KVS
© Danny Willems

Bovary

Carme Portaceli & Michael De Cock / KVS
Tue 22.06.2021 - Tue 07.12.2021
22.06.2021
-
07.12.2021

Two years after their Mrs. Dalloway, Catalan director Carme Portaceli and KVS director Michael De Cock are taking on Madame Bovary. Maaike Neuville will don the tight wedding dress of Flaubert’s famed heroine. Carme Portaceli: “I knew immediately: this is our Madame Bovary.”

Emma Bovary marries her doctor, and with him her highest romantic expectations. But soon her boring everyday life starts to feel as oppressive as her corsets. She searches for more, for attention and for lovers, for new impulses to fill the crushing emptiness of her existence. 

Play the piano, be perfect, sois belle et tais-toi, be as society expects you to be, give your life but suppress any life you have left inside you. Emma suffers under the yoke of the outside world, but she keeps fighting for her ultimate desire … the desire to be whole. 

French author Gustave Flaubert threw a veritable bomb onto the world literature scene with his Madame Bovary. The story, of an adulterous doctor’s wife who takes her own life, was considered so shocking in 1856 that it was seen as an attack on French society and even led to a court case. Emma Bovary sent shock waves through France and the world. 

Flaubert’s book heralds the invention of the modern novel. He wanted to write a book about ‘nothing’ but it became a book about ‘everything’ – a book about the insatiable desire to be loved, about patriarchy, about (impossible) love, adultery, life and death.

TV play Bovary: an oppressive love story

On April 30, 2021, you could watch the film adaptation of the theater performance Bovary, with Maaike Neuville and Koen De Sutter in the lead roles, directed by Jaco Van Dormael, on Canvas. Did you mi…

It’s really masculinity that is due a re-think

Gustave Flaubert wrote Madame Bovary, his debut novel, in 1856. Almost immediately it stoked controversy for its depravity, but this haunting story about Emma Bovary, a strong, ambitious wife struggli…

We use services such as Youtube and Vimeo for videos and other media. To view this, you have to give permission to place cookies. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Credits

REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Carme Portaceli & Michael De Cock MET / AVEC / WITH Maaike Neuville, Koen De Sutter & Ana Naqe / Noemie Schellens LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Harry Cole SOUNDSCAPE / PAYSAGE SONORE / SOUNDSCAPE Charo Calvo CHOREOGRAFIE / CHORÉGRAPHIE / CHOREOGRAPHY Lisi Estaras DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Gerardo Salinas REGIE-ASSISTENT / ASSISTANT MISE EN SCÈNE / ASSISTANT DIRECTOR Inge Floré, Ricard Soler DECOR- & KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION DE DÉCOR & COSTUMES / SET & COSTUME DESIGN Marie Szersnovicz PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTEURS DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION DIRECTORS Miek Scheers, Tanja Vrancken TONEELMEESTER / REGIE DE PLATEAU / STAGE MANAGER Davy De Schepper TECHNIEK / TECHNIQUE Dimi Stuyven (licht/lumières/lighting), Bram Moriau (geluid/son/sound) MACHINERIE / MACHINERY Justine Hautenhauve, Willy Van Barel BOVENTITELING / SURTITRAGE / SURTITLING Inge Floré UITVOERING KOSTUUMS / CONFECTION COSTUMES / COSTUME EXECUTION Eugenie Poste & Heidi Ehrhart VERTALING / TRADUCTION / TRANSLATION Anne Vanderschueren, Trevor Perri SPREIDING & TOURMANAGEMENT / DISTRIBUTION & DIRECTRICE DE TOURNÉE / DISTRIBUTION & TOUR DIRECTION Saskia Liénard PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KVS COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Perpodium MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid via Cronos Invest

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

KVS
© Danny Willems

Bovary

Carme Portaceli & Michael De Cock / KVS
mar. 22.06.2021 - mar. 07.12.2021
22.06.2021
-
07.12.2021

Deux ans après Mrs Dalloway, la metteuse en scène catalane Carme Portaceli et Michael De Cock se penchent conjointement sur le roman Madame Bovary. Maaike Neuville se glisse dans la peau et dans la robe de mariée étriquée du célèbre personnage de Flaubert. Carme Portaceli : « Je l’ai su d’emblée. Elle est Emma Bovary. »

Emma Bovary épouse son médecin avec de grands espoirs romantiques. Mais très vite, la monotonie de sa vie l’étouffe autant que son corsage. Elle part à la recherche d’autre chose, d’attention, d’amants, et d’émotions qui permettront de combler l’écrasante vacuité de l’existence. 

Joue au piano, sois parfaite, sois belle et tais-toi, sois ce que la société attend de toi, donne la vie, mais réprime tout ce qu’il y a de vivant en toi. Emma Bovary souffre des attentes du monde extérieur. Mais elle continue à poursuivre le désir ultime… Le désir de devenir entière. Même si cela signifie sa perte.

En écrivant Madame Bovary, Gustave Flaubert lance une bombe dans le champ de la littérature mondiale de l’époque. Cette histoire d’une femme adultère, mariée à un médecin et qui finit par se suicider frappe la France de 1856 d’une telle stupeur qu’elle est considérée comme une atteinte à la société et fait l’objet de poursuite judiciaire et d’un procès. Le personnage d’Emma Bovary provoque une onde de choc en France et dans le monde. 

Flaubert vient d’inventer le roman moderne. Il souhaitait écrire un livre à propos de « rien », mais en a écrit un sur « tout » : sur le désir inextinguible d’être aimé·e, sur le patriarcat, sur un amour (impossible), sur l’adultère, sur la vie et la mort. 

Télé-théâtre Bovary : une histoire d’amour oppressante

Le 30 avril 2021, vous pourriez voir l'adaptation cinématographique de la performance théâtrale Bovary, avec Maaike Neuville et Koen De Sutter dans les rôles principaux, réalisé par Jaco Van Dormael, …

C’est surtout la masculinité en nous tous qui a besoin d’un bon coup de torchon

Un siècle et demi après sa sortie, le KVS s’invite auprès de Madame Bovary. Michael De Cock réadapte le texte, Carme Portaceli assume la mise en scène et Maaike Neuville interprétera le rôle d’Emma Bo…

Nous utilisons des services tels que Youtube et Vimeo pour les vidéos et autres contenus multimédias. Afin de pouvoir les visualiser, vous devez accepter l’utilisation des cookies. Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies

Crédits

REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Carme Portaceli & Michael De Cock MET / AVEC / WITH Maaike Neuville, Koen De Sutter & Ana Naqe / Noemie Schellens LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Harry Cole SOUNDSCAPE / PAYSAGE SONORE / SOUNDSCAPE Charo Calvo CHOREOGRAFIE / CHORÉGRAPHIE / CHOREOGRAPHY Lisi Estaras DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Gerardo Salinas REGIE-ASSISTENT / ASSISTANT MISE EN SCÈNE / ASSISTANT DIRECTOR Inge Floré, Ricard Soler DECOR- & KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION DE DÉCOR & COSTUMES / SET & COSTUME DESIGN Marie Szersnovicz PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTEURS DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION DIRECTORS Miek Scheers, Tanja Vrancken TONEELMEESTER / REGIE DE PLATEAU / STAGE MANAGER Davy De Schepper TECHNIEK / TECHNIQUE Dimi Stuyven (licht/lumières/lighting), Bram Moriau (geluid/son/sound) MACHINERIE / MACHINERY Justine Hautenhauve, Willy Van Barel BOVENTITELING / SURTITRAGE / SURTITLING Inge Floré UITVOERING KOSTUUMS / CONFECTION COSTUMES / COSTUME EXECUTION Eugenie Poste & Heidi Ehrhart VERTALING / TRADUCTION / TRANSLATION Anne Vanderschueren, Trevor Perri SPREIDING & TOURMANAGEMENT / DISTRIBUTION & DIRECTRICE DE TOURNÉE / DISTRIBUTION & TOUR DIRECTION Saskia Liénard PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KVS COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Perpodium MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid via Cronos Invest

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies