Fri 26.03.2021 20:30

Between Lands

KVS, Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, Faraway Festival / Comédie de Reims, Teatro Calderon de Valladolid, Onassis Foundation, Centro Dramatico São João de Porto
26.03.2021
20:30
  • 26.03.2021
    20:30
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOX
    be patient please

Democracy everywhere is under pressure and populism is reaching new heights. Fake news, the spread of hatred and lies through social media, interference in foreign elections – these happen more and more frequently and shamelessly. So: how sick is our democracy and what can we do about it?

To answer this question, KVS launches Between Lands, a joint project with six international partners from major European cities. Each theatre commissions one writer, and in each city workshops and discussions take place. At the end of the process, the six writers will each write a short piece about democracy, which will then be shown by all six theatres at exactly the same time, in a variety of forms and languages, directed by a local director based in each country. What it will be like will be a surprise – this is punk or pop-up theatre, propelled by the meeting of European writers, actors and directors.

Read on to find out who the six writers will be.

KVS will be sending RACHIDA LAMRABET on this mission. Lamrabet’s debut Vrouwland immediately won her the Debuutprijs – an award for best newcomer awarded by Boek.be. Next, she wrote a collection of short stories, Een kind van god. Alongside her novels, she has gained public attention for her resolute opinions, essays and theatre texts, the latter including Belga and De handen van Fatma. Under commission from KVS and the Goethe Institute she wrote the screenplay for Deburkanisation, which landed her in the eye of a media storm, resulting in her being dismissed from the board of directors at Unia. In response she wrote her essay Zwijg Allochtoon. Lamrabet recently won the biennial Culture Prize KU Leuven and won the Flemish Culture Prize Ultima for Arts. 

In France, FARaway Festival/ Comédie de Reims will commission CHARLOTTE LAGRANGE. Charlotte is a director and writer, and part of theatre company La Chair du Monde. Her work includes Désirer tant (2018) in which she portrays three generations of women dealing with their desires against the straitjacket of society. This tension between macro and micro stories often recurs in her work, in which see always seeks to interrogate political realities.

PIER LORENZO PISANO is an Italian writer and theatre and film director, and is the candidate from the Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, Italy. It’s a logical choice – his short film Così in terra was selected for the Cannes Film Festival in 2018. His theatre work has also won a number of prizes: Fratelli won the Premio Hystrio in 2016 and Per il tuo bene won the Premio Riccione-Tondelli in 2017. 

The Spanish writer JOSÉ MANUEL MORA graduated in dramatic writing and is founder and artistic director of Madrid Draft.inn, a development space for international collaboration. He also runs Spanish editions of the FRINGE festival and often writes for Peeping Tom. His interdisciplinary writing style is a hallmark of his work. José Manuel participates in Between Lands with Teatro Calderon de Valladolid. 

LENA KITSOPOULOU is an actress, writer and director from Greece, commissioned by the Onassis Foundation. Her short story collection Nichterides won the Best Debut Author Award DIAVAZO in 2007. She has made shows previously for the Onassis Foundation, Theatro Technis in Athens, in Germany and in the UK. The Greek author won the Internationaler Autorenpreis for her piece Athanasios Diakos at the Heidelberg Stückemarkt in 2013. Kitsopoulou’s work typically combines contemporary form with classical Greek elements, including myths and rebetika.

Centro Dramatico São João de Porto has chosen French-Portuguese writer MICKAËL DE OLIVEIRA. Mickaël has written for theatre since 2004 and set up Coletivo 84 in 2008 as a structure in which to write and direct. In 2007 he won the Nova Dramaturgia Maria Matos prize for O que é teu entregou aos mortais. His work has been played in France, Belgium, Switzerland and Norway. He is also Artistic Director of the Encontros de Novas Dramaturgias Contemporaneas project, which aims to grow attention for contemporary Portuguese and international writing. 

Credits

TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Rachida Lamrabet (BE), Pier Lorenzo Pisano (IT), José Manuel Mora (ES), Charlotte Lagrange (FR), Mickaël de Oliveira (PT), Lena Kitsopoulou (GR) ORGANISATIES / ORGANISATIONS KVS, Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, FARaway festival / Comédie de Reims, Teatro Calderon de Valladolid, Onassis Foundation, Centro Dramatico Sao Joao de Porto
Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

ven. 26.03.2021 20:30

Between Lands

KVS, Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, Faraway Festival / Comédie de Reims, Teatro Calderon de Valladolid, Onassis Foundation, Centro Dramatico São João de Porto
26.03.2021
20:30

La démocratie est mondialement sous pression et le populisme a le vent en poupe. Infox, diffusion de haine et de mensonges sur les réseaux sociaux, ingérence étrangère dans des élections… Cela devient pratique courante et plus que jamais sans vergogne. À quel point notre démocratie est-elle véritablement malade ? Et que pouvons-nous y faire ?

