Wed 03.03.2021 - Thu 04.03.2021

The One (et demi) Man Show

Ras-El-Hanout
03.03.2021
-
04.03.2021

What does being a man mean today? The question sounds simple and straightforward but the answer is complicated. Molenbeek-based theatre company Ras El Hanout has a reputation for engaging productions that address social questions with a big dose of humour and light-heartedness. This time they put various ways of being a man under the microscope. 

Who today knows what a man is or should be? To what extent are gender roles determined by society and culture? What do we do about this binary picture, in which some cultures are painted as inherently misogynist and others as paragons of gender equality? In this production, set up like a infotainment show, the actor Salim Haouach questions not only his own preconceptions about being a man, but also the audience’s. 

Before rehearsals began, the creators held a series of workshops under the leadership of sexologist, couples-therapist and midwife Zina Hamzaoui. The experiences and reflections of those who took part feed into this production. The text is written by Youness Mernissi, a journalist and multiple-times Belgian slam poetry champion. Social worker Bie Van Craeynest uses her relevant background to oversee the writing process. KVS face Pitcho Womba Konga, whose previous work includes the multidisciplinary Kuzikiliza and Fire Will Become Ashes, But Not Now directs. 

Ras El Hanout was formed ten years ago by a group of friends from Brussels who believe in theatre as a means of empowerment and dialogue. Since then, the company, under artistic direction of Salim Haouach, has become resident in its own space in the heart of Molenbeek. They tour several shows each year, and in the past decade have made more than 30 productions, staged 360 performances and reached over 38,000 people. Every year around four hundred 16-35-year-olds take part in their workshops. 

Credits

MET / AVEC / WITH Salim Haouach REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Pitcho Womba Konga EEN CREATIE VAN / UNE CRÉATION DE / CREATED BY Salim Haouach, Pitcho Womba Konga, Youness Mernissi ADVIES / CONSEILS / ADVICE Zina Hamzaoui, Bie Vancraeynest PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Ras El Hanout MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Commission Communautaire Française, Centre Culturel des Riches-Claires
Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

mer. 03.03.2021 - jeu. 04.03.2021

The One (et demi) Man Show

Ras-El-Hanout
03.03.2021
-
04.03.2021

Si la question du titre paraît simple et directe, la réponse est complexe. La compagnie de théâtre molenbeekoise Ras El Hanout est abonnée aux spectacles engagés qui abordent des questions sociétales avec une bonne dose d’humour et de légèreté. Cette fois, ils passent au crible les différentes significations et teneurs que notre société attribue à ce qu’est « être un homme ». 

Qui sait aujourd’hui ce qu’est un homme ou ce qu’il devrait être ? Dans quelle mesure les rôles de genre sont-ils déterminés par les cadres sociaux et culturels ? Qu’en est-il de l’image binaire dans laquelle certaines cultures sont dépeintes comme intrinsèquement misogynes et d’autres comme un modèle de l’égalité des genres ? Dans ce spectacle, monté comme une émission infotainment, l’acteur Salim Haouach ne questionne pas seulement ses propres conceptions de ce qu’est être un homme, mais aussi celles du public. 

Une série d’ateliers, sous la direction de la sexologue, thérapeute de couples et sage-femme Zina Hamzaoui, ont précédé la création. Les expériences et réflexions des participants ont nourri le spectacle. Youness Mernissi, journaliste et multiple champion de Belgique de slam, est garant d’un texte incisif. Bie Van Craeynest, travailleuse sociale, accompagne le processus d’écriture à partir d’un engagement thématique. Le visage du KVS Pitcho Womba Konga, créateur de spectacles multidisciplinaires comme Kuzikiliza et Fire Will Become Ashes, But Not Now, assure la mise en scène. 

Ras El Hanout a vu le jour il y a dix ans, et fut fondée par un groupe d’amis bruxellois croyant au théâtre comme moyen d’émancipation et de dialogue. Alors sous la direction artistique de Salim Haouach, la compagnie possède sa propre salle de théâtre au coeur de Molenbeek et tourne chaque année avec différents spectacles. En 10 ans, elle crée plus de 30 spectacles de théâtre, soit plus de 360 représentations pour plus de 38 000 spectateurs. Environ 400 participants entre 16 et 35 ans suivent leurs ateliers chaque année. 

Crédits

MET / AVEC / WITH Salim Haouach REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Pitcho Womba Konga EEN CREATIE VAN / UNE CRÉATION DE / CREATED BY Salim Haouach, Pitcho Womba Konga, Youness Mernissi ADVIES / CONSEILS / ADVICE Zina Hamzaoui, Bie Vancraeynest PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Ras El Hanout MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Commission Communautaire Française, Centre Culturel des Riches-Claires
Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité