© Danny Willems
Tue 15.09.2020 - Thu 17.09.2020

Just as long as you are there

Nadine Baboy & ...
15.09.2020
-
17.09.2020

In more normal times, the square behind our theatre is often filled with trucks loading and unloading props, backdrops and bits of tech. Today, we are freeing up that square to make space for artists who let their bodies do the talking. With the open skies as part of the lighting design, the city as scenography – and solo performances, short and powerful, combined in surprising double bills.

One of the names we can already release is the Brussels dancer and choreographer Nadine Baboy. Normally she would have been making waves at theatre festivals in Ostend and Mons this summer in L’Homme de La Mancha. Instead, she is creating a multidisciplinary solo using all the different forms of expression that make up her identity as an artist: from hip hop to dancehall, from traditional African dances to poetry.

Like Baboy, many artists have seen their entire summer schedule cancelled – but that doesn’t stop inspiration and creativity. Many performers are completely immersed in the task of reinventing their artistic practices for the current situation. That’s why, instead of pre-filling this solo programme, we have launched an open call: an invitation for artists and audiences to (re-)encounter each other on our back square.

With our open call we reached far beyond our usual networks and encountered countless talented performers and strong projects. No less than 110 artists sent us a proposal! We chose four projects, which will be supported with a residency and a wage. Besides KVS face Nadine Baboy, the artists Sarah Deppe (with Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Alex Akuete, Matteo Sedda (with Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke/Vitamina) and Briana Ashley Stuart will be working on a new solo creation for the outdoor stage on our back square this summer. 

With one ticket you can see three dance solos! Discover the triple bills:

15.09.2020 
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Alex Akuete / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Nadine Baboy
 
17.09.2020
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Briana Stuart / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Nadine Baboy

Calling out around the world
Are you ready for a brand new beat?
Summer's here and the time is right
For dancing in the street

Dancing in the street - David Bowie & Mick Jagger

Credits

VAN & MET / DE & AVEC / BY & WITH Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe (in collaboration with Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Alex Akuete, Matteo Sedda (in collaboration with Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke), Briana Ashley Stuart
Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

© Danny Willems
mar. 15.09.2020 - jeu. 17.09.2020

Just as long as you are there

Nadine Baboy & ...
15.09.2020
-
17.09.2020

En d’autres temps, l’esplanade à l’arrière de notre théâtre est souvent remplie de camions qui chargent et déchargent des décors de scène et du matériel technique. Cette année, nous la vidons en vue de créer de l’espace pour les artistes qui souhaitent faire parler leur corps. À ciel ouvert, avec la lumière naturelle pour éclairage et l’environnement urbain pour scénographie, des solos brefs mais puissants, combinés en doubles programmes surprenants.

Nous pouvons d’ores et déjà vous dévoiler un des noms à l’affiche : la danseuse et chorégraphe bruxelloise Nadine Baboy. Normalement, elle aurait brillé cet été dans L’homme de La Mancha à des festivals de théâtre à Ostende et à Mons. À présent, elle crée un solo multidisciplinaire à partir de différents modes d’expression qui font partie de son identité artistique – du hip-hop au dancehall, de danses africaines traditionnelles à la poésie.

Comme Baboy, de multiples artistes ont vu leurs activités artistiques prévues brusquement annulées. Néanmoins, csela n’affecte en rien leur inspiration et leur créativité naturelle. Bon nombre de performeurs réinventent leur pratique en relation aux circonstances actuelles. C’est pour cela que nous n’avons pas encore bouclé ce programme de solos et que nous lançons un appel ouvert. Une invitation aux artistes et au public à venir se retrouver sur l’esplanade à l’arrière de notre théâtre.

Par le biais de l’appel ouvert lancé au-delà de nos réseaux habituels, nous avons découvert une pléthore de jeunes performeurs talentueux et autant de projets intéressants. Non moins de 110 artistes nous ont envoyé leur projet ! Nous en avons retenu quatre, que nous allons soutenir par une résidence et un cachet. Outre le visage du KVS Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe (avec Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Alex Akuete, Matteo Sedda (avec Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke/Vitamina) et Briana Ashley Stuart travailleront cet été à la création d’un nouveau solo pour la scène extérieure sur l’esplanade à l’arrière de notre théâtre.

Avec un billet, vous assistez à trois solos en primeur ! Découvrez le triple programme:

15.09.2020 
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Alex Akuete / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Nadine Baboy
 
17.09.2020
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Briana Stuart / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Nadine Baboy

Calling out around the world
Are you ready for a brand new beat?
Summer's here and the time is right
For dancing in the street

Dancing in the street - David Bowie & Mick Jagger

Crédits

VAN & MET / DE & AVEC / BY & WITH Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe (in collaboration with Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Alex Akuete, Matteo Sedda (in collaboration with Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke), Briana Ashley Stuart
Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité