© Fred Debrock
Wed 06.02.2019 - Thu 07.02.2019

Beginners

Theater Malpertuis
06.02.2019
-
07.02.2019

Theatre director Piet Arfeuille and filmmaker Nathalie Teirlinck plunge into the world of Raymond Carver. A tense visual and theatrical experience full of characters who have gotten stuck in relational routine and broken dreams.

The American author Raymond Carver became world-famous with his short stories about human melancholy and silent tragedies. His characters have become stuck in unhappy relationships and discarded dreams. In their desire for something new, they destabilise themselves. Old certainties quickly disintegrate. No one is as sharp as Carver when dissecting the human condition.

Director Piet Arfeuille (Ivanov, GAZ ...) and filmmaker Nathalie Teirlinck (Le Passé Devant Nous) delve into Carver’s universe together for what promises to be an exciting visual and theatrical experience. Just like in Carver’s stories, you’ll be able to cut the tension with a knife. Anyone who witnessed the duo’s Yesterday (or how we felt about the rumour) (2011) knows that they make excellent filmic theatre.

Five short stories are interwoven into one sprawling performance with an impressive cast.

Credits

WRITER RAYMOND CARVER ADAPTATION & DIRECTION PIET ARFEUILLE & NATHALIE TEIRLINCK CAST KATELIJNE VERBEKE, KARLIJN SILEGHEM, STEFAN PERCEVAL, FRANS VAN DER AA, VINCENT VAN SANDE, MARLIES BOSMANS, ELS OLAERTS, TIM TAVEIRNE, NAOMI VAN DER HORST SCENOGRAPHY AMBER VANDENHOECK (PEEPING TOM) SOUNDSCAPE STREAMER (GARY SHEPHERD) PRODUCTION THEATER MALPERTUIS COPRODUCTION DE GROTE POST OOSTENDE 

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Fred Debrock
mer. 06.02.2019 - jeu. 07.02.2019

Beginners

Theater Malpertuis
06.02.2019
-
07.02.2019

Le metteur en scène de théâtre Piet Arfeuille et la cinéaste Nathalie Teirlinck se plongent dans l’univers de Raymond Carver. Un événement visuel et théâtral captivant avec des personnages coincés dans une routine relationnelle et des rêves enfouis.

L’écrivain états-unien Raymond Carver a acquis une renommée internationale avec ses nouvelles sur la mélancolie humaine et les tragédies silencieuses. Ses personnages, qui se sentent coincés dans une relation malheureuse ou dans des rêves refoulés et éprouvent un désir de changement et de nouveauté, s’engagent sur des pentes glissantes et voient leurs anciennes certitudes se déliter. Personne ne décortique la condition humaine de manière aussi acerbe et pertinente que Raymond Carver.

Le metteur en scène Piet Arfeuille (Ivanov,GAZ…) et la cinéaste Nathalie Teirlinch (Le Passé Devant Nous) se plongent ensemble dans l’univers de Carver. Voilà qui promet un événement théâtral et visuel passionnant. À l’instar des récits de Carver, la tension sera à couper au couteau. Qui a vu autrefois Yesterday (or how we felt about the rumour) (2011) sait que ce duo réalise du théâtre cinématographique.

Cinq nouvelles s’entrelacent dans un spectacle captivant à la distribution impressionnante.

Crédits

ÉCRIVAIN RAYMOND CARVER ADAPTATION & MISE EN SCÈNE PIET ARFEUILLE & NATHALIE TEIRLINCK DISTRIBUTION KATELIJNE VERBEKE, KARLIJN SILEGHEM, STEFAN PERCEVAL, FRANS VAN DER AA, VINCENT VAN SANDE, MARLIES BOSMANS, ELS OLAERTS, TIM TAVEIRNE, NAOMI VAN DER HORST SCÉNOGRAPHIE AMBER VANDENHOECK (PEEPING TOM) PAYSAGE SONORE STREAMER (GARY SHEPHERD) PRODUCTION THEATER MALPERTUIS COPRODUCTION DE GROTE POST OOSTENDE

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies