© Danny Willems

It’s really masculinity that is due a re-think

Gustave Flaubert wrote Madame Bovary, his debut novel, in 1856. Almost immediately it stoked controversy for its depravity, but this haunting story about Emma Bovary, a strong, ambitious wife struggling against the narrow framework that enclosed women’s lives at that time, could not be held back. Even a turbulent court case could not prevent it becoming a success.

Madame Bovary is a realist novel and quickly became a best-seller. It is regarded today as one of the most influential novels in world literature. Just over a century and a half after its first publication, KVS sets about bringing Flaubert’s novel to the stage. Michael De Cock writes the adaptation, Carme Portaceli directs and Maaike Neuville plays Emma Bovary.

This isn’t Portaceli’s first attempt to bring an iconic female literary figure to the stage. In 2008 she directed What happened after Nora left her husband, a version of Ibsen’s A Doll’s House by Elfriede Jelinek. In 2017 she directed Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre and last year she created Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway. In 2021 you will be able to see Madame Bovary. Each production was a hit: in Madrid, Mrs Dalloway sold out thirty performances in a row and over 24,000 people came to see it. Blanca Portillo, famous for her roles in Almodovar films, played the lead. Carme Portaceli (CP) says, 'it’s clear that audiences are ready to see more, and better developed, female leading roles in the theatre. Michael and I want to be part of bringing the other 51% of the world’s population to the stage.' Maaike Neuville (MN) didn’t need long to agree to accept the lead role for the production’s revival in Brussels.

The way Flaubert describes Emma’s inner world so vividly but also brings to life the world around her makes it a timeless piece.

Maaike, you’ve read this novel very thoroughly. What struck you most?

MN: One word: desire. Emma Bovary’s overpowering desire to become whole. She goes on a quest – not an easy one in those days, especially for a woman – to pursue her endless desire for the ideal life. It struck me because it’s something all of us have in one way or another. The way Flaubert describes Emma’s inner world so vividly but also brings to life the world around her makes it a timeless piece.

Can you understand Emma’s behaviour and choices nearly one hundred and fifty years later?

MN: I can absolutely understand them. Nothing is ever enough for her, and that’s something I can related to. She has a compulsion for perfection and to be complete. Her desire for adventure, for ultimate freedom are something that exists in all of us to some extent. She’s the personification of that urge. Luckily though, I have some moderating mechanisms that stop me going over the edge.

CP: Emma Bovary is just the right character to help us think about dreams, romantic love, what freedom for women could really look like and how society’s gaze sells women short. Emma cannot accept her boring, average existence as a doctor’s wife, and she lets her masculine side lead her. But it doesn’t bring her fulfilment – and society doesn’t accept it.

I suspect Emma Bovary wanted to rebel against all those straitjackets, which were a lot more present then than they are now.

Are the problems Madame Bovary struggled with still present in 2020 – are women still dealing with them?

MN: If it hadn’t been Madame but Monsieur Bovary I don’t think anyone would have paid much attention. Men had more permission in those days, a man didn’t have to hold himself to much account with public opinion if he had a mistress or if he just sought out a bachelor existence. I’m not sure that much has changed today. In western society, men and women are equal on paper, but not always in practice. I think women internalize certain things – I sense, and I recognize this in myself, that a woman still has the feeling she has to fulfil many roles at once: the loving spouse, the caring mother, the seductive mistress, the socially intelligent hostess, the successful career woman (these days anyway) to name just a few. I suspect Emma Bovary wanted to rebel against all those straitjackets, which were a lot more present then than they are now. She felt the need to rail against the prevailing values and norms of her time. I think women today still fight those values and norms, only we’ve internalized them and so it becomes a kind of inner battle.

CP: The way society sees women is still unfair. If a mother cannot for one reason or another be there one hundred percent for her children, then she’s a monster. If a woman who is raped doesn’t scream her innocence until her very last breath, then she is probably asking for it. These narrow definitions of masculinity and femininity hold men prisoner as well. Nobody benefits from this patriarchal system that sits deep in our genes. We need to expand our view.

MN: Wat I admire in Emma Bovary is that she can translate desire into action. Even though her choices ultimately bring her down, she does choose to explode and not to implode in depression. She chooses action. She chases her dreams, however unrealistic they might be. Beckett once said, “dance first, think later,” and that certainly applies to her.

One woman’s struggle opens doors to other women’s struggles for equality.

So you both think we still need feminism?

CP: Absolutely! Women still don’t enjoy the same rights as men, we still earn less for the same work, we aren’t given the same choices and too frequently we’re simply invisible. In Spain at the moment we’re seeing one of the largest feminist movements, and I’m very proud of that. On International Women’s Day last year, five million women in Spain went on strike. One woman’s struggle opens doors to other women’s struggles for equality. When I was Artistic Director at Teatro Español I worked incredibly hard to make women more visible. Actually, to just make sure everyone had the same chances. And it worked. When I started there, our audience attendance was around 28%. Just five months later it was 78%. Fighting for equality pays.

MN: I’m someone with a very strong sense of justice. So yes, I do stand up for women’s rights – and it comes from feeling that it’s just ridiculous to treat people according to what sex they were born. The binary of male/female is quite out-dated; I prefer to think in terms of masculine and feminine. Everybody, men and women, has a combination of masculinity and femininity inside them. So if we’re talking about emancipation, let’s talk about men and women emancipating our feminine side – because then we’re talking about everybody, not just half the population. Personally, I think femininity is actually doing OK and it’s really masculinity that is due a re-think. How do we behave towards other people when we’re in positions of power? How are we with money? How are we treating this planet that we’re destroying? What is our engagement with the world? These are all masculine aspects, and we urgently need to review them. Someone I find really interesting is Jacinda Ardern, the Prime Minister of New Zealand, who operates from a position of power in a very human way. So it can be done.

Can theatre play a part in building a better future and, if so, how?

MN: Like any art form, theatre is an opportunity to connect with other people. Not around a theory or ideology, but through recognizing humans’ inner lives. That’s where the real revolution can take place – in knowing yourself, and therefore also knowing your neighbour. I don’t believe in just “good” any more – I believe that art, and therefore also theatre, shows us the wide variety of experiences that play out inside each of us: good and bad, ugly and beautiful and so on. To me, that’s the real beauty – looking inside ourselves and learning to embrace even our darkest, bitterest sides through understanding that we are not excellent, not perfect, not superhuman, just: human.

CP: Theatre is really the only place where you can take a moment to look at what it means to be human, and where everyone is equal. We breathe the same air, we experience the same emotions and experiences, we see the same thing happen at the same moment. There’s room to listen, and to talk to each other afterwards about what we experienced.

Finally, Maaike, what does it feel like having this opportunity to portray one of the most iconic female characters in literature?

MN: Amazing! I can’t wait to bring this wonderful, tragic, subtle figure to life on stage.

Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

© Danny Willems

C’est surtout la masculinité en nous tous qui a besoin d’un bon coup de torchon

Un siècle et demi après sa sortie, le KVS s’invite auprès de Madame Bovary. Michael De Cock réadapte le texte, Carme Portaceli assume la mise en scène et Maaike Neuville interprétera le rôle d’Emma Bovary.

Portaceli n’en est pas à ses premiers balbutiements quand il s’agit de mettre en scène des figures de femme emblématiques de la littérature. En 2008, par exemple, elle dirigea What happened to Nora when she left her husband, une adaptation par Elfriede Jelinek de la Maison de poupée de Henrik Ibsen. En 2017, elle mit en scène Jane Eyre de Charlotte Brontë, suivie l’année dernière de Mrs Dalloway de Virginia Woolf. À chaque fois de gros succès au box-office. Mrs Dalloway se joua 30 soirs d’affilée à guichets fermés lors de sa présentation à Madrid. Plus de 24 000 personnes assistèrent au spectacle dans lequel Blanca Portillo, une des actrices fétiches de Pedro Almodovar, interprétait le rôle principal. Pour Carme Portaceli (CP) : « Le public est manifestement prêt pour des rôles principaux féminins beaucoup plus développés au théâtre. Avec Michael De Cock, je veux contribuer à cet effort pour que les autres 51 % de la population mondiale trouve aussi le chemin vers la scène. » Maaike Neuville (MN) n’a pas eu besoin de beaucoup de temps de réflexion pour accepter de jouer ce rôle principal.

La façon dont Flaubert décrit l’univers intérieur d’Emma et dont il est capable d’évoquer en même temps avec une grande précision le contexte du monde dans lequel elle vit, en fait une œuvre intemporelle. 

