KVS
© Marsel Van Oosten

Gilgamesh

Mesut Arslan / Platform 0090 & KVS
Tue 08.03.2022 - Sat 12.03.2022
08.03.2022
-
12.03.2022
  • 08.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    TRY OUT
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Past event
  • 09.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Past event
  • 10.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Past event
  • 11.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Past event
  • 12.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Past event

For his latest creation, director Mesut Arslan set to work with the masterful Gilgamesh epic. Not as a tale of immortality, as it has been told for thousands of years, but as an epic about learning to die. 

'The intention of Homo Sapiens 12,000 years ago was to domesticate grain, but grain ultimately domesticated Homo Sapiens.'

- Yuval Noah Harari

In this collection of heroic stories, Gilgamesh, the fifth king of Uruk, who is often accompanied by his friend Enkidu, experiences mythological adventures. He goes in search of eternal life or fights battles with supernatural creatures sent to Uruk by the gods. But he also faces existential questions concerning, among other things, his awareness of mortality. 

Uruk, part of southern Mesopotamia at the time and known today as Warak in Iraq, is one of the oldest known urban cultures. The fertile soil around the Euphrates River provided the opportunity to grow wheat and to evolve from a nomadic to a sedentary existence. From ‘being’ to ‘having’. Because wheat meant possession and borders. In hunter-gatherer times, wild nature was free for all. But sowing and harvesting meant taming nature, drawing up and defending borders: existence became territorial. What is mine is not yours. Wheat fields became possessions and exacerbated the oppositions of ‘us’ versus ‘them’. Wars are often not about land, but about energy and resources.

But who tames who when we look at the bigger picture? Do humans tame nature, or does nature ultimately tame humanity? Gilgamesh goes to great lengths to become immortal, to master death and nature. We humans, with our so-called civilisation and all our cultural heritage, also want to be masters of time and space. But does that make us happy? Has the pandemic not shown us that we need to put our egos into perspective? That nature outside, and the beast within us, are more powerful than ever? We could learn to accept the harmony that proliferates in the wild, surf along on nomadic waves and ‘be’, rather than trying to grasp and conquer. 

If we make peace with death, life suddenly becomes so much more valuable.
The Gilgamesh epic is one of the oldest examples of literature in human history. The stories were passed down orally for centuries and later frequently written down in cuneiform script. The definitive version is thought to date from the twelfth century BC, but older fragments date back to the third millennium BC. 
Together with Mesut Alp, archaeologist and expert on Mesopotamia, Mesut Arslan rewrites the epic and excavates a number of contemporary core themes from it. Arslan and Alp treat the encounter between Enkidu and Gilgamesh as one that pits nature against civilisation, Homo Sapiens against Neanderthals, and time against space. 

Like in his last creations, Arslan chooses to work with an empty space in which performers and audience co-exist together. In the vacuum of KVS BOX, Gilgamesh is brought to life night after night.

Extra

  • It is a performance with a standing public. (We will of course provide some chairs for people with reduced mobility).
  • Everyone is requested to put their coats and bags in the lockers. That way, we can make optimal use of the space.
  • Actors will smoke on stage during this performance.

Credits

TEKST & CONCEPT / TEXTE & CONCEPT / TEXT & CONCEPT Mesut Alp & Mesut Arslan REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTOR Mesut Arslan DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Ata Ünal SPEL / JEU / PLAY Daphne Agten, Layla Önlen SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Stan Wannet ARTISTIEK ADVIES / CONSEIL ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ADVICE Charlotte Bouckaert, Hüseyin Umaysiz KOSTUUMS CONCERT & DESIGN/ COSTUMES CONCEPT & DESIGN Elif Korkmaz, Kultuurfabriek 'Art of Beauty' VERTALING TEKST / TRADUCTION TEXTE / TRANSLATION TEXT Öznur Cesur REDACTEUR / ÉDITEUR DE TEXTE / TEXT EDITOR Jeff De Maeyer VERTALING TEKST IN HET ARABISCH/ TRADUCTION TEXTE EN ARABE / TRANSLATION TEXT ARABIC Hussein Al Khalidi EXTERNE BLIK / REGARD EXTÉRIEUR / OUTSIDE EYES Işil Derya Biçakçi RESEARCH Zeynep Avci PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION MANAGER Robin Appels, Valerie De Visscher PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KVS, Platform 0090 COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION c-Takt, Het Laatste Bedrijf MET DANK AAN / REMERCIEMENTS À / THANKS TO Dommelhof/Neerpelt MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF The Flemish Community, Tax Shelter Measure Of The Belgian Federal Government, & Gallop Tax Shelter

Check out our themes

KVS
© Marsel Van Oosten

Gilgamesh

Mesut Arslan / Platform 0090 & KVS
mar. 08.03.2022 - sam. 12.03.2022
08.03.2022
-
12.03.2022
  • 08.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    TRY OUT
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé
  • 09.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé
  • 10.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé
  • 11.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé
  • 12.03.2022
    20:30 - 21:50
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé

Pour sa nouvelle création, le metteur en scène Mesut Arslan s’attaque à la magistrale épopée de Gilgamesh. Non pas en tant que récit d’immortalité qu’on raconte depuis des millénaires, mais comme un enseignement qui nous apprend à mourir.

