KVS
© Danny Willems

VALENTIJN DHAENENS

Valentijn Dhaenens (°Ghent, 1976) is a theatre and film actor. He graduated from the Antwerp Conservatory in 2000 as a master in the Dramatic Arts under Dora Van der Groen.

He is a co-founder of theatre company SKaGeN and has acted in performances by, amongst others, NTGent, KVS, Kaaitheater and Ontroerend Goed. The wider audience may be more familiar with Dhaenens through his film and television work, including De helaasheid der dingen (Felix Van Groeningen), Stranger in Paradise (Guido Henderikx) and Girl (Lukas Dhont). The films De helaasheid der dingen and Girl received ample international acclaim, including at the Cannes film festival, where Girl was awarded the Camera d’Or. Dhaenens took on the lead role in Dutch documentary fiction film Stranger in Paradise, which was nominated for the European Film Awards, opened the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam in 2017 and took home the IDFA Special Jury Award. The film also received several accolades at international film festivals. Dhaenens’ theatre breakthrough came with BigmoutH, an ode to rhetoric, which was followed by the equally successful monologue SmallWaR. Both productions were written by Dhaenens and toured worldwide.

For KVS, Dhaenens created Domestica and Onbezongen. The English version of the latter premiered at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2018 as Unsung, which won him the Fringe First, one of the most important awards at the festival. 

In 2019 he performed in Knaus with Alexia Leysen and he joined the cast of Vita Siyo Muchezo Ya Watoto, a play by Frédérique Lecomte. Together with Lecomte, Dhaenens visited East Congo, where they created the performance together with local artists.

From 4 September 2020 you can see Dhaenens on our stage in collaboration with Bruno Vanden Broecke for the first time, in the performance Jonathan.

IN THE PRESS

17.09.2017 - Zevende dag - interview 'Stranger in Paradise'
19.10.2017 - BRUZZ - Politieke theatermonoloog 'Onbezongen' in première
19.10.2017 - BRUZZ - Acteur Valentijn Dhaenens wordt politicus in 'Onbezongen'
19.10.2017 - Klara - Pompidou op donderdag 19 oktober
23.08.2018 - De Standaard/ Cultuur - Valentijn Dhaenens wint prijs op Edinburgh Fringe

PHOTOS
(high-res images which you can use free of charge with attribution)

KVS
© Danny Willems

VALENTIJN DHAENENS

Valentijn Dhaenens (°Gand, 1976) est acteur de théâtre et de cinéma. Il a achevé ses études d’art dramatique au Conservatoire d’Anvers en 2000, section Théâtre Dora Van der Groen.

Cofondateur de la compagnie de théâtre SkaGeN, on a également pu le voir, entre autres, dans des spectacles de NTGent, KVS, Kaaitheater et Ontroerend Goed. Le grand public le connaît surtout de ses rôles à la télévision et au cinéma, entre autres, dans De helaasheid der dingen (La merditude des choses – Felix Van Groeningen), Stranger in Paradise (Guido Hendrikx) et Girl (Lukas Dhont). Aussi bien les films De helaasheid der dingen que Girl ont remporté plusieurs récompenses internationales, dont la Caméra d’Or au Festival de Cannes. Dhaenens est le protagoniste de la docufiction néerlandaise Stranger in Paradise (Guido Hendrikx), sélectionnée pour l’European Film Awards et qui a inauguré le Festival international du Documentaire d’Amsterdam en 2017 où il a reçu le Prix spécial du Jury, suivi de plusieurs autres prix internationaux. Sa percée sur les planches remonte au monologue DegrotemonD : une ode à la rhétorique et à l’art du discours. Ensuite, il a enchaîné avec le monologue à succès DeKleineOorloG. Ces deux productions, dont Dhaenens est l’auteur et l’interprète, ont effectué des tournées internationales sous les titres BigmoutH et SmallWaR.

Valentijn Dhaenens a créé Domestica et Onbezongen pour le KVS. La première de la version anglaise d’Onbezongen, Unsung, s’est déroulée au festival Fringe à Édimbourg en août 2018. Il y a remporté un Fringe First – l’un des prix les plus importants de ce festival.

En 2019, on a pu le voir aux côtés d’Alexia Leysen dans le spectacle Knaus et il a participé à la production Vita Siyo Muchezo Ya Watoto de Frédérique Lecomte. Dhaenens a accompagné la metteuse en scène dans l’est du Congo où ils ont créé le spectacle avec la collaboration d’artistes locaux.

À partir du 4 septembre 2020, vous pouvez voir Dhaenens pour la première fois sur les planches avec Bruno Vanden Broecke dans le spectacle Jonathan.

DANS LA PRESSE

17.09.2017 - Zevende dag - interview 'Stranger in Paradise'
19.10.2017 - BRUZZ - Politieke theatermonoloog 'Onbezongen' in première
19.10.2017 - BRUZZ - Acteur Valentijn Dhaenens wordt politicus in 'Onbezongen'
19.10.2017 - Klara - Pompidou op donderdag 19 oktober
23.08.2018 - De Standaard/ Cultuur - Valentijn Dhaenens wint prijs op Edinburgh Fringe

PHOTOS
(des photos en haute résolution que vous pouvez utiliser gracieusement 
à condition de mentionner la source)