In Spite of Wishing and Wanting

Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez

In 1999 Wim Vandekeybus already has a whole repertoire behind him. His creations are universally acclaimed for their intense physical and poetic qualities. His interests have evolved from a quest for instinctive reactions to the inner conscious (and unconscious). His views on and analysis of our manwoman relationships appear to be an endless source of inspiration.

And yet, for the production In Spite of Wishing and Wanting, Vandekeybus made a radical decision and set to work with an entirely male cast. With success. This piece was a smash all over the world. This is because, with the minimum of theatrical resources, Vandekeybus succeeded in capturing risky topics in superb images. Familiar icons of dreams and desires are stripped of their psychoanalytical clichés and converted into the spectacular and poetic dance idiom of Ultima Vez.

The performance derives its power from the organic symbiosis between dance, theatre and film. Captivating dance sequences underpinned by the sensual soundtrack by David Byrne dissolve into monologues on fear, the desire for security and the dreadful magic of sleep. And there is also the short film entitled The Last Words, made by Vandekeybus himself and based on two stories by Julio Cortázar. A ‘scream-seller’ sells a tyrant his last words, who thereby brings about his own downfall. The long travelling shots and intense close-ups made with the dancers from the first cast add an extra dimension precisely where the limits of the stage appear to have been reached.

In Spite of Wishing and Wanting is a milestone in Wim Vandekeybus’ oeuvre. As from January 2016, Ultima Vez will be reviving this iconic production with a completely new cast.

‘I have exceptional memories of the first tour of In Spite of Wishing and Wanting, in more than 50 towns and cities around the world. For the first time the piece was not about the chemistry between men and women, but about a sort of primal longing in a world populated only by men. Rough, wild, naïve, playful and childlike and made slightly fearful by too many dreams.’ Wim Vandekeybus

Length
110
Price
€ 25 (cat.1) / €22 (cat. 2)
reduction
€ 22 (cat. 1) / € 18 (cat. 2) / € 13 (-26)
Category
Dance

In Spite of Wishing and Wanting

Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez

1999. Wim Vandekeybus a déjà tout un répertoire à son actif. Ses créations sont acclamées pour leur qualité intensément physique et poétique. Son intérêt évolue d’une quête des réactions instinctives vers le (l’in)conscient intérieur. Sa vision et son analyse de nos relations homme-femme semblent être des sources d’inspiration sans fond.

Et pourtant, pour son spectacle In Spite of Wishing and Wanting, Vandekeybus prend une décision radicale et travaille avec une distribution exclusivement masculine. Et c’est un succès. Le spectacle fait l’effet d’une bombe, dans le monde entier. Avec un minimum de moyens théâtraux, Vandekeybus réussit à saisir des thèmes osés dans des images magnifiques. Des icônes familières de rêves et de désirs sont dépouillées des clichés psychanalytiques et transposées dans le spectaculaire et poétique langage dansé d’Ultima Vez.

Le spectacle puise sa force dans la symbiose organique entre la danse, le théâtre et la vidéo. Des séquences dansées envoûtantes, portées par la bande sonore sensuelle de David Byrne, se transforment en monologues sur la peur, le désir d’affection et la (terrible) magie du sommeil. Puis, il y a aussi le court-métrage The Last Words signé Wim Vandekeybus lui-même et basé sur deux récits de Julio Cortázar. Un ‘vendeur de cris’ vend à un tyran ses derniers mots, qui provoquent sa débâcle. Les longs travelings et les close-ups intenses réalisés avec les danseurs de la première distribution donnent une dimension supplémentaire là où la limite de la scène semble atteinte.

In Spite of Wishing and Wanting est un jalon dans l’oeuvre de Wim Vandekeybus. A partir de janvier 2016, Ultima Vez reprend cette production emblématique avec une distribution entièrement nouvelle.

Wim Vandekeybus: “Je garde un souvenir particulier de la première tournée de In Spite of Wishing and Wanting dans plus de 50 villes aux quatre coins du monde. Pour la première fois, c’était un spectacle qui ne parlait pas de la chimie entre les hommes et les femmes, mais d’une sorte de désir originel dans un monde peuplé uniquement d’hommes. Déchaînés, sauvages, joueurs, enfantins et un peu effrayés de trop rêver.”

Durée
110
Prix
€ 25 (cat.1) / €22 (cat. 2)
reduction
€ 22 (cat. 1) / € 18 (cat. 2) / € 13 (-26)
Catégorie
Danse