New Catalan Dramaturgy

TNC (Teatre Nacional de Catalunya) & KVS
Sat 04.06.2022 19:00 - 22:00
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOX
04.06.2022
19:00 - 22:00
Subscribe

Brussels and Barcelona engage in a high-level neighbourly exchange of stories, people and traditions. A pleasant encounter with contemporary theatre texts from both regions via a lively staged reading.

It’s abundantly clear that Belgium and the Netherlands are home to incredible theatre writers, and the same goes for Catalonia. But do we exchange enough work? Countless unexplored treasures – texts filled with daring, insight and emotion – are gathering dust on Belgian and Catalonian shelves. That’s exactly what Teatre Nacional de Catalunya (TNC) and KVS want to remedy. With the projects New Catalan Dramaturgy and New Belgian Dramaturgy, we light a fire under these stories and throw writers, directors, actors and audiences into the mix.

Barcelona is up first. TNC will work with texts by the Brussels-Marrocan author Taha Adnan (Dounia) and the Dutch writer Lot Vekemans (Gif). These plays will be performed in Barcelona in February of 2020, directed by Belgian stars Marie-Aurore D’Awans (Dounia) and Lisaboa Houbrechts (Gif). They will be working with Catalan actors in a Catalan translation.

And vice versa, on 4 June you can become acquainted with theatre texts by Catalan authors Joan Yago (Breve historia del ferrocarril español) and Clàudia Cedó (L'home sense veu). The direction in Brussels is in the hands of Catalan directors: Montserrat Rodríguez works with Breve historia del ferrocarril español, while Juan Pablo Miranda takes on L'home sense veu. They work with a Belgian cast in a translated version of the Catalan texts (in Dutch). 

The cast

Claudia Cedo

Evelien Van Hamme

Joan Yago

Juan Pablo Miranda

Leonie Buysse

Matthieu Sys

Acteur

Montserrat Rodríguez Clusella

Credits

AUTEURS / AUTHORS Taha Adnan, Lot Vekemans, Joan Yago, Clàudia Cedo REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Marie-Aurore D’awans, Lisaboa Houbrechts, Juan Pablo Miranda, Montserrat Rodríguez ACTEURS / ACTEURS / ACTORS Leonie Buysse, Matthieu Sys, Evelien Van Hamme PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Teatre Nacional De Catalunya & KVS

KVS

New Catalan Dramaturgy

TNC (Teatre Nacional de Catalunya) & KVS
sam. 04.06.2022 19:00 - 21:30
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOX
Évenement passé
04.06.2022
19:00 - 21:30
Évenement passé

Bruxelles et Barcelone jouent à être des sources d’inspiration mutuelle, avec un riche échange de récits, de personnes et de traditions. Une belle découverte de la littérature dramatique contemporaine des deux régions, dans des mises en scène animées de textes.

Que la Belgique et les Pays-Bas recèlent de formidables auteur·e·s dramatiques est sans conteste. Et qu’il en va de même en Catalogne ne fait aucun doute. Mais nos œuvres se rencontrent-elles, se confrontent-elles suffisamment ? D’innombrables perles non défrichées – des textes remplis de hardiesse, de réflexion et d’émotion – prennent la poussière sur des étagères de Flandre et de Catalogne. À cela, le Teatre Nacional de Catalunya (TNC) et le KVS veulent mettre un terme. Par le biais des projets New Catalan Dramaturgy et New Belgian Dramaturgy, nous attisons le feu de ces histoires au cœur desquelles nous propulsons écrivain·e·s, metteur·se·s en scène, comédien·ne·s et spectateur·rice·s.

Le projet commence à Barcelone. TNC travaillera sur des textes de l'auteur maroxellois Taha Adnan (Dounia) et l'auteure néerlandaise Lot Vekemans (Gif). En février 2022, ces deux pièces seront montées à Barcelone, mises en scène par Marie-Aurore D’Awans (Dounia) et Lisaboa Houbrechts (Gif). Les deux metteuses en scène travailleront avec des comédien·ne·s catalan·e·s à partir de traductions catalanes des deux textes.

À l’inverse, vous pourrez découvrir le 4 juin au KVS les textes de théâtres des auteur·e·s catalan·e·s Joan Yago (Breve historia del ferrocarril español) et Clàudia Cedó (L'home sense veu). À Bruxelles, la mise en scènesera assurée par des metteur·se·s en scène catalan·e·s : Montserrat Rodríguez dirige Breve historia del ferrocarril español et Juan Pablo Miranda, L'home sense veu. Les deux travailleront chacun avec une distribution belge qui interprétera une traduction française ou néerlandaise des textes catalans (en néerlandais).

L'équipe

Claudia Cedo

Evelien Van Hamme

Joan Yago

Juan Pablo Miranda

Leonie Buysse

Matthieu Sys

Acteur

Montserrat Rodríguez Clusella

Crédits

AUTEURS / AUTHORS Taha Adnan, Lot Vekemans, Joan Yago, Clàudia Cedo REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Marie-Aurore D’awans, Lisaboa Houbrechts, Juan Pablo Miranda, Montserrat Rodríguez ACTEURS / ACTEURS / ACTORS Leonie Buysse, Matthieu Sys, Evelien Van Hamme PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Teatre Nacional De Catalunya & KVS