KVS
© Lieselot Siddiki & Anton Claeys

De Duivels / Les Diables

Krapp (Mats Vandroogenbroeck, Nona Demey Gallagher & Timo Sterckx) & KVS
Thu 27.04.2023 - Fri 05.05.2023
27.04.2023
-
05.05.2023
  • 27.04.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 28.04.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 02.05.2023
    14:00 - 15:30
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    For schools
  • 04.05.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 05.05.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX

At the start of the 17th century, the French provincial town of Loudun is shaken by a wave of hysteria: local nun Jeanne des Anges claims she is possessed by the devil.

Soon her seventeen fellow nuns are affected by the same demon – one that climbs over the convent walls at night with obscene intent. The nuns all point the finger at the progressive, sexually promiscuous priest Urbain Grandier. This accusation marks the start of one of the most infamous witch trials in history. Loudun becomes the scene of a grand political theatre; both the accused Grandier and the nuns become actors in a legal spectacle that addresses brand-new societal issues. Is the nuns’ possession truly a supernatural intervention by evil powers, or is it a collective denunciation of their centuries-long (sexual) oppression? And is Grandier guilty, or is he merely a scapegoat in a fast-evolving world?

Krapp wants to break open this historical case and use it as the basis for a new theatre performance. De Duivels/Les Diables takes the form of a modern trial, with the audience serving as a public jury. This jury is confronted with a society in the midst of a crisis of faith, where fear and doubt seep into the cracks that form in the old, monolithic truths.

Right at this time of major change – of scientific revolution, emerging enlightened thinking, growing atheism and feminist emancipation – forgotten devils re-emerge, stronger, more powerful and more conservative than ever before.

Credits

CONCEPT & MET / CONCEPT & AVEC / CONCEPT & WITH Mats Vandroogenbroeck, Nona Demey Gallagher & Timo Sterckx KOSTUUMS / COSTUMES Lieselot Siddiki ARTWORK Anton Claeys PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KRAPP & KVS COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Perpodium MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF de Belgische Federale Overheid via Cronos Invest

Check out our themes

KVS
© Lieselot Siddiki & Anton Claeys

De Duivels / Les Diables

Krapp (Mats Vandroogenbroeck, Nona Demey Gallagher & Timo Sterckx) & KVS
jeu. 27.04.2023 - ven. 05.05.2023
27.04.2023
-
05.05.2023
  • 27.04.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 28.04.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 02.05.2023
    14:00 - 15:30
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Pour écoles
  • 04.05.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
  • 05.05.2023
    20:30 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX

Au début du XVIIe siècle, Loudun, une bourgade de la province française est secouée par une vague d’hystérie : la religieuse Jeanne des Anges prétend être possédée par le diable. 

Très vite, dix-sept de ses co-religieuses se disent sous l’emprise du même démon qui, malgré les murs d’enceinte, s’introduit la nuit dans le couvent avec des motifs obscènes. Toutes les religieuses désignent comme coupable Urbain Grandier, un prêtre progressiste et libertin. Ces accusations donnent lieu à l’un des procès en sorcellerie les plus retentissants de l’histoire. Loudun devient dès lors le théâtre d’une grande mascarade politique et judiciaire dont Grandier et les religieuses deviennent des acteurs. Le procès-spectacle se penche sur de toutes nouvelles questions sociétales : la possession des religieuses est-elle une véritable intervention surnaturelle du mal ou s’agit-il d’un réquisitoire collectif contre leur oppression (sexuelle) séculaire ? Grandier est-il coupable ou n’est-il que le bouc émissaire d’un monde en rapide mutation ?

Krapp souhaite rouvrir ce cas historique et s’en servir comme ressource pour un nouveau spectacle de théâtre. De Duivels/Les Diables adopte ainsi la forme d’un procès moderne, avec le public comme jury populaire. Celui-ci affronte une société qui vit une crise de la croyance, où le doute et l’angoisse s’insinuent par chaque fente, chaque brèche dans la vérité monolithique ancienne.

Précisément en ces temps de grands changements – une révolution scientifique, une éclosion de la pensée des Lumières, une progression de l’athéisme et une émancipation féministe – les diables oubliés refont surface. Plus forts, plus puissants et plus conservateurs que jamais...

Crédits

CONCEPT / CONCEPT / CONCEPT Mats Vandroogenbroeck, Nona Demey Gallagher, Timo Sterckx (KRAPP) SPEL / JEU / PERFORMANCE Mats Vandroogenbroeck, Timo Sterckx, Fleur Perneel, Bastiaan Vandendriesche, Maria Zandvliet, Fiene Zasada TEKST / TEXTE / TEXT Mats Vandroogenbroeck REGIE / MISE EN SCÈNE / DIRECTION Nona Demey Gallagher KOSTUUMS / COSTUMES Eleni Ellada Damianou BEGELEIDING / ACCOMPAGNEMENT / COACHING Valentijn Dhaenens AFFICHEBEELD / IMAGE AFFICHE/ ARTWORK POSTER Anton Claeys VERTALING / TRADUCTION / TRANSLATION Trevor Perri, Anne Vanderschueren PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION KRAPP & KVS COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Perpodium, Reiefestival, De Grote Post MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF de Belgische Federale Overheid via Cronos Invest