© Leif Firnhaber
Fri 03.05.2019 20:00 - 21:00
CANCELED

We’re pretty fuckin’ far from okay

Voetvolk / Lisbeth Gruwez
03.05.2019
20:00 - 21:00
  • 03.05.2019
    20:00 - 21:00
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOL
    cancelled

The basic principle of the show is the concrete physiological impact of fear. In We're pretty fuckin' far from okay, fear is studied as a biological phenomenon, not as a socio-cultural sensation. Not as acquired behaviour, but as evolutionary developed answer to the question "to fight, flight or freeze?" In We're pretty fuckin' far from okay 'nature' beats 'nurture' - although they are sometimes each other's nursing enemies.

We're pretty fuckin' far from okay is the third (and last) installment of Voetvolk|Lisbeth Gruwez' 'triptych on the ecstatic body', after It's going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend (2012) and AH/HA (2014): performances that gained great (international) recognition.

Performers Lisbeth Gruwez and Wannes Labath zoom in on what fear does to a body: they incorporate the haunted look, the accelerated heart rate, the shallow breathing. According to them, fear is a body in trance, reduced to its instincts.

In his turn, Maarten Van Cauwenberghe uses the unstable breathing patterns as the foundation of his soundscape, creating suspense as well as restfulness - not uncommonly at the very same time.

Is part of the parcours:
Dance

Extra

Unfortunately, Lisbeth needs to undergo emergency knee surgery, followed by a six-week recovery period. This means that we have to cancel the three productions It’s Going to Get Worse and Worse and Worse, my Friend, AH/HA and We’re Pretty Fucking Far from Okay. We apologise for this inconvenience.


We will refund your tickets over the coming weeks. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us at info@kvs.be or 02 210 11 00.

Credits

CONCEPT & CHOREOGRAPHY LISBETH GRUWEZ COMPOSITION, SOUND DESIGN MAARTEN VAN CAUWENBERGHE PERFORMANCE LISBETH GRUWEZ, WANNES LABATH DRAMATURGY BART VAN DEN EYNDE REPETITOR LUCIUS ROMEO-FROMM LIGHTING DESIGN HARRY COLE & CAROLINE MATHIEU SET DESIGN MARIE SZERSNOVICZ, LISBETH GRUWEZ & MAARTEN VAN CAUWENBERGHE COSTUME ALEXANDRA SEBBAG STYLING LISBETH GRUWEZ TECHNICAL DIRECTION THOMAS GLORIEUX PRODUCTION & TOUR MANAGER ANITA BOELS COMMUNICATION ASSISTANT DAAN BORLOO PRODUCTION VOETVOLK VZW COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON, LA BÂTIE - FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE, THE ROYAL FLEMISH THEATRE, LE PHARE - CENTRE CHOREGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DU HAVRE NORMANDIE, THEATER IM PUMPENHAUS, LES BRIGITTINES, TANDEM ARRAS-DOUAI, WEIMAR KUNSTFEST, JULIDANS, MA SCÈNE NATIONALE - PAYS DE MONTBÉLIARD & TROUBLEYN|JAN FABRE. SUPPORTED BY KUNSTENCENTRUM NONA, DE VLAAMSE GEMEENSCHAP, DE VLAAMSE GEMEENSCHAPSCOMMISSIE

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Leif Firnhaber
ven. 03.05.2019 20:00 - 21:00
ANNULE

We’re pretty fuckin’ far from okay

Voetvolk / Lisbeth Gruwez
03.05.2019
20:00 - 21:00
  • 03.05.2019
    20:00 - 21:00
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOL
    cancelled

Le point de départ de la représentation est l’impact physiologique concret de l’angoisse. Dans We’re pretty fuckin’ far from okay l’angoisse est étudiée comme phénomène biologique et non pas comme manifestation socioculturelle. Non pas comme une comportement appris, mais comme une réponse évolutionnaire à la question ‘lutter, fuir ou se figer ?’ Dans We're pretty fuckin' far from okay, nature se trouve au-dessus de nurture - même si les deux sont des ennemis qui s’alimentent l’un l’autre.

We're pretty fuckin' far from okay est le troisième (et donc dernier) épisode du ‘triptyque du corps extatique’, entamé par Voetvolk avec It’s going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend (2012) et complété plus tôt déjà avec AH/HA (2014) : des représentations qui ont mis la compagnie sur la carte (internationale).

Les danseurs Lisbeth Gruwez et Wannes Labath exécutent un gros-plan sur tout ce que l’angoisse fait avec le corps : ils annexent le regard oppressé, le pouls accéléré, la respiration plus lourde. L’angoisse est d’après eux un corps envoûté, réduit à ses instincts.

Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, pour sa part, utilise le rythme respiratoire inconstant des artistes comme fondement de son paysage sonore, qui crée aussi bien de la tension que de la sérénité - souvent même simultanément.

Fait partie du parcours :
Danse

Extra

Malheureusement, Lisbeth Gruwez doit subir une intervention chirurgicale urgente au genou, suivie d’une période de rétablissement de six semaines. Ce qui signifie que nous ne pouvons faire autrement que d’annuler les trois représentations – It’s Going to Get Worse and Worse and Worse, my Friend, AH/HA et We’re Pretty Fucking Far from Okay. Nous le regrettons évidemment beaucoup et vous prions de bien vouloir accepter nos excuses.

Le montant que vous avez réglé pour ces billets vous sera retourné par virement dans les semaines à venir. Pour toute question, merci de nous contacter par info@kvs.be ou par téléphone au numéro 02 210 11 00.

Crédits

CONCEPT & CHORÉGRAPHIE LISBETH GRUWEZ COMPOSITION, CONCEPTION SON MAARTEN VAN CAUWENBERGHE INTERPRÉTATION LISBETH GRUWEZ, WANNES LABATH DRAMATURGIE BART VAN DEN EYNDE REPETITOR LUCIUS ROMEO-FROMM CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE HARRY COLE & CAROLINE MATHIEU SCÉNOGRAPHIE MARIE SZERSNOVICZ, LISBETH GRUWEZ & MAARTEN VAN CAUWENBERGHE COSTUME ALEXANDRA SEBBAG STYLING LISBETH GRUWEZ DIRECTEUR TECHNIQUE THOMAS GLORIEUX DIRECTEUR PRODUCTION ANITA BOELS COMMUNICATION DAAN BORLOO PRODUCTION VOETVOLK VZW COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON, LA BÂTIE - FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE, THE ROYAL FLEMISH THEATRE, LE PHARE - CENTRE CHOREGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DU HAVRE NORMANDIE, THEATER IM PUMPENHAUS, LES BRIGITTINES, TANDEM ARRAS-DOUAI, WEIMAR KUNSTFEST, JULIDANS, MA SCÈNE NATIONALE - PAYS DE MONTBÉLIARD & TROUBLEYN|JAN FABRE AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE KUNSTENCENTRUM NONA, DE VLAAMSE GEMEENSCHAP, DE VLAAMSE GEMEENSCHAPSCOMMISSIE

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies