Tue 21.04.2020 20:30 - 21:30
Double Bill

Slap and Tickle + Kyabajo

Liz Aggiss + Jija Sohn
21.04.2020
20:30 - 21:30
  • Tue 21.04.2020
    20:30 - 21:30
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOX

Ground-breaking, challenging and with a proper punk attitude … these characterise both Liz Aggiss and Jija Sohn in their own ways. In Slap and Tickle and KYABAJO, they shed light on how we look at others, and how it often says more about us than about the others. When does an object of lust become a subject? At what age do you stop being sexually attractive? Do you ever? Intriguing questions that these two unique performers will fire at you in their own playful fashion. Experience both performances on one night, as a double bill.

Liz Aggiss / Slap & Tickle

Maverick, anarchic, indomitable and fearless: all words that have been used to describe performance artist Liz Aggiss. Born in an era when children were seen and not heard, Aggiss never had a clue what she wanted to do. She just knew she wanted to be seen and heard.

Slap and Tickle is an award-winning, dark and ribald physical commentary on cultural mores and sexual taboos: a disorientating display of interpretations and contradictions about women, girls, mothers, bitches and senior citizens. Beating a path through the personal and historical, Aggiss creates a feminist soup that lurches from spoken word to expressionist movement, from music hall to radio nostalgia, from costume change to prop manipulation. It is push and pull, punishment and reward, slap and tickle... all the way home.

Is part of the parcours:
English please

Jija Sohn / Kyabajo

In the solo piece KYABAJO, Jija Sohn embodies the identity of the typical Japanese hostess and deconstructs it in a surreal way. She researches how power can manifest itself in subtle ways. She finds herself facing and interfacing with a series of objects meant to become installations that let her subconscious emerge – culminating in a visual performance in which the raw side of man is celebrated and the seedy embraced. Surrender to a game of oppression, power, and liberation.

Credits

SLAP AND TICKLE
THEATERMAKER / CRÉATRICE DE THÉÂTRE / THEATRE MAKER Liz Aggiss MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Arts Council England, The British Council, Dance4, South East Dance, University Of Bath

KYABAJO
CHOREOGRAFIE / CHORÉGRAPHIE / CHOREOGRAPHY Jija Sohn DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Charlot Van Der Meer ARTISTIEK ADVIES / SUPPORT ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ADVICE Katarina Bakatsaki, Bruno Listopad COACHING Suzy Blok, Dansmakers Amsterdam LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHT DESIGN Saskia De Vries SOUND DESIGN / CONCEPTION DE SON Abel Kroon, Steve Martin Snider KOSTUUMS & SCENOGRAFIE / COSTUMES & SCÉNOGRAPHIE / COSTUMES & SCENOGRAPHY Rosemarie Allaert PUBLICITEIT / PUBLICITÉ / PUBLICITY Ruth Verraes / Dansmakers Amsterdam PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Dansmakers Amsterdam COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Podium Bloos, Theaterfestival Boulevard, Dansbrabant Via Plan MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Amsterdam Fonds Voor De Kunst, Young Artfund Amsterdam MET DANK AAN / REMERCIEMENTS À / THANKS TO Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen, Ria Higler

Check out our themes

mar. 21.04.2020 20:30 - 21:30
Double Bill

Slap and Tickle + Kyabajo

Liz Aggiss + Jija Sohn
21.04.2020
20:30 - 21:30

Chacun à leur façon, Liz Aggiss et Jija Sohn déplacent des frontières, provoquent, adoptent une attitude punky… Dans leurs spectacles respectifs, Slap and Tickle et KYABAJO, ils proposent de regarder de plus près notre manière de considérer les autres. Et comment cela dit souvent davantage sur le ‘regardant’ que sur le ‘regardé’. À partir de quand un objet de plaisir devient-il un sujet ? À quel âge cesse-t-on d’avoir une attraction sexuelle ? Ou cela n’arrive-t-il tout simplement pas ? Questions intrigantes que ces deux artistes uniques nous lancent à la figure dans leur propre style espiègle. Venez assister à ces deux spectacles en une seule soirée sous forme de Double bill.

Liz Aggiss / Slap & Tickle

Non-conformiste, anarchiste, indomptable et intrépide : des qualificatifs qui caractérisent parfaitement Liz Aggiss. Née à une époque où les enfants étaient vus, mais pas entendus, Liz Aggiss a eu du mal à décider ce qu’elle voulait faire ou devenir. Elle savait juste qu’elle voulait être vue et entendue.

Slap and Tickle est une réplique – audacieuse, sombre et prisée – aux mœurs culturelles et aux tabous sexuels. Une présentation déconcertante d’interprétations et de contradictions à propos de femmes, de filles, de mères, de salopes et dames âgées. Se frayant un chemin entre l’intime et l’historique, Liz Aggiss crée une bouillie féministe qui essaime du spoken word au mouvement expressionniste, du music-hall à Radio Nostalgie, de changement de costumes à la manipulation d’accessoires. Il s’agit d’un jeu de qui tire et qui pousse, qui frappe et qui soulage, qui gifle et qui chatouille... jusqu’à la fin douce-amère.

Fait partie du parcours :
English please

 Jija Sohn / Kyabajo

Dans son solo KYABAJO, Jija Sohn incarne l’hôtesse japonaise typique et la déconstruit de manière surréaliste. Elle analyse la façon dont le pouvoir se manifeste sur des modes subtils. Jija Sohn prend place face à une série d’objets qui stimulent son inconscient et avec lesquels elle engage une interaction. Cela débouche sur une performance visuelle qui célèbre l’aspect cru de l’être humain et embrasse ses côtés un peu louches. Abandonnez-vous à un jeu de soumission, de pouvoir et de libération.

Crédits

SLAP AND TICKLE
THEATERMAKER / CRÉATRICE DE THÉÂTRE / THEATRE MAKER Liz Aggiss MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Arts Council England, The British Council, Dance4, South East Dance, University Of Bath

KYABAJO
CHOREOGRAFIE / CHORÉGRAPHIE / CHOREOGRAPHY Jija Sohn DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Charlot Van Der Meer ARTISTIEK ADVIES / SUPPORT ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ADVICE Katarina Bakatsaki, Bruno Listopad COACHING Suzy Blok, Dansmakers Amsterdam LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHT DESIGN Saskia De Vries SOUND DESIGN / CONCEPTION DE SON Abel Kroon, Steve Martin Snider KOSTUUMS & SCENOGRAFIE / COSTUMES & SCÉNOGRAPHIE / COSTUMES & SCENOGRAPHY Rosemarie Allaert PUBLICITEIT / PUBLICITÉ / PUBLICITY Ruth Verraes / Dansmakers Amsterdam PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Dansmakers Amsterdam COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Podium Bloos, Theaterfestival Boulevard, Dansbrabant Via Plan MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Amsterdam Fonds Voor De Kunst, Young Artfund Amsterdam MET DANK AAN / REMERCIEMENTS À / THANKS TO Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen, Ria Higler

Consultez nos parcours