Awoulath Alougbin

Dancer / singer / choreographer

Awoulath Alougbin is a dancer, singer and choreographer, born in Benin.

As a Yoruban, she expands her knowledge of traditional dances during her training with the National Ballet of Benin. From an early age she has been immersed in the artistic world. Through her encounter with the Haitian choreographer Ketly Noël, she discovers the world of contemporary dance. She confirms her qualities as a dancer and participates in various creations, such as Les Feuilles qui résistent au vent by choreographer Koffi Kôkô and Le Sacre du Printemps by Heddy Malem.

Awoulath Alougbin, in collaboration with other Beninese dancers, forms the Sacam Danse group and also establishes her own company Compagnie AA. In 2004 she establishes herself as a choreographer with the performance Aga Oba, together with Clement Kakpo and the Nigerian dancer Qudus Onikekun.

Alougbin moves to Brussels in 2014. There she coordinates Radio Transit Lab, a project that brings together musicians with different roots. At the same time, she organises dance workshops and is active as an audience participation manager for the Brussels city theatre KVS.

© Yasmine Belguenani

Performs in

KVS

Awoulath Alougbin

Danseuse / chanteuse / chorégraphe

Awoulath Alougbin est une danseuse, chanteuse et chorégraphe, née au Bénin. Dès son plus jeune âge, elle est plongée dans l’univers artistique.

En tant que Yoruba, elle étend sa connaissance des danses traditionnelles durant sa formation au Ballet National du Bénin. Par sa rencontre avec le chorégraphe haïtien Ketly Noël, elle découvre l’univers de la danse contemporaine. Elle confirme ses qualités de danseuse et prend part à différentes créations, comme Les Feuilles qui résistent au vent du chorégraphe Koffi Kôkô et Le Sacre du Printemps de Heddy Malem.

Awoulath Alougbin et d’autres danseurs béninois forment le groupe Sacam Danse. Parallèlement, elle fonde sa propre compagnie, AA. En 2004, elle assoit sa réputation de chorégraphe avec le spectacle Aga Oba, créé avec Clément Kakpo et le danseur nigérian Qudus Onikekun.

En 2014, Alougbin s’installe à Bruxelles, à partir d’où elle coordonne Radio Transit Lab, un projet qui réunit des musiciens d’origines diverses. Elle organise en même temps des ateliers de danse et est active en tant que médiatrice vers le public pour le théâtre de la ville, le KVS.

© Yasmine Belguenani

Joue dans