Maaike, vous avez fait une lecture très approfondie du livre. Qu’est-ce qui vous interpelle le plus ?

MN : « Un seul mot : le désir. Le désir envahissant d’Emma Bovary de ‘devenir entière’. Elle entreprend une quête – pas évidente du tout à cette époque, surtout pour une femme – pour combler son désir insondable de la vie idéale. Cela m’interpelle parce que c’est quelque chose, je crois, qui est présent en chacun de nous d’une manière ou d’une autre. La façon dont Flaubert décrit l’univers intérieur d’Emma et dont il est capable d’évoquer en même temps avec une grande précision le contexte du monde dans lequel elle vit, en fait une œuvre intemporelle. »

Avez-vous, plus d’un siècle et demi plus tard, de la compréhension pour la conduite et les choix d’Emma ?

MN : « Je comprends absolument les choix d’Emma. Rien n’est jamais assez pour elle. C’est un truc que je reconnais. Elle aspire à la perfection, à la complétude. Son envie d’aventure, de liberté ultime, c’est une chose qui existe plus au moins au fond de chacun de nous. Elle est la personnification de cette aspiration. Heureusement, je dispose moi-même de quelques mécanismes de modération qui me sauvent de la déchéance. »

CP : « Emma Bovary est le personnage qui convient pour entreprendre une réflexion sur les rêves, sur l’amour romantique, sur ce que la liberté peut vraiment contenir pour les femmes et sur combien le regard de la société fait tort aux femmes. Emma n’arrive pas à se résigner à son existence ennuyeuse et médiocre d’épouse de médecin et elle se laisse conduire par son côté masculin. Ce qui ne lui apporte néanmoins pas de satisfaction et ce que la société n’accepte pas non plus. »

Je présume qu’Emma Bovary a voulu se défendre de tous ces corsets pour femmes tellement plus contraignants à l’époque que de nos jours.

Est-ce que les problèmes avec lesquels Madame Bovary devait lutter existent encore en 2020 ? Est-ce que les femmes y sont toujours confrontées ?

MN : « Si ce n’avait pas été ‘Madame’ mais ‘Monsieur’ Bovary, le drame n’aurait pas été très important, je crois. À cette époque, un homme pouvait se permettre davantage, il n’avait pas à se justifier envers l’opinion publique d’entretenir une maîtresse ou de préférer un état de célibataire. Je me demande en fait si tant de choses ont changé. En théorie, hommes et femmes ont les mêmes droits dans nos sociétés occidentales, mais ce n’est pas toujours le cas dans la pratique. Je pense que ce qui est aussi en jeu, c’est l’intériorisation de certaines valeurs chez les femmes. Je présume – et je le reconnais pour moi aussi – qu’une femme a encore toujours le sentiment de devoir remplir simultanément plusieurs rôles : l’épouse aimante, la mère préoccupée, l’amante sexuellement active, l’hôtesse socialement intelligente et – à notre époque du moins – la carriériste réussie, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Je présume qu’Emma Bovary a voulu se défendre de tous ces corsets pour femmes tellement plus contraignants à l’époque que de nos jours. Elle a ressenti un grand besoin de se révolter contre les valeurs et normes en cours autour d’elle. Je pense que la femme d’aujourd’hui doit encore toujours mener un combat contre ces valeurs et normes, seulement, elle les a intériorisées et son combat se dirige donc de fait contre elle-même. »

CP : « Le regard que la société porte sur la femme manque encore toujours d’honnêteté. Quand une mère n’arrive pas, pour une raison quelconque, à être à 100 % là pour ses enfants, elle est un monstre. Quand une femme violée ne clame pas son innocence jusqu’à la dernière larme de son corps, elle l’a peut-être un peu voulu malgré tout. D’ailleurs, les hommes aussi sont pris en otage par cette conception étroite de la virilité et la féminité. Personne n’est gagnant dans ce système patriarcal imprimé dans nos gènes. Notre regard mérite d’être ouvert. »

MN : « Ce que je trouve très fort chez Madame Bovary, c’est qu’elle transforme ses désirs en énergie. Bien que cela la conduira inévitablement au pire, elle choisit d’exploser au lieu d’imploser dans un état dépressif. Elle choisit d’agir. Elle poursuit ses rêves, quelque irréalistes qu’ils soient. C’est Beckett qui a écrit : ‘Dance first, think later.’ C’est une parole qui lui convient parfaitement. »
 

Le combat de cette femme ouvre aussi la voie à d’autres combats pour l’égalité.

