© Luc Depreitere
Wed 01.05.2019 20:00 - 20:50
CANCELED

It's going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend

Voetvolk / Lisbeth Gruwez
01.05.2019
20:00 - 20:50
  • 01.05.2019
    20:00 - 20:50
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOL
    cancelled

In It's going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend, Lisbeth Gruwez gives shape to the archetype of the great orator. Rather than zooming in on the content of his rousing words, she dismantles the passionate ecstasy in which he finds himself. This production also signalled the start of ‘the triptych of the ecstatic body’, a trilogy which she completed with AH / HA (2014) and We're pretty fuckin’ far from okay (2016).

A speech can be a powerful weapon. Over the centuries speeches have stirred countless masses and whipped them into action, for better or for worse. They have unleashed revolutions and fuelled wars, all driven by the immense power of words.

But a speech stirs not only the audience, it also brings the speaker himself into a state of rapture. He often loses himself in a stream of words and the intoxication of ecstatic speaking.

Is part of the parcours:
Dance

For the soundscape that directs Gruwez in her research, the sound artist Maarten Van Cauwenberghe deconstructs a speech by Jimmy Swaggart, an animated television preacher who exhorts his audience not to deliver themselves up to all kinds of worldly temptations.

It is with his ominous words that Lisbeth Gruwez and Maarten Van Cauwenberghe (who together make up Voetvolk) have established their cast-iron reputation. It's going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend was selected for the 2012 Theatre Festival, is still touring both at home and abroad and is now one of the most frequently performed Belgian stage productions ever.

We use services such as Youtube and Vimeo for videos and other media. To view this, you have to give permission to place cookies. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Extra

Unfortunately, Lisbeth needs to undergo emergency knee surgery, followed by a six-week recovery period. This means that we have to cancel the three productions It’s Going to Get Worse and Worse and Worse, my Friend, AH/HA and We’re Pretty Fucking Far from Okay. We apologise for this inconvenience.


We will refund your tickets over the coming weeks. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us at info@kvs.be or 02 210 11 00.

Credits

BY & WITH LISBETH GRUWEZ ARTISTIC ADVISOR BART MEULEMAN COMPOSITION, LIGHTING DESIGN AND ASSISTANCE MAARTEN VAN CAUWENBERGHE STYLING VERONIQUE BRANQUINHO LIGHTING DESIGN HARRY COLE & CAROLINE MATHIEU PRODUCTION MANAGER ANITA BOELS TECHNICAL DIRECTION CAROLINE MATHIEU PRODUCTION VOETVOLK VZW COPRODUCTION GRAND THEATER GRONINGEN, TROUBLEYN | JAN FABRE, THEATER IM PUMPENHAUS, ANDWHATBESIDE(S)DEATH
 

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Luc Depreitere
mer. 01.05.2019 20:00 - 20:50
ANNULE

It's going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend

Voetvolk / Lisbeth Gruwez
01.05.2019
20:00 - 20:50
  • 01.05.2019
    20:00 - 20:50
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOL
    cancelled

Dans It’s going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend, Lisbeth Gruwez donne corps à l’archétype du grand orateur. Plutôt que de se focaliser sur le contenu de ses mots envoûtants, elle déconstruit l’extase passionnée dans laquelle il est immergé. Le spectacle était par ailleurs le point de départ du « triptyque du corps extatique », une trilogie qu’elle a complétée par AH/HA (2014) et We’re pretty fuckin' far from okay (2016). 

Dans It’s going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend, Lisbeth Gruwez donne corps à l’archétype du grand orateur. Plutôt que de se focaliser sur le contenu de ses mots envoûtants, elle déconstruit l’extase passionnée dans laquelle il est immergé. Le spectacle était par ailleurs le point de départ du « triptyque du corps extatique », une trilogie qu’elle a complétée par AH/HA (2014) et We’re pretty fuckin' far from okay (2016).

Fait partie du parcours :
Danse

Pour le paysage sonore auquel Gruwez vise dans sa recherche, l’artiste sonore Maarten Van Cauwenberghe a déconstruit un discours de Jimmy Swaggart, un télévangéliste fervent qui exhorte son public à ne pas se livrer à toutes sortes de tentations de ce monde.

C’est avec les paroles inquiétantes de ce prédicateur que Lisbeth Gruwez et Maarten Van Cauwenberghe (qui forment ensemble la compagnie Voetvolk) ont assis leur solide réputation. It’s going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend a été sélectionné pour le TheaterFestival 2012 et tourne encore en Belgique et à l’étranger. Entre-temps, c’est une des productions théâtrales belges les plus jouées à ce jour.

Nous utilisons des services tels que Youtube et Vimeo pour les vidéos et autres contenus multimédias. Afin de pouvoir les visualiser, vous devez accepter l’utilisation des cookies. Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies

Extra

Malheureusement, Lisbeth Gruwez doit subir une intervention chirurgicale urgente au genou, suivie d’une période de rétablissement de six semaines. Ce qui signifie que nous ne pouvons faire autrement que d’annuler les trois représentations – It’s Going to Get Worse and Worse and Worse, my Friend, AH/HA et We’re Pretty Fucking Far from Okay. Nous le regrettons évidemment beaucoup et vous prions de bien vouloir accepter nos excuses.

Le montant que vous avez réglé pour ces billets vous sera retourné par virement dans les semaines à venir. Pour toute question, merci de nous contacter par info@kvs.be ou par téléphone au numéro 02 210 11 00.

Crédits

DE ET AVEC LISBETH GRUWEZ CONSEIL ARTISTIQUE BART MEULEMAN COMPOSITION, CONCEPTION SON & ASSISTANT MAARTEN VAN CAUWENBERGHE STYLISME VERONIQUE BRANQUINHO CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE HARRY COLE & CAROLINE MATHIEU DIRECTEUR PRODUCTION ANITA BOELS DIRECTEUR TECHNIQUE CAROLINE MATHIEU VOETVOLK VZW COPRODUCTION GRAND THEATER GRONINGEN, TROUBLEYN | JAN FABRE, THEATER IM PUMPENHAUS, ANDWHATBESIDE(S)DEATH

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies