the A.M. Qattan Foundation (Ramallah) and the KVS are engaged, with regular assistance from les ballets C de la B. Initially it consisted chiefly of multidisciplinary workshops and exchanges in the Occupied Territories and in Brussels, and later of joint productions, including Keffiyeh/made in China and Badke. The latter, with 10 Palestinian dancers, got off to a very enthusiastic start in Europe in 2013, and for Palestine, the performances in Nazareth, Jerusalem and Ramallah in April 2014 were a milestone. The intention is that PASS continues to develop this dialogue with young Palestinian performing artists in future.

Focus

If a solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict exists, it will be Belgian

Officially it’s still the two-state solution: two separate states on the territory historically called Palestine, for two separate peoples. The state of Israel has existed for more than sixty years, but now the Palestinians have to have their state too. They are often represented as mirror images of each other, but this disguises the true power relationships.

Read the article by Hildegard De Vuyst.
(in: KVS_Express Feb-March 2012)

 

Palestine in 11 snapshots

PASS is the name given to the Palestine project run by the KVS, les ballets C de la B and the A.M. Qattan Foundation. The abbreviation stands for the Performing Arts Summer School. But ‘pass’ also means an opening move, a passageway, a transition, entrance or approach. And all this is precisely what PASS has in mind for young performing artists in Palestine: giving them a good pass.

Palestine

La dramaturge Hildegard De Vuyst coordonne depuis 2007 PASS, le trajet que la A.M. Qattan Foundation (Ramallah) et le KVS parcourent ensemble, assistés régulièrement des ballets C de la B. A l’origine, il s’agissait principalement d’ateliers multidisciplinaires et d’échanges, dans les Territoires occupés et à Bruxelles, et par la suite de productions communes dont Keffliyeh/made in China et Badke. A ses debuts en 2013, cette dernière production avec 10 danseurs palestiniens a été accueillie avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme en Europe et par la suite, les spectacles présentés à Nazareth, Jérusalem et Ramallah en avril 2014 ont constitué une étape majeure en Palestine. A l’avenir, PASS veut approfondir encore davantage ce dialogue avec de jeunes artistes palestiniens de la scène.

Focus

La solution du conflit israélo-palestinien sera belge ou ne sera pas

La solution officielle est toujours celle des deux États. Deux États distincts se partageant le territoire de la Palestine historique, avec deux peuples. L’État d’Israël existe depuis plus de soixante ans ; reste maintenant à doter les Palestiniens de leur propre État. Ceux-ci sont souvent présentés comme étant le reflet l’un de l’autre, une représentation qui, bien évidemment, occulte les rapports de force existants.

La Palestine en 11 instantanés

PASS est le nom du trajet-Palestine conjoint du KVS, des ballets C de la B et de l’A.M. Qattan Foundation. C’est l’acronyme de Performing Arts Summer School. Mais ‘pass’ signifie également impulsion, passe, passage, transition, accès ou approche. En ce sens, il couvre exactement toute la portée de ce que vise PASS en Palestine : donner une impulsion à de jeunes artistes de la scène.

Lisez l'article de Hildegard De Vuyst.
(dans : KVS_Express fév-mars 2010)