KVS

MINDBLOWERS 2021: PLACE/SPACE

VUB & KVS
Tue 12.10.2021 18:00 - 21:30
12.10.2021
18:00 - 21:30
  • 12.10.2021
    18:00 - 21:30
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX

Mindblowers is sold out, but be sure to come to KVS the evening of the event. As of 1 hour before the start, you can write your name on the waiting list and you can still get in.

Scientists and artists are the visionaries of society. They stick their necks out. To give that voice and heartbeat a stage, KVS and Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) created Mindblowers. Expect performances at the crossroads of arts, culture and reflection.

“Place is security, space is freedom.”

Yi-Fu Tuan (humanistische geograaf)

This year, academics and artists claim their place on stage for an evening. They investigate the boundlessness and boundaries of space and place. In recent times, our space has become both smaller and larger: we were more confined to our homes than ever, but we could also travel further than ever to virtual and digital locations.

Some places have helped shape history, territories have been claimed, sacred ground has been invoked. The place where you grow up has an undeniable impact on your future. Artists also have to deal with limitations in space, both physical and symbolic. Because what does it mean to share space or to demand your rightful place, to ask for space for your story, to move on certain ground? Does space feel different depending on your gender, your history, your traumas or your passions?

How do the media help decide your place in society? In which places do certain crops grow well and do humans and animals thrive? How can microscopically small beings help us investigate whether we could live on another planet one day?

A boundless and profound theme guaranteed to bring us another evening full of exciting and urgent interventions, performed by a mix of scientists and artists. Students Marit Galle and Lisa Ahenkona serve as masters of ceremony for the evening.

Find the list of inspiring speakers shortly!

Extra

You can immerse yourself in the Mindblowers universe of the past 4 years with the brand new Mindblowers book. We have a limited number of signed copies, so be quick!

The guests

  • Astronaut and VUB Fellow Frank De Winne takes you on a unique journey into space.
  • Evolutionary biologist Karine Van Doninck and artist Angelo Vermeulen introduce you to the smallest multicellular organisms on our planet in a very special and sensory way. The All Single Ladies with a very large arsenal of exceptional characteristics.
  • Award-winning documentary filmmaker Irene Gutiérrez explores the meaning of space and time in cinema.
  • Koert Debeuf takes you to the magical world of 9th century Baghdad, where the Renaissance really began.
  • Venezuelan human rights activist Lorent Saleh demonstrates the meaning of space in detention.
  • Keeping the finger on the pulse, Rosamunde van Brakel takes a critical look at our surveillance society and crime control.
  • Seppe Baeyens and dancers from Leon vzw invite you to be part of a spatial composition.
  • Andie Dushime is a performer who will explore the meaning of space through sound.

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

KVS

MINDBLOWERS 2021: PLACE/SPACE

VUB & KVS
mar. 12.10.2021 18:00 - 21:30
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOX
12.10.2021
18:00 - 21:30
Évenement passé

Mindblowers est complet, mais assurez-vous de venir au KVS le soir de l'événement. A partir d'une heure à l'avance, vous pouvez vous inscrire sur la liste d'attente et ainsi vous pourrez quand même entrer.

Les scientifiques et les artistes sont les visionnaires de la société. Ils prennent des risques. Pour leur donner voix au chapitre, le KVS et la VUB ont créé Mindblowers. Attendez-vous à des performances au carrefour des arts, de la culture et de la réflexion.

“Place is security, space is freedom.”

Yi-Fu Tuan (humanistische geograaf)

Cette année, des universitaires et des artistes revendiqueront leur place sur scène tout au long de la soirée. Ils analyseront l’absence de limites et la délimitation de l’espace et des lieux. Ces derniers temps, notre espace s’est à la fois rétréci et agrandi : plus que jamais, nous étions cloîtré·e·s chez nous, mais nous pouvions aussi voyager plus loin que jamais vers des lieux virtuels et numériques.

Certains lieux ont contribué à façonner l’histoire, des territoires ont été revendiqués, des lieux saints ont été invoqués. Le lieu où l’on grandit exerce invariablement un impact sur l’avenir. Les artistes aussi se heurtent à des délimitations de l’espace, aussi bien d’ordre physique que symbolique. Car qu’est-ce que partager un lieu, ou le réclamer ? Que signifie réclamer un espace pour son histoire, se mouvoir sur un territoire spécifique ? Le ressenti de l’espace est-il différent en fonction du genre, de l’histoire, des traumatismes ou passions de chacun·e ? 

Quel est le rôle des médias dans la définition de l’espace qui nous est attribué dans la société ? Quels sont les endroits favorables aux plantes, aux humains, aux animaux ? De quelle manière des entités microscopiques peuvent-elles nous aider à envisager la possibilité de vivre un jour sur une autre planète ? 

Vous lisez correctement : un thème illimité et profond qui vous assure une fois de plus une soirée agrémentée d’interventions bouillonnantes et urgentes, présentées par des scientifiques et des artistes. Les étudiantes Marit Galle et Lisa Ahenkona seront les maitresses de cérémonie de la soirée. 


Découvrez bientôt nos invités ! 

Extra

Vous pouvez vous immerger dans l'univers Mindblowers des 4 dernières années avec le tout nouveau livre Mindblowers. Vous pouvez l'acheter le soir même. Pour les décideurs rapides : nous offrons un nombre limité d'exemplaires signés !

Les intervenant·e·s

  • Nul autre que le spationaute rattaché à la VUB Frank De Winne vous emmène faire un voyage exclusif dans l’espace.
  • La biologiste évolutionnaire Karine Van Doninck et l'artiste Angelo Vermeulen vous font découvrir de manière très particulière et sensorielle les plus petits organismes pluricellulaires de notre planète. Les All Single Ladies avec un grand arsenal de qualités exceptionnelles.
  • Irene Gutiérrez vous transforme en expert médiatique avec son instrumentation d’érudition de l’image.
  • Koen Debeuf vous entraîne dans le monde magique de Bagdad au IXe siècle, où la Renaissance a réellement débuté.
  • Le militant vénézuélien des droits humains Lorent Saleh vous explique ce que l’espace signifie lorsqu’on est en détention.
  • Avec un regard critique, Rosamunde van Brakel passe au crible notre société de surveillance permanente et sa lutte contre le crime.
  • Seppe Baeyens et les danseurs de Leon vzw vous invitent à faire partie d'une composition spatiale.
  • Andie Dushime est une performeuse qui explorera le sens de l'espace à travers du son.

Consultez nos sélections