© Sanne Peper

PERMANENT DESTRUCTION - THE HM CONCERT

Naomi Velissariou / Theater Utrecht
19.12.2019
20:30

Following the succes of their first show, Permanent Destruction - The SK Concert, shortlisted for both the Dutch and Flemish theatre festivals and awarded with a prize for best direction at the Louis d'Or Awards - theatre-maker / performer Naomi Velissariou and sound producer Joost Maaskant continue their theatrical concert series. The codeword this time is feminist terrorism. 

Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert is inspired by and based on the work of German playwright Heiner Müller. Visuals are by photographer / sculptor Jan Hoek. The show has won countless accolades in the press for its bold combination of biting lyrics, danceable tunes and pounding beats. 

This performance confronts the uncompromising work of German writer and director Heiner Müller. Velissariou finds a radical manner to express what for her is the essence of Müller's work - dissecting themes of misogyny, sexism and feminist extremism. To her, a theatrical concert offers the ultimate means for shining a light on them. 

Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert is the second part of a post-dystopian music theatre trilogy that tackles taboos in our current image culture. We avoid things like heartbreak and misogyny because they’re not sexy or Instagram-worthy. You can't build a profile on an expression of pain. Or, can you? 

Naomi Velissariou shows us that you can diffuse fear by honouring it; that if you want the weight to fall of your shoulders you just have to dance to the tune and rhythm of your pain. The music - which ranges from techno to rap, hardcore and punk - is a pounding embodiment of a dark message - or as the band calls it, "melodrama on speed". 

NB: Strobe lighting is used in this performance. 

Credits

TEKST & LIEDTEKST / TEXTE & PAROLES / TEXT & LYRICS Heiner Müller, Naomi Velissariou CONCEPT & REGIE / CONCEPT & MISE EN SCÈNE / CONCEPTION & DIRECTION Naomi Velissariou UITVOERING / EXÉCUTION / PERFORMANCE Permanent Destruction (Joost Maaskant & Naomi Velissariou), Valentijn Bernard & Gary Gravenbeek GELUIDSONTWERP / CONCEPTION SON / SOUNDDESIGN Joost Maaskant VISUALS Jan Hoek LICHTONTWERP & VIDEOPROGRAMMERING / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE & PROGRAMMATION VIDÉO / LIGHT DESIGN & VIDEO PROGRAMMING Bart Van Den Heuvel KOSTUUMS / COSTUMES Bibi Trompetter MET STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Fonds 21, Fonds Podiumkunsten, St. Naomi Velissariou, Likeminds, C-Takt REGIE-ASSISTENT / ASSISTANT MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTORS ASSISTANT Floor Houweling Ten Cate PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTION DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION MANAGEMENT Paulien Van Der Avoird, Suzan Slinger CAMPAGNEFOTOGRAAF / PHOTOGRAPHE DE CAMPAGNE / CAMPAIGN PHOTOGRAPHER Jan Hoek STYLING CAMPAGNEFOTOGRAFIE / STYLING PHOTOGRAPHIE DE CAMPAGNE / STYLING CAMPAIGN PHOTOGRAPHY Duran Lantink KAPSEL / COIFFURE / HAIR Hester Beek MAKE-UP / MAQUILLAGE Joyce Clerkx ACHTERGROND / TOILE DE FOND/ BACKDROP Guillaume Roux (Rouxcoucou) SCEPTER / SCEPTRE Benedikt Fischer GRAFISCHE VORMGEVING / GRAPHISME / GRAPHIC DESIGN Attak, Casper Herselman

Check out our themes

© Sanne Peper

PERMANENT DESTRUCTION - THE HM CONCERT

Naomi Velissariou / Theater Utrecht
19.12.2019
20:30

Après le succès de leur premier spectacle, Permanent Destruction - The SK Concert, sélectionné aussi bien pour le TheaterFestival néerlandais que flamandle groupe pop-up de la femme de théâtre et performeuse Naomi Velissariou et du producteur Joost Maaskant poursuit sa série de concerts théâtraux. Cette fois, le mot-clé est « terrorisme féministe ». 

Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert s’inspire de l’œuvre de l’auteur dramatique allemand Heiner Müller. Les images sont du photographe et plasticien Jan Hoek. La presse a encensé PERMANENT DESTRUCTION pour la combinaison audacieuse de paroles acerbes, de mélodies dansantes et de rythmes syncopés.

Dans le Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert, Naomi Velissariou affronte l’œuvre sans concession de l’auteur et metteur en scène allemand Heiner Müller. Velissariou exprime de manière radicale ce qu’elle considère comme la quintessence de l’œuvre de Heiner Müller en la disséquant et la transformant à travers des thèmes comme la misogynie, le sexisme et le féminisme extrémiste. Un concert théâtral est pour elle la manière ultime de porter ces thèmes à la scène.

Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert est le deuxième volet d’un triptyque de théâtre musical post-dystopique qui souhaite en finir avec les tabous autour de la culture visuelle actuelle. Des émotions comme le chagrin d’amour ou la misogynie sont des thèmes à éviter dans cette culture, parce qu’ils ne sont pas sexy ni Instagram-compatibles. On ne peut résolument pas se profiler à travers des expressions de douleur. Ou est-ce néanmoins possible ?

Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert montre qu’on peut conjurer sa peur en la célébrant, que tout le poids qui pèse sur nos épaules en glisse dès qu’on met à danser au rythme de notre douleur. La musique – variant de la techno au trap, au hardcore et au punk – est une sonorisation stimulante d’un message sombre, ou comme le formule le groupe : « un mélodrame sous speed ».

N.B. : le spectacle utilise de la lumière stroboscopique. 

Crédits

TEKST & LIEDTEKST / TEXTE & PAROLES / TEXT & LYRICS Heiner Müller, Naomi Velissariou CONCEPT & REGIE / CONCEPT & MISE EN SCÈNE / CONCEPTION & DIRECTION Naomi Velissariou UITVOERING / EXÉCUTION / PERFORMANCE Permanent Destruction (Joost Maaskant & Naomi Velissariou), Valentijn Bernard & Gary Gravenbeek GELUIDSONTWERP / CONCEPTION SON / SOUNDDESIGN Joost Maaskant VISUALS Jan Hoek LICHTONTWERP & VIDEOPROGRAMMERING / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE & PROGRAMMATION VIDÉO / LIGHT DESIGN & VIDEO PROGRAMMING Bart Van Den Heuvel KOSTUUMS / COSTUMES Bibi Trompetter MET STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Fonds 21, Fonds Podiumkunsten, St. Naomi Velissariou, Likeminds, C-Takt REGIE-ASSISTENT / ASSISTANT MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTORS ASSISTANT Floor Houweling Ten Cate PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTION DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION MANAGEMENT Paulien Van Der Avoird, Suzan Slinger CAMPAGNEFOTOGRAAF / PHOTOGRAPHE DE CAMPAGNE / CAMPAIGN PHOTOGRAPHER Jan Hoek STYLING CAMPAGNEFOTOGRAFIE / STYLING PHOTOGRAPHIE DE CAMPAGNE / STYLING CAMPAIGN PHOTOGRAPHY Duran Lantink KAPSEL / COIFFURE / HAIR Hester Beek MAKE-UP / MAQUILLAGE Joyce Clerkx ACHTERGROND / TOILE DE FOND/ BACKDROP Guillaume Roux (Rouxcoucou) SCEPTER / SCEPTRE Benedikt Fischer GRAFISCHE VORMGEVING / GRAPHISME / GRAPHIC DESIGN Attak, Casper Herselman

Consultez nos parcours