Le féminisme est donc encore toujours une nécessité selon vous ?

CP : « Absolument ! Les femmes n’ont toujours pas les mêmes droits, nous ne gagnons toujours pas autant que les hommes pour le même travail, nos opportunités ne sont pas les mêmes et nous sommes encore trop souvent invisibles. Nous avons en ce moment le mouvement féministe le plus important en Espagne et j’en suis très fière. L’année dernière, pour la Journée internationale de la Femme, cinq millions de femmes ont fait grève. Le combat de cette femme ouvre aussi la voie à d’autres combats pour l’égalité. En tant que directrice artistique du Teatro Español, je me suis engagée très fort pour que les femmes aient plus de visibilité. En fait, je devrais dire qu’il est simplement important de faire en sorte que tout le monde ait des chances égales. Et ça a marché. Quand j’y ai fait mes débuts, l’occupation moyenne de la salle était de 28 %. À peine cinq mois plus tard, nous étions à 78 %. Se battre pour l’égalité rapporte ! »

MN : « Je me considère moi-même avant tout comme quelqu’un avec un sens de la justice très développé. Je m’engage donc absolument pour les droits des femmes, ne fût-ce qu’à partir de l’idée qu’il est quand même ridicule de désavantager quelqu’un juste à cause du sexe avec lequel il est né.

Pour moi, l’opposition homme-femme est d’ailleurs tout à fait périmée. Je réfléchis plutôt en termes de masculin et féminin. Tout être humain, homme ou femme, a un certain degré de masculinité et de féminité en soi. Donc, quand on parle d’émancipation, parlons de l’émancipation de la féminité en chacun de nous, homme ou femme, il s’agit alors de tout le monde et pas seulement de la moitié de la population mondiale. Personnellement, je pense que ça ne se passe actuellement pas trop mal pour cette féminité et que c’est surtout la masculinité en nous tous qui a besoin d’un bon coup de torchon. Comment nous comportons-nous envers l’autre quand nous sommes dans une position de force, quel est notre rapport avec l’argent, les affaires, la terre en train de s’épuiser ? Comment nous manifestons-nous dans ce monde ? Ce sont tous des aspects que je considère comme faisant partie de la masculinité et qu’il est urgent de repenser. Je trouve, par exemple, Jacinda Ardern, le premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Zélande, une figure extrêmement intéressante parce qu’elle occupe une position de force avec beaucoup d’humanité. C’est donc possible ! »
 

Est-ce que le théâtre peut jouer un rôle dans la construction d’un meilleur avenir et comment ?

MN : « Comme toute autre forme artistique, le théâtre donne une opportunité de créer un lien entre les gens. Pas autour d’une pensée (unique) ou d’une idéologie, mais par une exploration du monde intérieur en chaque être humain. C’est là que se situe la véritable révolution. Dans la connaissance de soi et donc aussi de l’autre. Je ne crois plus à la seule ‘bonté’. Je crois que l’art, et donc aussi le théâtre, nous propose une diversité de ce qui se passe en chacun de nous, le bien et le mal, le beau et le moche, etc. Je crois qu’il y a là de la vraie beauté : dans le regard que nous portons sur nous-mêmes et la capacité d’embrasser même nos côtés les plus amers ou sombres, à partir de la conscience que nous ne sommes pas excellents, pas parfaits, pas des Übermensch, mais bien des êtres humains. »

CP : « Le théâtre est presque le seul endroit où l’on puisse s’arrêter à son être humain et où on soit tous égaux. Nous y respirons le même air, nous vivons les mêmes émotions et les mêmes expériences, nous voyons tous la même chose au même instant. C’est un lieu d’écoute avec la possibilité d’entamer, après le spectacle, une conversation ou une discussion sur ce qu’on a vécu ensemble. »

Pour finir, Maaike, qu’est-ce que ça fait de pouvoir interpréter une des figures romanesques les plus emblématiques de la littérature ?

MN : « C’est superbe ! J’ai hâte d’incarner sur scène cette figure, si belle mais si tragique, avec toutes ses nuances. »

Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité