© Danny Willems

Outwalkers

Moya Michael / KVS
Thu 10.02.2022 - Sat 12.02.2022
10.02.2022
-
12.02.2022

A physical presence of the past, etched onto your skin. A physical presence that connects you to your kin. In cultures where scars are born through pain, how does one reclaim ownership through stories that weave into the layers of existence? 

When you trace a scar, what do you feel? When you trace a scar, what do you remember? When you trace your scar, what do you see?'

This connection between ancestry, scars and our personal stories delves into a continuous conversation around spirituality and the rediscovering of ourselves. Every time we receive, remember or discover new information through our scars, can we accept and embrace these moments of pain? Can we allow for a redefinition of ourselves, through our complex experiences and identities? Or do we choose to turn away because the pain of remembering or lack of remembering impacts us beyond our own comfort and control? 

This performance aims to explore the intimate journey of scars and wounds, and what it brings to the surface. How do we carry these scars? How do we nurture or tend to these wounds that cut deep into our histories? How do we read our bodies and the journey they take us through? And how do the stories of our past influence how we navigate through communities and relationships today? 

Together, Camilo Mejía, Holland Andrews, Loucka Fiagan and Moya Michael build, shift, break, fall, sing, dance, unbuild and build again in an attempt to remember and acknowledge and name these scars and wounds as a way of celebrating and healing. 

Is part of the selection:
Dance

Credits

CONCEPT Moya Michael IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Camilo Mejía, Holland Andrews, Loucka Fiagan PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KVS

KVS
© Danny Willems

Outwalkers

Moya Michael / KVS
jeu. 10.02.2022 - sam. 12.02.2022
10.02.2022
-
12.02.2022

Une présence physique du passé, gravée dans votre peau. Une présence physique qui vous relie à votre famille. Dans des cultures où les cicatrices naissent de la douleur, comment en revendiquer la propriété à travers des récits qui s’imbriquent dans les strates de l’existence ?

Quand vous repérez une cicatrice, que ressentez-vous? Quand vous repérez une cicatrice, que vous rappelez-vous ? Quand vous repérez une cicatrice, que voyez-vous ?

Ce lien entre nos ancêtres, nos cicatrices et nos histoires personnelles explore une conversation continue autour de la spiritualité et de la redécouverte de soi. À chaque nouvelle information qu’une cicatrice nous donne, nous remémore ou nous fait découvrir, pouvons-nous accepter et embrasser ces moments de douleur ? Pouvons-nous admettre une redéfinition de nous-mêmes à travers nos expériences et nos identités complexes ? Ou préférons-nous nous en détourner parce que la douleur ou l’absence du souvenir nous affecte au-delà de notre propre zone de confort et contrôle ?

Ce spectacle a pour objectif d’explorer le voyage intime des cicatrices et des blessures et de ce qu’elles font remonter à la surface. Comment portons-nous nos cicatrices ? Comment alimentons-nous ou soignons-nous ces blessures dont les lames tranchantes transpercent en profondeur nos histoires ? Comment lisons-nous ces corps et le voyage dans lequel il nous emmène ? Et comment les récits de notre passé influencent-ils la manière dont nous naviguons à travers nos communautés et nos relations dans le présent ?

Ensemble, Camilo Mejía, Holland Andrews, Loucka Fiagan et Moya Michael construisent, décalent, brisent, tombent, se redressent, chantent, dansent, déconstruisent et reconstruisent dans une tentative de se souvenir, de reconnaître et de nommer ces cicatrices comme moyen de célébration et de guérison.

Fait partie de la sélection :
Danse

Crédits

CONCEPT Moya Michael IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Camilo Mejía, Holland Andrews, Loucka Fiagan PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KVS