KVS
© Sofie De Backere
Wed 07.07.2021 - Sun 11.07.2021

BIRDS

Seppe Baeyens, Yassin Mrabtifi & Martha Balthazar / Ultima Vez
07.07.2021
-
11.07.2021

Following the success of Tornar (2015) and INVITED (2018), dancer and choreographer Seppe Baeyens builds upon his exploration of shaping a temporary community in Birds. For this new creation, he steps outside the theatre walls and ventures into the public space with a group of performers and musicians. There the normal course of events is interrupted – sometimes invisibly and sometimes plainly. Time and time again, unexpected compositions arise from playful interactions between onlookers, participants and coincidental passers-by, in which everyone appears to influence the outcome. Birds is a generous, social choreography that seeks out connection and imagination.

Since 2011, Seppe Baeyens has been closely associated with Ultima Vez’s activities. In his productions he mixes professional and non-professional dancers and actors. Baeyens searches for new artistic working methods, spread over a long period of time, based on co-authorship with the participants. His productions are not so much about individual expression, the symmetrically performed movement or the harmonic choreography, but the honest and authentic connection between the dancers during the performance. Accordingly, the live music and visual design play an important guiding and supporting role. In his latest project Birds, Seppe Baeyens also wants to broaden and diversify the creation process itself. He asked Martha Balthazar and Yassin Mrabtifi to create and accompany the performance with him.
 
Seppe Baeyens: 'The starting point for Birds is not the theatre space but the everyday environment. We will be going to organise the public space as a dramatic space, without depriving it of its accessibility. We strive to blur the boarders between the random passer-by spectators, performers and audience in a social and shared choreography. I also asked Martha Balthazar and Yassin Mrabtifi to co-create Birds. Until now, I have mainly applied my ideas on intergenerational and intercultural participation to the participants and audience of my performances. I am now extending that line to the creation process itself.'

Other location:
CIRCUS SPACE
Ossegemstraat 50
1080 Molenbeek

"I once told a policeman who came to ask what happened, that we were doing 'an experiment in being together'. Because that is essentially what my job is."

Seppe Baeyens 

We use services such as Youtube and Vimeo for videos and other media. To view this, you have to give permission to place cookies. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Extra

Can't get enough of it? After the performance there will be the exclusive presale of the INVITED CD, with music by Stef Heeren (who also made the music for Birds), Kwinten Mordijck and Elias Devoldere. A CD costs 10 euros and will be physically for sale after the performance.

Credits

CONCEPT, REGIE, CHOREOGRAFIE / CONCEPT, MISE EN SCÈNE & CHORÉGRAPHIE / CONCEPT, DIRECTION & CHOREOGRAPHY Seppe Baeyens IN COCREATIE MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COCREATION WITH Yassin Mrabtifi, Martha Balthazar GECREËERD MET & UITGEVOERD DOOR / CRÉÉ AVEC & INTERPÉTÉ PAR / CREATED WITH & PERFORMED BY Annette Baussart, Noudyse ‘Odile’ Decock, Emile Claus, Inès Bafdili, Rosa Boateng, Yacine Sangara, Gaspard Herblot, Kyria Tsara, Chisom Lois Onyebueke Chinaedu, Aude Uytterhoeven, Aiko Niang, Jago Pauwels, David Jarama, Isabelle Azaïs, Evarista Azaïs Jarama, Yassin Mrabtifi, Martha Balthazar, Seppe Baeyens MUZIEK GECOMPONEERD DOOR / MUSIQUE COMPOSÉE PAR / MUSIC COMPOSED BY Stef Heeren LIVE UITGEVOERD DOOR / INTERPÉTÉ PAR / LIVE PERFORMED BY Saif Al-Qaissy, Stef Heeren, Gaspard Herblot, Kyria Tsara DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Kristin Rogghe STAGIAIRE DRAMATURGIE / INTERN DRAMATURGY Lena Vercauteren BEWEGINGSASSISTENT / ASSISTENT DE MOUVEMENT / MOVEMENT ASSISTANT Germán Jauregui STAGE ARTISTIEKE ASSISTENTIE / STAGE D’ASSISTANCE ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ASSISTANCE INTERNSHIP Bernadette Schnabel SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SET DESIGN Fatima El Ouahabi, Björk Llaguno Alvarez, Loïse Vargas Y Jimenez, Jolien Gillijns coached by Eva Raffaella Menga & Bram Kerkhofs (LUCA School of Arts) KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Lieve Meeussen PRODUCTIE & TOURMANAGEMENT / PRODUCTION & DIRECTEUR DE TOURNÉE / PRODUCTION & TOUR DIRECTION Ultima Vez COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION KVS Brussels, STUK - House for Dance, Image & Sound (Leuven) co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union as part of DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON, tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Festival de Marseille RESIDENTIES / RÉSIDENCES / RESIDENCIES STUK Leuven, KVS Brussel, Festival de Marseille, tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Berliner Festspiele, Cultuurcentrum De Grote Post Oostende, CAMPO Gent MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Tax Shelter maatregel van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius. Ultima Vez wordt ondersteund door de Vlaamse Autoriteiten, de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie van het Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest MET DANK AAN / MERCI À / THANKS TO Decoratelier, Circularium, Maison des Cultures et de la Cohésion Sociale, MolenWest, Espace Catastrophe

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

KVS
© Sofie De Backere
mer. 07.07.2021 - dim. 11.07.2021

BIRDS

Seppe Baeyens, Yassin Mrabtifi & Martha Balthazar / Ultima Vez
07.07.2021
-
11.07.2021

Après le succès de Tornar (2015) et INVITED (2018), le danseur et chorégraphe Seppe Baeyens poursuit avec Birds sa recherche sur la manière de former une communauté éphémère. Pour cette nouvelle création, il sort des murs du théâtre et entre dans l'espace public avec un groupe de performeurs et de musiciens. Le cours normal des choses est ici interrompu - parfois de manière invisible, puis à nouveau manifeste. Au sein d’interactions ludiques entre spectateurs, participants et passants se trouvant là par hasard se créent des compositions inattendues sans cesse renouvelées où chacun semble exercer une influence sur l'ensemble. Birds est une chorégraphie généreuse, sociale, en quête de lien et d'imagination.

