© Michiel Devijver
Fri 01.05.2020 - Wed 05.05.2021
The sorrows of Belgium II: Rex

Yellow

Luk Perceval / NTGent
01.05.2020
-
05.05.2021

In the trilogy The Sorrows of Belgium, director Luk Perceval zooms in on the Belgian tricolour and on three darker moments in Belgian history: the exploitation of Congo under Leopold II in Black, the collaboration with the German occupier during World War II in Yellow and the terrorist attacks in Brussel in Red.

1936. A new generation dreams of a Unified Reich. They are conservative, anti-liberal, anti-Marxist and racist. Léon Degrelle was one of them. The Belgian politician formed the Rex fascist party in 1936. During the Second World War he raised the Walloon Legion, a unit of the SS that fought on the Eastern Front. With the end of the war, in 1945 Degrelle was sentenced to death by default. He lived in Spain until 1994 where he had taken on a new identity, supported by the dictator Franco. As a military politician, Léon Degrelle symbolised the growing fascism that surfaced all over Europe in the thirties.

ABOUT LUK PERCEVAL

In 1984 Luk Perceval set up the legendary Blauwe Maandag Compagnie with whom he made Ten Oorlog, probably one of the most important theatre pieces in the history of Flemish culture. In 1997 he established Het Toneelhuis in Antwerp and directed internationally acclaimed performances such as AARS!, Dood van een Handelsreiziger, Andromak and Oom Vanja. Since 2000, Perceval has mostly worked abroad. He was house director of the Schaubühne in Berlin and Leitender Regisseur (Head director) of the Thalia Theater in Hamburg. Perceval was honoured with the title of ‘Regisseur des Jahres’ (Director of the Year) and received the Faust, The Golden Mask and Stanislavsky Award for his contribution to the development of contemporary theatre. Besides his theatre work, Perceval also directs opera and documentaries and is also known as a yoga teacher. At NTGent he directed Platonov, FRONT, Oogst van de wrok and Sneeuw. In 2019 Perceval is artist-in-residence at NTGent.

Credits

REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Luk Perceval SPEL / JEU / CAST Peter Seynaeve, Chris Thys, Oscar Van Rompay, Lien Wildemeersch … DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Steven Heene DECORONTWERP / CONCEPTION DÉCOR / STAGE DESIGN Annette Kurz KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUME / COSTUME DESIGN Ilse Vandenbussche PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION NTGent

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Michiel Devijver
ven. 01.05.2020 - mer. 05.05.2021
The sorrows of Belgium II: Rex

Yellow

Luk Perceval / NTGent
01.05.2020
-
05.05.2021

Dans la trilogie The Sorrows of Belgium, le metteur en scène Luk Perceval se concentre sur les trois couleurs belges et sur trois épisodes sombres de l’histoire de ce pays : l’exploitation du Congo sous Léopold II dans Black, la collaboration avec l’occupant allemand pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans Yellow et les attentats terroristes à Bruxelles dans Red.

1936. Une nouvelle génération rêve d’un Reich unifié. Elle est constituée de conservateurs qui sont aussi antilibéraux, antimarxistes et racistes. Léon Degrelle était l’un d’eux. Fondateur en 1936 du mouvement fasciste Rex, cet homme politique belge recruta pendant le Seconde Guerre mondiale la Légion wallonne, une unité SS destinée au front de l’Est. Après la guerre, en 1945, Degrelle fut condamné à mort par contumace, mais il s’était enfui en Espagne où il vécut sous une nouvelle identité jusqu’en 1994, sous les ailes protectrices du dictateur Franco. En tant que politicien militaire, Léon Degrelle est un symbole du fascisme croissant qui se manifesta un peu partout en Europe dans les années trente.

À PROPOS DE LUK PERCEVAL

Luk Perceval a créé en 1984 la légendaire Blauwe Maandag Compagnie avec laquelle il réalisa Ten Oorlog, sans doute la pièce la plus importante de l’histoire culturelle flamande. En 1997, il créa cette fois à Anvers Het Toneelhuis et remporta des succès internationaux avec des représentations comme AARS!, Dood van een Handelsreiziger, Andromak et Oom Vanja. Depuis 2000, Perceval a surtout été actif à l’étranger. Il a été metteur en scène attitré de la Schaubühne à Berlin et Leitender Regisseur du théâtre Thalia à Hambourg. Perceval s’est vu récompenser en Allemagne par le titre de ‘Regisseur des Jahres’ et le Faust tandis qu’il reçut en Russie The Golden Mask et le Stanislavsky Award pour sa contribution au développement du théâtre contemporain. Outre le théâtre, Perceval réalise aussi des opéras et des documentaires et il a une réputation de professeur de yoga. Au NTGent, il a été le metteur en scène de Platonov, FRONT, Oogst van de wrok et Sneeuw. Depuis 2019, Perceval est rattaché au NTGent comme artiste en résidence.

Crédits

REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Luk Perceval SPEL / JEU / CAST Peter Seynaeve, Chris Thys, Oscar Van Rompay, Lien Wildemeersch … DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Steven Heene DECORONTWERP / CONCEPTION DÉCOR / STAGE DESIGN Annette Kurz KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUME / COSTUME DESIGN Ilse Vandenbussche PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION NTGent

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies