© Barbara Antal
Wed 11.12.2019 20:30 - 21:30
EUROPALIA

NOCTURNE FOR BROKEN VOCAL CORDS

Sergiu Matis
11.12.2019
20:30 - 21:30
  • Wed 11.12.2019
    20:30 - 21:30
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOX

Nocturne for broken vocal cords is part of Sergiu Matis's Noise Nocturnes, a series of performances and texts that revisit the romantic genre in its fascination for the night and darkness, imitating nature and flirting with folklore.  

In this passionate solo performance, Sergiu Matis mixes elements of his personal history with fragments of the history of western dance. By learning from machines, playing with the English language and flirting with poetry, theory and sounds, he searches for a new kind of virtuosity. Performative text and choreographic semantics go hand in hand. 

Matis, a dancer-choreographer, was born in Cluj-Napoc, Romania, and started dancing professionally when he moved to Nuremburg. He has been living in Berlin since 2008 and has worked with Sasha Waltz & Guests, Colette Sadler and Jee-Ae Lim. In 2014, he completed a Masters in Solo/Dance/ Authorship at the HZT. Matis has performed in Berlin, Bucharest, Seoul and Tokyo. Nocturne for Broken Vocal Cords is the latest example of his artistic approach to dance as 'the visible thinking body'. 

In this solo show, Matis' voice dances as much as his body.

Is part of the parcours:
English please
Dance

Credits

DOOR & MET / PAR & AVEC / BY & WITH Sergiu Matis LICHT / LUMIÈRE / LIGHT Emma Juliard PRESENTATIE BINNEN / PARTIE DE / PRESENTED WITHIN Europalia Romania Arts Festival PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION 4culture Association, Bucharest & Collegium Hungaricum Berlin
© Barbara Antal

Check out our themes

© Barbara Antal
mer. 11.12.2019 20:30 - 21:30
EUROPALIA

NOCTURNE FOR BROKEN VOCAL CORDS

Sergiu Matis
11.12.2019
20:30 - 21:30
  • mer. 11.12.2019
    20:30 - 21:30
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOX

Nocturne for broken vocal cords fait partie des Noise Nocturnes de Sergiu Matis. Cette série de performances avec texte affuble le genre romantique d’un habillage moderne, y compris sa fascination pour la nuit et les ténèbres, pour des imitations de la nature et des références au folklore.

Sergiu Matis mélange des extraits de son histoire personelle et de l'histoire de la danse occidentale dnas un solo très enthousiaste. Il recherche une nouvelle virtuosité en apprenant avec des machines, en jouant avec la lange anglaise et en flirtant avec la poésie, la théorie et du groovy noise. Une rencontre entre texte performatif et sémantique chorégraphique. 

Sergiu Matis est danseur et chorégraphe. Né à Cluj-Napoca en Roumanie, il débute sa carrière de danseur à Nuremberg. Depuis 2008, il habite Berlin, où il travaille notamment avec Sasha Waltz & Guests, Colette Sadler et Jee-Ae Lim. En 2014, il complétait un Master Solo/ Dance/Authorship à la HZT. Les spectacles de Matis ont voyagé à Berlin, Bucarest, Séoul et Tokyo. Nocturne for Broken Vocal Cords est le résultat le plus récent de sa pratique artistique, dans laquelle il conçoit la danse comme "le corps réfléchissant visible". 

Dans ce solo, Matis danse à la fois avec sa voix et avec son corps.

Fait partie du parcours :
English please
Danse

Crédits

DOOR & MET / PAR & AVEC / BY & WITH Sergiu Matis LICHT / LUMIÈRE / LIGHT Emma Juliard PRESENTATIE BINNEN / PARTIE DE / PRESENTED WITHIN Europalia Romania Arts Festival PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION 4culture Association, Bucharest & Collegium Hungaricum Berlin
© Barbara Antal

Consultez nos parcours