KVS
© Danny Willems

Just as long as you are there

Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe, Alex Akuete, Briana Ashley Stuart, Matteo Sedda
Tue 15.09.2020 - Thu 17.09.2020
15.09.2020
-
17.09.2020
  • 15.09.2020
    -
    30.06.2021
    17:00 - 20:00
    LIVESTREAM VIA 247.KVS.BE
    At home, Earth
    Online
    Past event
  • 15.09.2020
    17:00 - 19:30
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Past event
  • 15.09.2020
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Past event
  • 17.09.2020
    17:00 - 19:00
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Past event
  • 17.09.2020
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Past event

When KVS put out an open call for dance solos, over 110 creatives responded. On 15 September 2020 the four chosen young dance creators will be showing their work on the KVS outdoor stage: the American dancer Briana Ashley Stuart, Sarah Deppe from France (in collaboration with Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Antwerp-based dancer with Nigerian roots Alex Akuete, and Matteo Sedda from Italy (in collaboration with Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke/Vitamina). Brussels dancer, choreographer and KVS face Nadine Baboy will also perform her new creation.

Just as Long as You Are There is a programme with five short but powerful solos in open air. It is an invitation for artists and audience to meet once again on the back square of KVS BOL, after countless artists saw their planned activities cancelled in the last months and cultural life ground to a halt.

The overarching title of the programme is a wink to the infectious hit song Dancing in the Street. It serves as an invitation to celebrate coming together in the public space. A place where stepping, poetry, hip hop and contemporary dance meet.

With one ticket you can see multiple dance solos! 

15.09.2020 
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Alex Akuete / Briana Stuart / Matteo Sedda / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Briana Stuart / Nadine Baboy
 
17.09.2020
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Briana Stuart / Alex Akuete / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Alex Akuete / Nadine Baboy

"Nadine Baboy clôture le programme avec un solo démarrant sur l'image forte de ses poignets collés l'un à l'autre, comme entravés. Et une voix qui souffle, souffre et finit par lâcher "I can't breathe". Danse de combat, danse de revendication mais danse par-dessus tout avec un bel envol où la grâce et la liberté parviennent à s'imposer par-dessus la violence."

- Le Soir 

"Calling out around the world Are you ready for a brand new beat? Summer's here and the time is right For dancing in the street Dancing in the street"

- David Bowie & Mick Jagger

Extra

We partner with Buenos Aires-based LODO, a platform that has been working since 2014 to develop contemporary performing arts to foster exchange, creation and mobility projects in Latin America and beyond. This partnership results in an online collaboration where the Argentinean public will have free access to the livestream of Just as long as you are there on September 15 with five dance solos from the following artists: Nadine Baboy, Alex Akuete, Briana Ashley Stuart, Matteo Sedda and Sarah Deppe.

Credits

VAN & MET / DE & AVEC / BY & WITH Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe (in collaboration with Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Alex Akuete, Matteo Sedda (in collaboration with Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke), Briana Ashley Stuart

KVS
© Danny Willems

Just as long as you are there

Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe, Alex Akuete, Briana Ashley Stuart, Matteo Sedda
mar. 15.09.2020 - jeu. 17.09.2020
15.09.2020
-
17.09.2020
  • 15.09.2020
    17:00 - 19:30
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Évenement passé
  • 15.09.2020
    -
    30.06.2021
    17:00 - 20:00
    LIVESTREAM VIA 247.KVS.BE
    Chez soi, Earth
    Online
    Évenement passé
  • 15.09.2020
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Évenement passé
  • 17.09.2020
    17:00 - 19:00
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Évenement passé
  • 17.09.2020
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    Achterplein BOL
    Évenement passé

Après un appel ouvert à projets gratifié de 110 propositions, quatre jeunes danseur·se·s et chorégraphes se produiront le 15 septembre 2020 sur la scène extérieure du KVS : la danseuse états-unienne Briana Ashley Stuart, la danseuse française Sarah Deppe (en collaboration avec Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), le danseur anversois d’origine nigériane Alex Akuete et le danseur italien Matteo Sedda (en collaboration avec Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke/Vitamina). La danseuse et chorégraphe bruxelloise et visage du KVS Nadine Baboy répond aussi présente.

Just as Long as You Are There est un programme de solos composé de cinq spectacles de danse brefs, intenses et en plein air. Ce projet de solos est une invitation aux artistes et au public à se (re)trouver sur l’esplanade à l’arrière du KVS BOL, après que plusieurs artistes ont vu leurs activités prévues être annulées et que la vie culturelle s’est brusquement arrêtée.

Le titre générique de ce programme de solos est un clin d’œil à la chanson Dancing In The Street qui donne irrésistiblement envie de danser. Il s’agit d’une invitation à célébrer les retrouvailles et le plaisir d’être ensemble dans l’espace public. Un lieu où le stepping, la poésie, le hip-hop et la danse contemporaine se rencontrent.

Avec un billet, vous assistez à plusieurs solos en primeur !

15.09.2020 
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Alex Akuete / Briana Stuart / Matteo Sedda / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Briana Stuart / Nadine Baboy
 
17.09.2020
17:00: Sarah Deppe / Briana Stuart / Alex Akuete / Nadine Baboy 
20:00: Sarah Deppe / Matteo Sedda / Alex Akuete / Nadine Baboy

"Nadine Baboy clôture le programme avec un solo démarrant sur l'image forte de ses poignets collés l'un à l'autre, comme entravés. Et une voix qui souffle, souffre et finit par lâcher "I can't breathe". Danse de combat, danse de revendication mais danse par-dessus tout avec un bel envol où la grâce et la liberté parviennent à s'imposer par-dessus la violence."

- Le Soir 

"Calling out around the world Are you ready for a brand new beat? Summer's here and the time is right For dancing in the street Dancing in the street"

- David Bowie & Mick Jagger

Extra

Nous travaillons en partenariat avec LODO, une plateforme basée à Buenos Aires, qui travaille depuis 2014 pour développer les arts du spectacle contemporains afin de promouvoir des projets d'échange, de création et de mobilité en Amérique latine et au-delà. Ce partenariat se traduira par une collaboration en ligne où le public argentin aura un accès gratuit à la diffusion en direct Juste tant que vous y êtes le 15 septembre, avec cinq solos de danse des artistes suivants: Nadine Baboy, Alex Akuete, Briana Ashley Stuart, Matteo Sedda et Sarah Deppe.

Crédits

VAN & MET / DE & AVEC / BY & WITH Nadine Baboy, Sarah Deppe (in collaboration with Timothé Chams Yaddolahi), Alex Akuete, Matteo Sedda (in collaboration with Alessandra Ferreri & Joshua Vanhaverbeke), Briana Ashley Stuart