KVS

 

Scientists and artists are society's visionaries. KVS and the Vrije Universiteit Brussels (VUB) dreamed up Mindblowers to give those voices and hearts a platform. On 12 October 2023, the seventh edition of Mindblowers took place. An evening consisting of performances that sit at the crossroads of art, culture and reflection. Transdisciplinary artist Roel Heremans was invited to share his personal story and artistic practice. Who will control your thoughts in the future? Put it to the test with the NeuroRight Arcades, from 12 October until 10 November 2023. 

Digital progress is advancing rapidly and further than we could ever have imagined. In the near future, technology will be able to extract information directly from our brains, read our thoughts and feelings, and influence them. This will happen through so-called Neuro-wearables and Brain-Computer Interfaces, neurotechnological tools that directly interact with our brains.

But what if something or someone uses this technology against our will or crosses boundaries with it? As a society, we simply do not yet have an answer to that today, both ethically, legally, and in our interactions with each other. Therefore, researchers from the NeuroRights Initiative (Columbia University) have formulated the "Five NeuroRights" of humanity.

If we can enforce these for governments and companies, we can invoke them to protect our brains.

  1. Mental Privacy: No one or nothing should be able to look into yourhead without your consent.
  2. Personal Identity: No one or nothing should be able to change your self-image without your permission.
  3. Free Will: No one or nothing should be able to influence or restrict your free will.
  4. Equal Access to Mental Augmentation: Everyone potentially has an equal right to equipment that makes us smarter.
  5. Protection against Algorithmic Bias: No one should be discriminated against based on their brain profile.

Transdisciplinary artist Roel Heremans and his team were inspired by the five NeuroRights in creating their artistic installation, The NeuroRight Arcades. Touching is allowed! The art installation is interactive. How does it work? Take a seat at one of the three Arcade game consoles and put on the Brain-Computer Interface headphones. What follows is a guided journey through your own brainwaves. After completing the game, you can download a printout of your brainwaves.

With the NeuroRight Arcades, Roel Heremans aims to make our rights regarding brain technology more tangible and inspire you to a deeper understanding of its importance. And just at the moment when you become aware of your own rights, you may get the strange feeling that the Arcades may have done exactly what they warned you about.

KVS

 

Les scientifiques et les artistes sont les visionnaires de la société. Pour donner un podium à ces voix et à ces batte- ments de cœur, le KVS et la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) ont créé Mindblowers. Le 12 octobre 2023, la septième édition de Mindblowers a eu lieu. L'artiste transdisciplinaire Roel Heremans a été invité à partager son histoire personnelle et sa pratique artistique. Qui contrôlera vos pensées à l'avenir ? Mettez-le à l'épreuve avec ces NeuroRight Arcades.  

Les progrès numériques avancent rapidement, bien au-delà de ce que nous aurions jamais pu imaginer. Dans un avenir proche, la technologie sera capable d'extraire directement des informations de notre cerveau, de lire nos pensées et nos sentiments, et de les influencer. Cela se fera grâce à des dispositifs appelés Neuro-wearables et Interfaces Cerveau-Ordinateur, des outils neurotechnologiques qui interagissent directement avec notre cerveau. 

Mais que se passerait-il si quelque chose ou quelqu'un utilisait cette technologie contre notre volonté ou la dépassait? En tant que société, nous n'avons tout simplement pas encore de réponse à cette question, que se soit d'un point de vue éthique, juridique ou dans nos interactions les uns avec les autres. C'est pourquoi les chercheurs de l'Initiative NeuroRights (Université de Columbia) ont formulé les "Cinq NeuroDroits" de l'humanité. 

Si nous pouvons les imposer aux gouvernements et aux entreprises, nous pouvons les invoquer pour protéger notre cerveau. 

  1. Mental Privacy: Personne ni rien ne devrait pouvoir regarder dans votre tête sans votre consentement. 
  2. Personal Identity: Personne ni rien ne devrait pouvoir changer votre image de vous-même sans votre permission. 
  3. Free Will: Personne ni rien ne devrait pouvoir influencer ou restreindre votre libre arbitre. 
  4. Equal Access to Mental Augmentation: Tout le monde a potentiellement le même droit à l'équipement qui nous rend plus intelligents. 
  5. Protection against Algorithm Bias: Personne ne devrait être discriminé en fonction de son profil cérébral. 

L'artiste transdisciplinaire et son équipe se sont inspirés des cinq NeuroDroits pour créer leur installation artistique, les Arcades NeuroDroits. Le toucher est autorisé! L'installation artistique est interactive. Comment cela fonctionne-t-il? Prenez place à l'une des trois consoles de jeu Arcade et mettez le casque d'interface cerveau-ordinateur. Ce qui suit est un voyage guidé à travers vos propres ondes cérébrales. Après avoir terminé le jeu, vous pouvez télécharger une impression de vos ondes cérébrales. 

Avec les Arcades NeuroDroits. Roel Heremans vise à rendre nos droits en matière technologie cérébrale plus tangibles et à vous inspirer à une compréhension plus profonde de leur importance. Et juste au moment où vous prenez consience de vos propres droits, vous pouvez ressentir l'étrange sensation que les Arcades ont peut-être fait exactement ce qu'ils vous avaient averti. 

Le gameplay des Arcades NeuroDroits est disponible uniquement en anglais.