KVS
© Louise Te Poele & Maison the Faux

Atropa

Theater Utrecht, Toneelhuis Antwerpen, Orkater & St. Naomi Velissariou
Fri 18.11.2022 20:00 - 21:30
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOL
18.11.2022
20:00 - 21:30
Tickets

In Atropa, the taboos of a generation marked by its hunger for emancipation are aired in a language they understand best: one of pumping beats and razorsharp poetry.

'The paradox of peace is that it must be conquered. With violence.'

Tom Lanoye

Atropa is a bacchanal of language in which the struggle for power is replaced by a celebration of vulnerability. Greek women are confronted with Trojan women who, after their city’s occupation, prefer death over a life of oppression. It’s up to the only man left to convincingly defend the values of the survivors at the end of the battle ...

*Intersectionality is the name for the phenomenon where “societal inequality occurs along various axes that intersect”; the notion that individuals in a society experience discrimination and oppression based on a plethora of factors.

Atropa. The revenge of peace was written by Tom Lanoye in 2008 and premiered that same year at the Avignon festival, directed by Guy Cassiers. In 2012 Lanoye won the prize for stage writing, because he “searches for the roots of the evils called war and violence” in Atropa, while “analysing the game of power”, according to the Royal Academy for the Dutch Language and Literature.

Credits

CONCEPT Naomi Velissariou TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Tom Lanoye REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Naomi Velissariou & Floor Houwink ten Cate GELUIDSONTWERP / CONCEPTION SON / SOUND DESIGN Joost Maaskant (Maask) & Jimi Zoet (performancecollectief Urland) SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Dennis Vanderbroeck (Studio Dennis Vanderbroeck) KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Joris Suk (Maison the Faux) SPEL / JEU / PERFORMANCE Vanja Rukavina, Naomi Velissariou, Ntianu Stuger, Annelinde Bruijs, Thibaud Dooms, Denise Jannah & Esperanza Denswil COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Theater Utrecht, Toneelhuis Antwerpen, Orkater & Stichting Naomi Velissariou

KVS
© Louise Te Poele & Maison the Faux

Atropa

Theater Utrecht, Toneelhuis Antwerpen, Orkater & St. Naomi Velissariou
ven. 18.11.2022 20:00 - 21:30
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOL
18.11.2022
20:00 - 21:30
Tickets

Une tragédie intersectionnelle* sur fond de techno et de trap. Dans Atropa, les tabous d’une génération caractérisée par sa soif d’émancipation sont chantés dans le langage qu’elle comprend le mieux : celui de rythmes pulsatoires et de poésie acérée. 

« Le paradoxe de la paix est qu’il faut la conquérir. Avec violence. »

Tom Lanoye

Atropa est une bacchanale de langage dans laquelle la lutte pour le pouvoir cède la place à une célébration de la vulnérabilité. Les femmes grecques rencontrent les Troyennes, qui, après l’occupation de leur ville, préfèrent la mort à une vie de soumission. C’est au seul homme de défendre de manière convaincante les valeurs des survivantes à l’issue de la bataille...

*L’intersectionnalité (également appelée intersectionnalisme) est le phénomène selon lequel « l’inégalité sociale se produit sur de différents axes, qui se croisent à des intersections » ; la notion englobe le fait que des individus d’une société subissent des discriminations et des oppressions fondées sur une multiplicité de facteurs.

Tom Lanoye a écrit Atropa. La vengeance de la paix en 2008. Cette même année, le spectacle mis en scène par Guy Cassiers était créé au Festival d’Avignon. En 2012, Lanoye s’est vu décerner le prix du texte dramatique parce qu’Atropa « va chercher les racines du mal qui s’appelle guerre et violence et analyse ce faisant le jeu du pouvoir », dixit l’Académie royale de la Langue et la Littérature néerlandaises.

Crédits

CONCEPT Naomi Velissariou TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Tom Lanoye REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Naomi Velissariou & Floor Houwink ten Cate GELUIDSONTWERP / CONCEPTION SON / SOUND DESIGN Joost Maaskant (Maask) & Jimi Zoet (performancecollectief Urland) SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Dennis Vanderbroeck (Studio Dennis Vanderbroeck) KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Joris Suk (Maison the Faux) SPEL / JEU / PERFORMANCE Vanja Rukavina, Naomi Velissariou, Ntianu Stuger, Annelinde Bruijs, Thibaud Dooms, Denise Jannah & Esperanza Denswil COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Theater Utrecht, Toneelhuis Antwerpen, Orkater & Stichting Naomi Velissariou