SLOW #03: KIN <>BRU

KVS & Africalia

The world is changing rapidly! Especially in the city with an influx of new people and new forms of art. KVS therefore plans to bring the amazingly inspiring artistic undercurrent of the street to the stage. Which explains SLOW. Through spoken word and urban theatre, SLOW (Slam our World) gives us a unique artistic perspective of our world. An international guest will be invited to each SLOW session. Following several weeks’ residency in Brussels, s/he will share the KVS stage with local artists, in an attempt that is both heroic and vulnerable, to capture the colourful, multi-faceted soul of the city in verse.

For the third SLOW session, KVS is inviting a slam poet from Kinshasa: Do Nsoseme Dora. Slam is extremely popular in the Congolese capital – as a poetic and eloquent, but simultaneously powerful and urgent way for engaged artists to share their vision of society, daily life and politics with the audience. Slam exists by way of competitions and performances, and is a form that feels at once contemporary and age-old: it is reminiscent of the storytellers or griots who have fulfilled an essential role in oral culture for centuries.

Last summer, KVS travelled to Kinshasa with Pitcho Womba Konga and Roland Dumbi-Kabangu, two Brussels artists from the Congolese diaspora. Together, they worked with six slammers and six filmmakers. The result? New interdisciplinary cross-pollinations and a series of experimental video poems, in which word and image come together in the most exciting ways.

On the 24th and 25th of November, we will be presenting the clips video poems from Kinshasa at KVS ánd one of the duos - slam poet Do Nsoseme Dora and filmmaker / scenographer Fabrice Kalonji - will come to KVS for this special edition of Slam our World. Knowing Kinshasa’s intrepid artistic climate, where Brussels is half-jokingly known as ‘Lola’ – ‘Paradise’ in Lingala –, this SLOW will offer a unique window on both capitals.

On Friday evening, DJ Ill Syll invites you to the dance floor for the afterparty!

 
Length
75
Price
€ 17
reduction
€ 13 / € 9 (-26)
Information

Aftertalk with the artists on Friday 24 and Saturday 25.11.2017

NL, FR, EN
NL, FR, EN

SLOW #03: KIN <> BRU

KVS & Africalia

Le monde change vite ! Surtout dans les villes où affluent de nouvelles personnes et formes d’art. Le KVS souhaite porter à la scène le courant artistique sous-jacent de la rue si extraordinairement intéressant. C’est pour cela que SLOW (Slam our World) marie l’art de la parole urbaine et le théâtre. Pour chaque session de SLOW, le KVS invite un hôte international. Après une résidence de quelques semaines à Bruxelles, il ou elle partage la scène du KVS avec des artistes locaux, dans une tentative aussi héroïque que fragile de saisir et de traduire en vers l’âme multicolore et plurielle de la ville.

Pour cette troisième session de SLOW, le KVS invite un poète ou une poétesse slam de Kinshasa: Do Nsoseme Dora. Dans la capitale congolaise, le slam est très en vogue en tant qu’expression poétique et éloquente, mais aussi puissante et urgente, permettant à des artistes engagés de partager avec le public leur vision de la société, de la vie quotidienne et de la politique. À travers des concours et des concerts, le slam est vécu à la fois comme un mode de communication contemporain et ancestral : il rappelle les griots qui assument le rôle essentiel de transmettre la culture orale.

L’été passé, le KVS a accompagné Pitcho Womba Konga et Roland Dumbi-Kabangu – deux artistes bruxellois de la diaspora congolaise – à Kinshasa. Ils y ont travaillé avec six slameurs et six réalisateurs. Le résultat ? De nouvelles pollinisations croisées interdisciplinaires et une série de poèmes vidéo dans lesquels la parole et l’image s’épousent avec passion et de façon passionnante.

Le 24 et le 25 novembre, nous présentons les fims de Kinshasa au KVS et un des duos - slam poète Do Nsoseme Dora et vidéaste / scénographe Fabrice Kalonji - viendra en Belgique pour cette édition spéciale de Slam our World. Connaissant le climat intrépide de Kinshasa, où l’on appelle Bruxelles Lola (« paradis » en lingala) sur le ton de la plaisanterie, ce SLOW offrira une perspective exclusive sur les deux capitales.

 

Durée
75
Prix
€ 17
reduction
€ 13 / € 9 (-26)
Catégorie
PerformanceSlam
Information

Discussion après le spectacle le 24 et 25.11.2017

NL, FR, EN
NL, FR, EN