« Il y a 12 000 ans, l’intention de l’homo sapiens était de domestiquer le blé, mais en fin de compte, le blé a domestiqué l’homo sapiens. »

- Yuval Noah Harari

Dans le recueil de récits héroïques, Gilgamesh, le 5e roi d’Uruk, souvent accompagné de son ami Enkidu, vit des aventures mythologiques. Ainsi, il part en quête de la vie éternelle ou se bat en duel avec des créatures surnaturelles que les dieux ont lancées sur Uruk. Parallèlement, il se pose des questions existentielles, entre autres, autour de la prise de conscience de notre finitude.

Uruk, une cité de l’ancienne Mésopotamie, située dans le sud de l’Irak actuel et appelée Warkā, abritait une des plus anciennes cultures urbaines de la planète. Les terres fertiles au bord de l’Euphrate permettaient d’y cultiver du blé, favorisant la transition de la vie nomade vers la vie sédentaire, de « l’être » vers « l’avoir ». Car la culture du blé a signifié possession et frontières. Dans la culture de la chasse et la cueillette, la nature sauvage appartenait à tout le monde. Dans celle des semences et des moissons, il fallait dorénavant domestiquer la nature ainsi que délimiter son « territoire » et le défendre. Ce qui était à moi n’était plus à toi. Les champs de blé devinrent « propriétés » et allaient dès lors générer des antagonismes : « nous » par opposition aux « autres ». Aussi les guerres ne portent-elles pas toujours sur le territoire en tant que tel, mais souvent sur les ressources et l’énergie qu’il renferme.

Mais qui domestique qui dans le plus grand ensemble ? L’humain domine-t-il la nature ou est-ce en fin de compte la nature qui domine l’humain ? Gilgamesh ne s’épargne aucune peine dans sa quête d’immortalité, de victoire sur la mort et de maîtrise de la nature.

Prétendument civilisés et forts de toute notre culture, nous aussi souhaitons dominer l’espace et le temps. Mais sommes-nous heureux pour autant ? Une pandémie ne nous a-t-elle pas fait entrevoir qu’il est préférable de remettre notre ego en perspective ? Que la nature en dehors de nous et l’animal en nous restent plus forts que jamais ? Nous pourrions apprendre à accepter l’harmonie qui prolifère dans la nature sauvage, nous laisser porter par la houle nomade et plutôt « être » que vouloir à tout prix tout « saisir » et tout conquérir.

L’épopée de Gilgamesh fait partie des plus anciens exemples littéraires de l’histoire de l’humanité. Pendant des siècles, les récits se sont transmis de manière orale et par la suite, ils ont été consignés en écriture cunéiforme. La version définitive telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui date du XIIe siècle avant notre ère, mais des fragments plus anciens remontent au troisième millénaire avant notre ère.

Avec Mesut Alp, archéologue et spécialiste de la Mésopotamie, Mesut Arslan a réécrit l’épopée et exhume quelques thèmes essentiels, toujours contemporains. Arslan et Alp abordent la rencontre entre Enkidu et Gilgamesh comme celle de la nature face à la civilisation, de l’homo sapiens face à l’homme de Neandertal ou du temps face à l’espace.

Pour ce nouveau spectacle, tout comme pour ses créations précédentes, Arslan travaille dans un espace vide que partagent les performeurs et le public. Dans ce vide (le KVS Box), il ranimera chaque soir Gilgamesh.

Extra

  • Il s'agit d'un spectacle avec un public debout. (Nous disposerons bien sûr de quelques chaises pour les personnes à mobilité réduite).
  • Tout le monde est prié de mettre ses manteaux et ses sacs dans les casiers. De cette façon, nous pouvons utiliser l'espace de façon optimale.
  • Pendant le spectacle, on fume sur scène.

Crédits

TEKST & CONCEPT / TEXTE & CONCEPT / TEXT & CONCEPT Mesut Alp & Mesut Arslan REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTOR Mesut Arslan DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Ata Ünal SPEL / JEU / PLAY Daphne Agten, Layla Önlen SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Stan Wannet ARTISTIEK ADVIES / CONSEIL ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ADVICE Charlotte Bouckaert, Hüseyin Umaysiz KOSTUUMS CONCERT & DESIGN/ COSTUMES CONCEPT & DESIGN Elif Korkmaz, Kultuurfabriek 'Art of Beauty' VERTALING TEKST / TRADUCTION TEXTE / TRANSLATION TEXT Öznur Cesur REDACTEUR / ÉDITEUR DE TEXTE / TEXT EDITOR Jeff De Maeyer VERTALING TEKST IN HET ARABISCH/ TRADUCTION TEXTE EN ARABE / TRANSLATION TEXT ARABIC Hussein Al Khalidi EXTERNE BLIK / REGARD EXTÉRIEUR / OUTSIDE EYES Işil Derya Biçakçi RESEARCH Zeynep Avci PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION MANAGER Robin Appels, Valerie De Visscher PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KVS, Platform 0090 COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION c-Takt, Het Laatste Bedrijf MET DANK AAN / REMERCIEMENTS À / THANKS TO Dommelhof/Neerpelt MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF The Flemish Community, Tax Shelter Measure Of The Belgian Federal Government, & Gallop Tax Shelter

Consultez nos sélections