Depuis 2011, Seppe Baeyens est étroitement lié aux activités d’Ultima Vez. Il travaille avec une équipe diversifiée et intergénérationnelle de performeurs. Baeyens est à la recherche de nouvelles méthodes de travail artistique, couvrant de longues périodes et basées sur la cocréation avec les participants. Ses spectacles portent moins sur l’expression individuelle, le mouvement symétrique ou la chorégraphie harmonique, que sur le lien honnête et authentique entre les danseurs pendant le spectacle. La musique en direct et la scénographie accompagnent et renforcent celui-ci.Dans son dernier projet, Birds, Seppe Baeyens veut également élargir et diversifier le processus de création même. Il a demandé à Martha Balthazar et Yassin Mrabtifi de créer avec lui le spectacle et de l'accompagner.
 
Seppe Baeyens : Le point de départ n’est pas l’espace théâtral, mais l’espace quotidien. Nous allons organiser l’espace public comme un espace dramatique, sans que celui-ci ne perde son accessibilité. Ce qui m’intéresse, c’est le jeu qui va se déployer entre le simple passant, le performeur et le public du théâtre. J'ai aussi demandé à Martha Balthazar et Yassin Mrabtifi de co-créer Birds. Jusqu'à présent, j'appliquais surtout mes idées sur la participation intergénérationnelle et interculturelle aux participants et au public de mes spectacles. J'étends maintenant cette ligne au processus de création même.

Extra muros:
CIRCUS SPACE
50, Rue d'Osseghem
1080 Molenbeek

"Une fois j'ai dit à un policier qui demandait ce qui se passait, que nous faisions " une expérience en être ensemble ". Parce que c'est ce qui décrit le mieux mon travail." 

Seppe Baeyens

Nous utilisons des services tels que Youtube et Vimeo pour les vidéos et autres contenus multimédias. Afin de pouvoir les visualiser, vous devez accepter l’utilisation des cookies. Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies

Extra

Vous n'en avez pas assez? Après chaque représentation, il y aura la prévente exclusive du CD INVITED, avec la musique de Stef Heeren (qui a également fait la musique pour Birds), Kwinten Mordijck et Elias Devoldere. Un CD coûte 10 euros et sera physiquement en vente après les représentations.

Crédits

CONCEPT, REGIE, CHOREOGRAFIE / CONCEPT, MISE EN SCÈNE & CHORÉGRAPHIE / CONCEPT, DIRECTION & CHOREOGRAPHY Seppe Baeyens IN COCREATIE MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COCREATION WITH Yassin Mrabtifi, Martha Balthazar GECREËERD MET & UITGEVOERD DOOR / CRÉÉ AVEC & INTERPÉTÉ PAR / CREATED WITH & PERFORMED BY Annette Baussart, Noudyse ‘Odile’ Decock, Emile Claus, Inès Bafdili, Rosa Boateng, Yacine Sangara, Gaspard Herblot, Kyria Tsara, Chisom Lois Onyebueke Chinaedu, Aude Uytterhoeven, Aiko Niang, Jago Pauwels, David Jarama, Isabelle Azaïs, Evarista Azaïs Jarama, Yassin Mrabtifi, Martha Balthazar, Seppe Baeyens MUZIEK GECOMPONEERD DOOR / MUSIQUE COMPOSÉE PAR / MUSIC COMPOSED BY Stef Heeren LIVE UITGEVOERD DOOR / INTERPÉTÉ PAR / LIVE PERFORMED BY Saif Al-Qaissy, Stef Heeren, Gaspard Herblot, Kyria Tsara DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Kristin Rogghe STAGIAIRE DRAMATURGIE / INTERN DRAMATURGY Lena Vercauteren BEWEGINGSASSISTENT / ASSISTENT DE MOUVEMENT / MOVEMENT ASSISTANT Germán Jauregui STAGE ARTISTIEKE ASSISTENTIE / STAGE D’ASSISTANCE ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ASSISTANCE INTERNSHIP Bernadette Schnabel SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SET DESIGN Fatima El Ouahabi, Björk Llaguno Alvarez, Loïse Vargas Y Jimenez, Jolien Gillijns coached by Eva Raffaella Menga & Bram Kerkhofs (LUCA School of Arts) KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Lieve Meeussen PRODUCTIE & TOURMANAGEMENT / PRODUCTION & DIRECTEUR DE TOURNÉE / PRODUCTION & TOUR DIRECTION Ultima Vez COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION KVS Brussels, STUK - House for Dance, Image & Sound (Leuven) co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union as part of DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON, tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Festival de Marseille RESIDENTIES / RÉSIDENCES / RESIDENCIES STUK Leuven, KVS Brussel, Festival de Marseille, tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Berliner Festspiele, Cultuurcentrum De Grote Post Oostende, CAMPO Gent MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Tax Shelter maatregel van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius. Ultima Vez wordt ondersteund door de Vlaamse Autoriteiten, de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie van het Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest MET DANK AAN / MERCI À / THANKS TO Decoratelier, Circularium, Maison des Cultures et de la Cohésion Sociale, MolenWest, Espace Catastrophe

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies