KVS
© Daphne Okon

Venus in Libra

Jaouad Alloul / Toneelhuis
Thu 02.02.2023 - Fri 03.02.2023
02.02.2023
-
03.02.2023
  • 02.02.2023
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
  • 03.02.2023
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL

For Jaouad Alloul, the provocation for this performance was the moment when a Member of the European Parliament with an anti-LGBT agenda was caught – mid-lockdown – at a sex party for gay men. It uncovered a level of hypocrisy and power abuse that needs to end urgently. Venus in Libra is a manifesto, a dialogue, a radical act of resistance against everything conservative.

Who are you when you’ve had one too many?
Who are you when no one is looking?
Who do you meet when you run into yourself?
Who do you lose when you lose yourself?
Do you wear a mask or does the mask wear you?

When night falls, our animal side comes out. We meet at The Last Mermaid, a night club where Coco reigns over the dance floor as queen of the night. With a mix of music, spoken word and dance, creatures of the night give in to their true selves. A veritable orgy of the roaring twenties. No vice or virtue is forgotten, no drug left untouched. But all this buzz and excitement hide a deep feeling of unease.

Coco confronts, balances, holds up a mirror in which society witnesses its true face, and it’s not a pretty sight. Like no other, she dares to ask: Who will be the last one standing?

Venus in Libra looks for balance in a world that just won’t learn from its mistakes. There’s need for transparency, softening, feminisation. Radical love and sex with consent. Individual expression and collective awareness. Generous encounter and intimate embrace. Who represents the status quo, and what side of the (r)evolution are you on?

Venus in Libra is a theatrical music experience that is best summarised as a chaotic punk queer pop concert. The past corona years have brought to the surface a number of blind spots. We are awake, but for how long will we keep pressing the snooze button? The same types of people stay in power. We want change, now!

© Daphne Okon

Credits

ONDERZOEK / RECHERCHE / RESEARCH Jeroen Vanluyten TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Jaouad Alloul & Jeroen Vanluyten TEKST BEGELEIDING / ACCOMPAGNEMENT TEKST / TEXT COACHING Johan Petit REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Jaouad Alloul STAGE REGIE / STAGE MISE EN SCÈNE / INTERN DIRECTION Fatima Ameri EXTERNE BLIK / REGARD EXTÉRIEUR / OUTSIDE EYES Céline Buren COMPOSITIE / COMPOSITION Jaouad Alloul & Jan D’Haene MUZIKANTEN / MUSICIENS / MUSICIANS Jan D’Haene, Dirk Fryns, Juno Kerstens & Hanne Torfs DANS & SPEL / DANSE & JEU / DANCE & PERFORMANCE Hendrik Lebon LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Tim Clement KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Mario Leko SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Daphne Okon CREATUREN VAN DE NACHT / CRÉATURES DE LA NUIT / CREATURES OF THE NIGHT Mick Galliot, Rubin Ajlouni, Naomi Celis, Elaine Hakkaart, Saloua Hassani, Joep Lange, Klaas Mertens, Faisal Muhammadu, Helder Onkelinx, Lieke Oolders, Lilith Pas, Dane Schippers & Flora Van Canneyt PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Toneelhuis

KVS
© Daphne Okon

Venus in Libra

Jaouad Alloul / Toneelhuis
jeu. 02.02.2023 - ven. 03.02.2023
02.02.2023
-
03.02.2023
  • 02.02.2023
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
  • 03.02.2023
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL

Pour Jaouad Alloul, le motif de ce spectacle était le moment où un parlementaire européen qui défend des thèses et des lois homophobes s’est fait surprendre lors d’une partie fine pour homosexuels en plein confinement. Cet incident a mis à nu une hypocrisie et un abus de pouvoir auxquels il faut urgemment mettre un terme. Venus in Libra est un manifeste, un dialogue, un acte de résistance radicale face à tout ce qui est conservateur.

Qui es-tu quand tu t’adonnes à la dive bouteille ?
Qui es-tu quand personne ne te voit ?
Qui rencontres-tu quand tu te croises ?
Qui perds-tu quand tu t’égares ?
Portes-tu un masque ou le masque te porte-t-il ?

Quand tombe la nuit, notre nature animale fait surface. Lieu de rencontre : The Last Mermaid, le cabaret où Coco règne en reine de la nuit sur la piste de danse. Dans un brassage de musique, de spoken word et de danse, les noctambules s’abandonnent à leur véritable nature. Les années folles en pleine orgie. Aucun vice n’est omis, aucune vertu non plus, aucun psychotrope ne reste intouché. Mais sous les paillettes et les strass se cache un profond mal de vivre.

Coco affronte, dénonce, tend un miroir à la société dans lequel elle peut voir son véritable visage, qui n’est pas reluisant. Comme nulle autre, elle ose demander : qui sera le dernier à rester debout ?

Venus in Libra cherche de l’équilibre dans un monde qui ne tire aucune leçon de ses erreurs.
Il faut de la transparence, de la douceur, de la féminisation. De l’amour radical et du sexe avec consentement. Une prise de conscience individuelle et collective. Une rencontre généreuse et une accolade cordiale. Qui représente le statu quo et de quel côté de la (r)évolution vous situez-vous ?
 
Venus in Libra est une expérience musicale et théâtrale qui se résume le mieux comme un concert pop chaotique, punk et queer. Au cours des dernières années (de pandémie), de nombreux angles morts ont fait surface. Nous sommes éveillés, mais combien de temps continuerons-nous encore à appuyer sur le bouton snooze ? Encore et toujours le même type de gens au pouvoir. Nous voulons du changement. Maintenant !

© Daphne Okon

Crédits

ONDERZOEK / RECHERCHE / RESEARCH Jeroen Vanluyten TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Jaouad Alloul & Jeroen Vanluyten TEKST BEGELEIDING / ACCOMPAGNEMENT TEKST / TEXT COACHING Johan Petit REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Jaouad Alloul STAGE REGIE / STAGE MISE EN SCÈNE / INTERN DIRECTION Fatima Ameri EXTERNE BLIK / REGARD EXTÉRIEUR / OUTSIDE EYES Céline Buren COMPOSITIE / COMPOSITION Jaouad Alloul & Jan D’Haene MUZIKANTEN / MUSICIENS / MUSICIANS Jan D’Haene, Dirk Fryns, Juno Kerstens & Hanne Torfs DANS & SPEL / DANSE & JEU / DANCE & PERFORMANCE Hendrik Lebon LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Tim Clement KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Mario Leko SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Daphne Okon CREATUREN VAN DE NACHT / CRÉATURES DE LA NUIT / CREATURES OF THE NIGHT Mick Galliot, Rubin Ajlouni, Naomi Celis, Elaine Hakkaart, Saloua Hassani, Joep Lange, Klaas Mertens, Faisal Muhammadu, Helder Onkelinx, Lieke Oolders, Lilith Pas, Dane Schippers & Flora Van Canneyt PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Toneelhuis