Pour trouver des réponses à ces questions, le KVS et cinq partenaires internationaux de grandes villes européennes lancent le projet Between lands. Chaque théâtre mandate un auteur, puis des sessions de travail et de discussion se tiennent dans chacune des villes. À la fin de ce parcours captivant, chaque auteur écrit une pièce de théâtre sur la démocratie. Précisément au même moment, dans chaque pays, la compilation de toutes ces pièces est mise en scène par un metteur en scène local, dans sa langue, sous une forme surprenante. Ce que cela donnera reste une surprise. Du théâtre punk ou pop-up dont le moteur est une rencontre entre écrivains, acteurs et metteurs en scène européens.

Les auteurs participants ne sont en tout cas pas des moindres :

Le KVS mandate RACHIDA LAMRABET. Avec Vrouwland [Pays de femme], elle a d’emblée remporté le prix du premier roman. Ensuite, a suivi le recueil de nouvelles Een kind van god [Un enfant de dieu]. Outre ses romans, elle s’est fait remarquer pour ses prises de position audacieuses, ses textes de fond et de théâtre. Elle a ainsi écrit, entre autres, Belga et De handen van Fatma [Les mains de Fatma]. À la demande du KVS et du Goethe Institut, elle a écrit le scénario de Deburkanisation. Ce petit film a provoqué un tel tapage médiatique qu’elle a été forcée de démissionner de son poste de juriste à Unia. En réaction, elle a écrit Zwijg Allochtoon [Tais-toi, étrangère]. Lamrabet a récemment remporté le prix culturel biennal KU Leuven et le prix flamand de la culture Ultima for Arts. 

Le festival français FARaway/Comédie de Reims mandate CHARLOTTE LAGRANGE. Cette metteuse en scène et écrivaine fait partie de la compagnie de théâtre La Chair du Monde. Elle a entre autres écrit le texte de théâtre Désirer tant (2018) dans lequel elle brosse une fresque de trois générations de femmes et de leurs désirs personnels face à la contrainte sociale. Cette tension entre petits et grands récits est récurrente dans son oeuvre qui analyse et remet en question la réalité politique.

L’Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione mandate l’auteur, metteur en scène de théâtre et réalisateur PIER LORENZO PISANO. Un choix justifié : son court-métrage Così in terra était sélectionné pour le Festival de Cannes 2018 et ses textes de théâtre ont aussi été primés à plusieurs reprises. Ainsi, il a obtenu, entre autres, le Premio Hystrio pour Fratelli en 2016 et le Premio Riccione-Tondelli pour Per il tuo bene en 2017.

Le Teatro Calderon de Valladolid mandate l’auteur espagnol JOSÉ MANUEL MORA. Diplômé en écriture dramatique, il a fondé et dirige la plateforme de recherche axée sur les créations internationales Draft.inn à Madrid. Parallèlement, il organise l’édition espagnole du FRINGE festival et écrit pour Peeping Tom. Son oeuvre se caractérise par un style d’écriture interdisciplinaire.

L’actrice, écrivaine et metteuse en scène LENA KITSOPOULOU a obtenu en 2007 le prix DIAVAZO du premier ouvrage pour son recueil de nouvelles Nichterides. Elle a mené des productions pour la Fondation Onassis et le Theatro Technis à Athènes, mais elle a présenté ses pièces en Allemagne et en Grande-Bretagne. En 2013, Athanasios Diakos lui a valu le prix international des auteurs du Heidelberger Stückemarkt. La combinaison d’une forme contemporaine, d’éléments grecs classiques – comme la mythologie – et de rebétiko, une musique grecque populaire, est typique de son travail.

Le Centro Dramatico São João de Porto mandate l’auteur franco-portugais MICKAËL DE OLIVEIRA. Depuis 2004, il écrit pour le théâtre et a fondé en 2008 le Coletivo 84, une structure où il écrit et met en scène. Lauréat du prix Nova Dramaturgia Maria Matos en 2007 pour son texte de théâtre O que é teu entregou aos mortais, on a pu voir ses oeuvres en France, en Belgique, en Suisse et en Norvège. Il est par ailleurs directeur artistique du projet Encontros de Novas Dramaturgias Contemporaneas qui promeut la dramaturgie contemporaine, portugaise et internationale.

Crédits

TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Rachida Lamrabet (BE), Pier Lorenzo Pisano (IT), José Manuel Mora (ES), Charlotte Lagrange (FR), Mickaël de Oliveira (PT), Lena Kitsopoulou (GR) ORGANISATIES / ORGANISATIONS KVS, Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, FARaway festival / Comédie de Reims, Teatro Calderon de Valladolid, Onassis Foundation, Centro Dramatico Sao Joao de Porto
Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité