© Danny Willems
Tue 02.04.2019 - Fri 06.11.2020

Unsung

Valentijn Dhaenens / KVS & SKaGeN
02.04.2019
-
06.11.2020

Onbezongen paints the picture of  a 'homo politicus'. Not the gauche politician from Yes, Minister, the idealised machine from The West Wing, the lonely evil genius from House of Cards or the has-been from Revue Ravage - the emphasis is on the realistic way in which we deal with power in the west. The piece also investigates the mostly irrational reasons for this hunger for power.

Onbezongen begins with the idea that the politician’s talent is also ultimately the cause of his downfall. For, time and time again, it is his drive that makes him go too far, his strength of character that makes him lose touch with reality, his charisma that fails to achieve its aims, or his flexibility that leads to him being accused of being untrustworthy and fake.

Onbezongen goes back to the seeds of political life: why do leaders have such a powerful desire for power in a democracy, where power is highly relative and where politicians are subject to the demands of voters, the media and interest groups? Why does a politician seek recognition in a job that is known to be the most unpopular ever?

As a party spokesperson, a cabinet member for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and at the European Commission, and finally as a speechwriter for amongst others Karel De Gucht and José Manuel Barroso, Vincent Stuer was able to penetrate deeply into the fabric of politics. His experiences allowed him to closely observe and study power and those in power. Vincent has been obsessively working through political histories and biographies for decades, with an impressive archive of anecdotes and quotes as a result.

FRINGE FIRST Edinburgh Festival 2018

Is part of the parcours:
KVS 24/7
KVS creation

Credits

BY & WITH VALENTIJN DHAENENS TEXT VINCENT STUER DRAMATURGY KRISTIN ROGGHE SET DESIGN ROEL VAN BERCKELAER COSTUMES HEIDI EHRHART LIGHTING DESIGN MARGARETA ANDERSEN SOUND MAX STUURMAN & STEPHANE PAPADOPOULOS ASSISTANCE DIRECTION & SURTITLING INGE FLORÉ PRODUCTION MANAGER NELE DRUYTS TECHNICAL DIRECTOR DONALD BERLANGER SET CONSTRUCTION DANNY VANDEPUT DISTRIBUTION & TOURMANAGEMENT SASKIA LIÉNARD TRANSLATION TREVOR PERRI (ENG) & ANNE VANDERSCHUEREN (FR) PRODUCTION KVS & SKAGEN COPRODUCTION THEATRE ROYAL PLYMOUTH & RICHARD JORDAN PRODUCTIONS

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Danny Willems
mar. 02.04.2019 - ven. 06.11.2020

Onbezongen

Valentijn Dhaenens / KVS & SKaGeN
02.04.2019
-
06.11.2020

Onbezongen brosse le portrait de l’homo politicus. Non pas le politicien maladroit de Yes, Minister, la machine idéalisée de The West Wing, ni le génie solitaire et malveillant de House of Cards ou le has been de Revue Ravage. L’accent est mis sur la manière réaliste dont on manie le pouvoir dans notre monde occidental. Le spectacle examine en outre les raisons, en majeure partie irrationnelles, de cette soif de pouvoir.

Onbezongen part de l’idée qu’en fin de compte, le talent des politiciens entraîne leur chute. Parce que leur ambition finit par les faire dépasser les limites, parce que leur force de caractère leur fait perdre le sens de la réalité, parce que leur charisme les fait passer à côté du but et parce que leur flexibilité les fait paraître peu fiables, voire factices.

Onbezongen revient à la quintessence de la vie politique : pourquoi les leaders ont-ils un désir si ardent de pouvoir dans une démocratie, où le pouvoir est somme toute relatif, et où les politiciens sont soumis à la volonté des électeurs, des médias et des groupes de pression ? Pourquoi le politicien part-il en quête de reconnaissance alors qu’il exerce un des métiers les plus impopulaires qui soient ?

En tant que porte-parole du parti, membre du Cabinet des Affaires étrangères et de la Commission européenne et plume de Karel De Gucht et José Manuel Barroso, Vincent Stuer a pu pénétrer au plus profond de la fibre politique. Ces postes lui ont permis d’observer de près le pouvoir et les détenteurs du pouvoir. Parallèlement, depuis des décennies, VS se plonge avec passion dans des récits et biographies politiques. Il a donc accumulé une compilation impressionnante d'anecdotes et de citations.

FRINGE FIRST Edinburgh Festival 2018

Fait partie du parcours :
KVS 24/7
KVS creation

Crédits

DE & AVEC VALENTIJN DHAENENS TEXTE VINCENT STUER DRAMATURGIE KRISTIN ROGGHE SCENOGRAPHIE ROEL VAN BERCKELAER COSTUMES HEIDI EHRHART CONCEPTION LUMIÈRES MARGARETA ANDERSEN SON MAX STUURMAN & STEPHANE PAPADOPOULOS ASSISTANCE À LA MISE EN SCÈNE & SURTITRAGE INGE FLORÉ DÉLÉGUÉ DE PRODUCTION NELE DRUYTS DIRECTEUR TECHNIQUE DONALD BERLANGER DÉCOR DANNY VANDEPUT DIFFUSION & TOUR MANAGEMENT SASKIA LIÉNARD TRADUCTION TREVOR PERRI (ENG) & ANNE VANDERSCHUEREN (FR) PRODUCTION KVS & SKAGEN COPRODUCTION THEATRE ROYAL PLYMOUTH & RICHARD JORDAN PRODUCTIONS

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies