Valentijn Dhaenens about Domestica

I lived through my parents’ divorce and, unlike many other people, I experienced it as a kind of deliverance. A deliverance from the tension and fear that I experienced as a child when my parents were often living at odds with each other. I remember lying in bed and hearing my parents downstairs raising their voices or even crying sometimes. 

At times like that, all feelings of protection and trust fell away and I would have liked to have got divorced from my parents myself; to have packed a rucksack, set off down the nearby motorway in my go-cart, and got as far away from them as possible. I still find it difficult to bear a certain type of argument. 

It doesn’t matter what context it is in, but if certain frequencies are reached in a difficult discussion, I am often gripped by that same desire to flee. I think that this emotional fascination is my main reason for creating this performance, in the hope of exposing part of the terror that can cause me – and no doubt many other people – so much anxiety.

Valentijn Dhaenens sur Domestica

Enfant, j’ai vécu le divorce de mes parents, et contrairement à beaucoup d’autres, c’était pour moi une sorte de délivrance. Une délivrance de la tension et de la peur que je ressentais lors des nombreuses discordes de mes parents. Je me souviens d’être au lit et d’entendre mes parents hausser le ton ou pleurer parfois. 

Dans ces moments-là, je perdais tout sentiment de protection ou de confiance, et moi je voulais divorcer de mes parents, prendre un sac à dos, sauter sur mon gocart, sur la voie rapide toute proche et partir le plus loin possible d’eux. Aujourd’hui encore, il y a un certain type de dispute qui m’est très pénible. 

Ça peut être dans n’importe quel contexte, mais si dans une discussion difficile certaines fréquences sont atteintes, je suis encore subjugué par la même envie de fuir. Je crois que c’est cette fascination émotionnelle qui est le premier motif à la base de ce spectacle, dans l’espoir de révéler un peu de cette terreur que j’éprouve, tout comme beaucoup d’autres personnes certainement.