KVS
© Michiel Devijver

A in the role of B, when C didn't make it

Ehsan Hemat / Moussem
Fri 24.02.2023 - Sat 25.02.2023
24.02.2023
-
25.02.2023
  • 24.02.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 25.02.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX

With A in the role of B, when C didn’t make it, choreographer, performer and theatre creator Ehsan Hemat has come up with a concept in which various generations meet on stage. 

He invites amongst others his own uncle Asghar: a classically trained Iranian actor who, as a septuagenarian, represents a very different zeitgeist to his young cousin who lives and works in Belgium. The production becomes a mirror of time – of evolution versus tradition in the arts, but also in life in general.

A in the role of B, when C didn’t make it exposes a hidden network of relations between the performers on stage. When the quartet tries to map out the historical and professional consequences of their interconnections, they uncover instead a deep-rooted disconnect. Through explorations of the Iranian theatre landscape these four men – a dancer, and actor, a writer and a director – share the stage. That stage appears to be the only thing somehow keeping them together, in spite of all the disconnects.

Credits

PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION KVS, C-Takt, NTGent IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Co-laBo ONTWIKKELD MET DE STEUN VAN / DÉVELOPPÉ AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / DEVELOPED WI TH THE SUPPORT OF laGeste CONCEPT & REGIE / CONCEPT & MISE EN SCÈNE / CONCEPT & DIRECTION Ehsan Hemat IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Keyvan Sarreshteh, Ali Asghar Dashti, Asghar Hemmat PERFORMANCE / INTERPRÉTATION Ehsan Hemat, Ali Asghar Dashti, Keyvan Sarreshteh, Asghar Hemmat VIDEO / VIDÉO Julie De Clercq LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Marco Bertozzi GELUID / SON / SOUND Roeland Luyten

KVS
© Michiel Devijver

A in the role of B, when C didn't make it

Ehsan Hemat / Moussem
ven. 24.02.2023 - sam. 25.02.2023
24.02.2023
-
25.02.2023
  • 24.02.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 25.02.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX

Avec A in the role of B, when C didn’t make it, le chorégraphe, performeur et homme de théâtre Ehsan Hemat a imaginé un concept dans lequel différentes générations se rencontrent sur scène. 

Pour ce projet, il a entre autres invité son oncle Asghar : un acteur iranien de formation classique qui, en tant que septuagénaire, représente un tout autre état d’esprit que celui de son neveu qui vit et travaille désormais en Belgique. Ainsi, la production devient un reflet du temps – des évolutions par opposition aux traditions dans les arts –, mais aussi de la vie en général.

A in the role of B, when C didn’t make it dévoile un réseau caché d’interactions des acteurs sur scène : lorsque le quatuor tente de brosser le tableau des conséquences historiques et professionnelles de leurs liens mutuels, ils se heurtent au contraire à une déconnexion profonde. Des déambulations à travers le paysage théâtral iranien permettent à ces hommes – un danseur, un acteur, un écrivain et un metteur en scène – de partager le plateau qui semble être la seule chose qui les unisse, malgré et au-delà de toutes les divergences.

Crédits

PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION KVS, C-Takt, NTGent IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Co-laBo ONTWIKKELD MET DE STEUN VAN / DÉVELOPPÉ AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / DEVELOPED WI TH THE SUPPORT OF laGeste CONCEPT & REGIE / CONCEPT & MISE EN SCÈNE / CONCEPT & DIRECTION Ehsan Hemat IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Keyvan Sarreshteh, Ali Asghar Dashti, Asghar Hemmat PERFORMANCE / INTERPRÉTATION Ehsan Hemat, Ali Asghar Dashti, Keyvan Sarreshteh, Asghar Hemmat VIDEO / VIDÉO Julie De Clercq LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Marco Bertozzi GELUID / SON / SOUND Roeland Luyten