© Sophie Feyder

Commonplace: online expo

Following the performance Dear Winnie, we present the photo exhibition COMMONPLACE. This online exhibition is an imagined conversation between two very different South African family photographic archives. Discover it here

The first, dating back to the 1850s, is the album of a white rural family (the Fyvie-Drummond collection), built up over several generations. The second is the work of two black African photographers, Ronald and Thorence Ngilima — father and son — who offered their services to the urban black, coloured and Indian residents of a small town near Johannesburg in the 1950s and 1960s. 

Presented side by side, the people shown in these images are unlikely to have met each other. Yet in bringing the images from both collections together, a creative dialogue is established. Unexpected visual connections begin to emerge, suggesting the varied ways in which lives lived in different times and places might resonate with each other. This exercise in juxtaposition does not claim to transcend the political, but brings to the fore the unremarkable, commonplace details that make the political deeply personal. 
 
Sophie Feyder was born in Brussels and grew up in New York and Luxembourg. After a degree in political science in Paris, she eventually brought together her interests in photography and African history in an MPhil dissertation on black popular photography in Johannesburg. She met Farrell Ngilima during her first fieldwork trip to Johannesburg in 2008. Their close collaboration on his grandfather’s photographic collection has been an important part of her PhD research at Leiden University. Her dissertation, entitled “Portraits of resilience: writing a socio-cultural history of a black South African location with the Ngilima photographic collection. Benoni, 1950s-1960s”, looks at how private photographic archives can be mobilized as a serious historical source. Feyder argues that working with the Ngilima collection enabled her to write a different kind of history of black communities, one that is focused on small everyday gestures of resilience in the context of apartheid. Her dissertation deals with themes such as leisure and consumption, the making of an urban black youth culture, and the role of house interiors in asserting a respectable and modern identity. She received her PhD degree cum laude from Leiden University in may 2016. She currently lives in Brussels and is co-founder of Critical Narratives, a creative agency that explores how to combine academia with visual modes of dissemination.
 
Interested in purchasing the book? Write a message to sophie@margins.be

Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

© Sophie Feyder

Commonplace: online expo

Suite à la performance Dear Winnie, nous vous présentons l'expo photo COMMONPLACE. COMMONPLACE est une conversation imaginaire entre deux archives sud-africaines de photos de famille très différentes. Découvrez l'expo ici

Les premières archives datent de 1850 et se composent de l’album d’une famille de fermiers blancs qui couvre plusieurs générations (la collection Fyvie-Drummond). Les secondes archives réunissent le travail de deux photographes noirs, Ronald et Thorence Ngilima, père et fils, qui offraient leurs services aux habitants urbains noirs, de couleur et indiens d’une petite ville aux alentours de Johannesburg dans les années 50 et 60.
 
Les personnes sur les photos ne se sont sans doute jamais rencontrées, néanmoins un dialogue créatif s’engage entre les deux collections. Des liens visuels inattendus font surface et font résonner mutuellement les différents modes de vie à différentes époques et dans différents lieux. Cette juxtaposition ne prétend pas transcender le politique mais met en lumière les détails quotidiens insignifiants qui font du politique quelque chose de profondément intime et personnel.
 
Sophie Feyder est née à Bruxelles mais elle a grandi à New York et au Luxembourg. Après un master en sciences politiques à Paris, elle a finalement combiné son intérêt pour la photographie et pour l’histoire africaine dans un mémoire sur la photographie populaire noire à Johannesbourg. Elle a rencontré Farrell Ngilima lors de son premier voyage de travail sur le terrain à Johannesbourg en 2008. Leur collaboration sur la collection photos du grand-père de ce dernier a été une partie importante de ses recherches de doctorat à l’Université de Leyde (Pays-Bas). Sa thèse intitulée ‘Portraits de résilience : contribuer à une histoire socioculturelle d’un site sud-africain noir à l’aide de la collection photographique Ngilima. Benoni, ’50-‘60’, examine comment des archives photographiques privées peuvent être utilisées comme source historique fiable. Feyder argumente que travailler avec la collection Ngilima lui a permis d’aborder d’une autre manière l’historiographie autour des communautés noires : une histoire concentrée sur de petits gestes quotidiens qui témoignent de la résilience dans le contexte de l’apartheid. Sa thèse traite des thèmes comme les loisirs et la consommation, la naissance d’une culture jeune urbaine et le rôle que jouent les intérieurs pour faire valoir une certaine identité respectable et moderne. Elle a obtenu son grade de docteur à l’université de Leyde en 2016, mention distinction. Feyder habite en ce moment à Bruxelles et elle est cofondatrice de Critical Narratives, une agence créative qui recherche comment combiner l’académique avec les moyens de diffusion visuelle.
 
Si vous êtes interessés à achteter une copie du livre, contactez sophie@margins.be

Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité