Prize for best director goes to Naomi Velissariou!

On the 15th of September, the ceremony of thé most important Dutch theatre awards took place in Amsterdam, with a.o. the Louis d’Or for Best Actor and the Theo d’Or for Best Actress. Best Director? Thát award went to the actress and theatre maker Naomi Velissariou for her theatrical music performance Permanent Destruction - The SK Concert.

To say that the jury was raving about it, is an understatement. Their report states the following: 

"Naomi Velissariou is an inspiring example of someone who explores and searches for the boundaries of theatre. The performance ‘Permanent Destruction – The SK Concert’ combines madness and musicality with an alienating sense of beauty. The concept is  tight, clear and elaborated to its utter consequences. The production has its own narrative form and makes a concerted effort to address new audiences. The loose ingredients are layered into an efficient and headstrong narrative. Repertory is entirely bent to the artist’s will. The performance manages to seduce while not shying away from discomfort. The body wants to dance but the mind resists." 

Did you miss Naomi Velissariou’s first performance? Don’t worry, on the 19th of December she will present the second performance of this post-dystopic music theatre trilogy in KVS. Reserve your tickets now and get introduced to the work of this talented theatre maker during Permanent Destruction - The HM Concert.

Le prix de la mise en scène revient à… Naomi Velissariou !

Le 15 septembre dernier, à Amsterdam, avait lieu la remise des plus importants prix néerlandais de théâtre avec, entre autres, le Louis d’or pour le meilleur acteur et le Theo d’or pour la meilleure actrice. Et qui a reçu le prix de la meilleure mise en scène ? Nulle autre que l’actrice et metteuse en scène Naomi Velissariou pour son spectacle musical Permanent Destruction – The SK Concert.

Que le jury fût follement enthousiaste à propos du spectacle est un euphémisme. Voici le rapport :

« Naomi Velissariou est un exemple inspirant de quelqu’un qui explore et recherche ce qu’est ou peut être le théâtre. Le spectacle Permanent Destruction – The SK Concert relie folie et musicalité avec une beauté aliénante. Le concept est rigoureux, épuré, limpide et développé de manière extrêmement conséquente. La production adopte une forme narrative singulière et fait un effort sérieux pour s’adresser à de nouveaux publics. Les ingrédients autonomes s’amoncellent en un récit efficace et transversal. Dans cet exercice, elle marque le répertoire entièrement de son empreinte. Le spectacle séduit, bien qu’il ne recule pas devant l’inconfort. Le corps veut danser, mais la tête résiste. »

Vous avez raté le premier spectacle de Naomi Velissariou ? N'en soyez pas affligé(e), car le 19 décembre prochain, elle présente le deuxième spectacle de cette trilogie musicale dystopique au KVS. Réservez dès à présent vos billets et découvrez cette femme de théâtre très talentueuse lors de Permanent Destruction – The HM Concert