© Danny Willems

KVS BREAKS OUT II

KVS breaks out again: this time in a hospital, a school and a care home - and on our online platform 247.kvs.be

Corona continues on its rampage. While we await an exciting and rejigged spring season – to be communicated in January – KVS is not sitting idly. We are reinventing our mission, reaching new audiences, and temporarily rethinking our artistic assignment. In short – we’re innovating.

KVS BREAKS OUT for the second time this year. After the first late-summer edition on our back square, we are now breaking into the city, innovating culture and looking for new audiences and partners in the city to collaborate with.

Artistic interventions in the health care, education and elderly care sectors, and online at 247.kvs.be.

UZ Brussel

Now that the nightly applause has died down, we want to continue supporting the frontline healthcare staff and thanking them for their hard work in recent months through artistic interventions. KVS breaks out for the care sector. May the next wave be an artistic one.

From January to April, various artists will provide small artistic moments of pause in the hallways and canteen of UZ Brussel. Artists including Steven De bruyn, Les Mybalés, Junior Akwety, Lisette Ma Neza, Yassin Mrabtifi, Briana Ashley Stuart and Alesandra Seutin will be showing their best work – on a very small scale and fully compliant with safety measures. This way, KVS can offer frontline healthcare workers a varied programme of dance, music, spoken word and theatre.

WZC De Overbron 

Talks of a collaboration are also underway with care home De Overbron in Neder-Over- Heembeek. KVS staff members were asked to help out as volunteers on various wards of the facility. We plan to also bring our artistic creations to the residents in the future.

“It’s a wonderful experience. I am very happy I can do something to help out in the care sector. My respect for their work has only grown. After a day of helping out, I go to bed exhausted by 8pm.”
“It’s a wonderful experience. I am very happy I can do something to help out in the care sector. My respect for their work has only grown. After a day of helping out, I go to bed exhausted by 8pm.”
Head of box office Adila Mezoudji

Don Bosco St-Pieters-Woluwe

The lower years of secondary school TSO Don Bosco in Sint-Pieters-Woluwe haven’t had a Dutch language teacher since September. After an email from director Dirk Kerckhoven to our artistic director Michael De Cock, the two institutes decided to work together. KVS is commissioning a number of artists to get to work with the students, to teach them and share experiences. In a later stage, the pupils will be able to visit KVS.

Dirk Kerckhoven: “It’s tragic that we cannot find teachers for these pupils, these young children, at this age. It’s a growing problem in a Brussels context: finding good teachers. That’s why I rolled up my sleeves and sent Michael an email.”

Michael De Cock: De Cock: “I am incredibly pleased with that brave email. For us it’s a way to share our passion and knowledge, and to create cultural innovation. Especially because artistic classes are more at risk than ever, now that it looks like Aesthetics classes may be removed from the curriculum. May this be a wider signal.

KVS engaged a number of partner organisations and artists to join in this trajectory. Kristien De Coster (Ultima Vez) has agreed to go and teach, and the pupils will also be joining Wim Vandekeybus in a dance initiation class. Gerado Salinas, Joanna Rossi and Lisette Ma Neza will be working with the pupils around identity, home and literature. In a few weeks’ time, the pupils will be able to get to work themselves on the stage of KVS and in the rehearsal rooms of Ultima Vez and KVS.

Theatre at school: Schaduwangsten

City dramaturge Gerardo Salinas is working with Enrique Noviello, Chaib Idrissi and Junior Mthombeni on the project Schaduwangsten (Shadow Fears) – a musical black comedy about a virus that won’t integrate into society and a growing fear within the population. In other words: a testimony to how corona can be a source of inspiration for new creations.

Since many pupils are no longer able to visit theatres on school trips – and those theatres are closed for the time being anyway – we are bringing this performance into schools. Fikry El Azzouzi is writing a text for these two remarkable actors, who previously appeared in L’Homme de la Mancha.

How can we trust each other if the enemy is invisible? Or is none of this as new as we think it is? Have we always been infected with fear and distrust?

KVS 24/7

KVS was among the first institutions in Belgium to fully commit to a digital platform during the first wave of corona infections. It was given the name KVS 24/7. Even though streaming can never replace real togetherness, it’s a way for us to reach our audience, and especially the most vulnerable in our society, during these times – worldwide. We are incredibly proud of the plentiful views and positive reactions the platform has received.

In recent weeks, KVS 24/7 showed off some golden oldies and new creations. Audiences could watch Unsung by Valentijn Dhaenens (1800 views in two weeks) in the context of the American presidential elections, and the newly created controversial film Courage by Dayna Ash as a substitute for our SLOW#05: Queer Courage. December brings the film Here After, which Wim Vandekeybus created for his production Puur, as well as the powerful Malcolm X by Junior Mthombeni, Cesar Janssens and Fikry El Azzouzi.

Many of these performances remain available on demand. You can still watch ICE, Mindblowers 2020, Mrs Dalloway and Just as long as you are there whenever and wherever you want.

WIM VANDEKEYBUS
ONLINE PREMIERE

Wim Vandekeybus was meant to present his latest dance creation at KVS in November 2020. Although the premiere had to be cancelled, we have been working on alternatives behind the scenes. While we await the reopening of the stage curtains, Hands do not touch your precious Me will premiere on screen for the time being. Enjoy the premiere live from your living room on Saturday 16 January at 8pm. The stream will be available for 48 hours. Tickets are €8 and will be available on 247.kvs.be from 15 December.

MORGEN IS EEN ANDER LAND
RADIO TEATRO / AUDIOBOEK

In collaboration with FITAM, the international festival by Santiago A Mil, we are launching the ‘radioteatro’ Mañana es otro pais – a real audiobook, which thousands of children and adults in Chile will listen to. The Spanish version is performed by Chilean actress Maria-José Parga. The Dutch-language version of the audio book, voiced by Dutch star actress Angela Schijf, will be launched soon and is suitable for children from 8 years onwards. The gorgeous sound design was created by sound artist Charo Calvo.

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

© Danny Willems

KVS CHANGE D'AIR II

Le KVS change de nouveau d'air : cette fois dans un hôpital, une école et une maison de retraite. Et sur notre plateforme en ligne 247.kvs.be.

Le coronavirus nous empoisonne encore toujours la vie. Dans l’attente d’un printemps requinqué et captivant – dont nous vous communiquerons le programme en janvier –, le KVS et ses artistes ne restent pas les bras ballants. Nous réinventons notre mission, nous cherchons de nouveaux publics et nous repensons provisoirement notre tâche artistique. Bref, nous innovons.

Pour la seconde fois cette année, le KVS CHANGE D’AIR. Après notre première édition à la fin de l’été sur l’esplanade arrière, nous changeons cette fois d’air en direction de la ville, nous innovons notre offre culturelle et nous partons en quête de nouveaux publics et de nouvelles collaborations avec des partenaires bruxellois.

Interventions artistiques dans le secteur de la santé, de l’enseignement, des seniors et en ligne sur notre plateforme 247.kvs.be.

UZ Brussel

À présent que les applaudissements se sont tus, nous souhaitons mettre du coeur au ventre du personnel soignant à travers des interventions artistiques et ainsi les remercier de leur travail acharné et leur dévouement au cours des mois passés. Cette fois, le KVS change d’air pour les soignants. Puisse la prochaine vague être une vague artistique !

De janvier à avril, plusieurs artistes assureront de petites pauses culturelles dans les couloirs et les réfectoires de l’UZ Brussel. Les artistes Steven De bruyn, Les Mybalés, Junior Akwety, Lisette Ma Neza, Yassin Mrabtifi, Briana Ashley Stuart et Alesandra Seutin entre autres, montrent le meilleur d’eux-mêmes dans des interventions de petite envergure, en observant scrupuleusement toutes les mesures de sécurité sanitaire. Le KVS offre de la sorte de la danse, de la musique, de la poésie et du théâtre au personnel soignant.

De Overbron 

Nous sommes actuellement en pourparlers avec la maison de retraite De Overbron à Neder-Over- Heembeek en vue d’une collaboration. Les membres du personnel du KVS ont été invités à retrousser leurs manches et à donner un coup de main bénévole dans plusieurs départements. Par la suite, nous y présenterons également de brefs spectacles. La responsable de la billetterie, Adila Mezoudji, va chaque semaine y épauler le personnel soignant pour lequel son respect est immense.

« C’est une expérience formidable. Je suis heureuse de pouvoir apporter ma petite pierre à l’édifice des soins. Sincèrement, mon respect pour le personnel n’a fait que s’accroître. Après avoir été prêter main forte une journée, je rentre épuisée et me couche à 20 heures. »
« C’est une expérience formidable. Je suis heureuse de pouvoir apporter ma petite pierre à l’édifice des soins. Sincèrement, mon respect pour le personnel n’a fait que s’accroître. Après avoir été prêter main forte une journée, je rentre épuisée et me couche à 20 heures. »
La responsable de la billetterie Adila Mezoudji

Don Bosco

Depuis le mois de septembre, le premier degré de l’école secondaire technique Don Bosco à Woluwe- Saint-Pierre n’a plus de professeur de néerlandais. Après un courriel de Dirk Kerckhoven à Michael De Cock, les deux institutions ont décidé de conclure un partenariat. Le KVS mobilise quelques artistes qui s’attellent au travail : donner des cours aux élèves et partager des expériences avec eux. Par la suite, les élèves viendront visiter le KVS.

Dirk Kerckhoven: « C’est tragique que nous ne trouvions pas d’enseignants pour des élèves de cet âge – des enfants. Trouver de bons enseignants devient d’ailleurs un problème croissant dans le contexte bruxellois. J’ai donc pris mon courage à deux mains et j’ai envoyé un courriel à Michael De Cock. »

Michael De Cock: « Je suis très heureux d’avoir reçu ce courriel courageux. Pour nous, c’est une façon de partager la passion et la connaissance et de faire de l’innovation culturelle. D’autant plus que les branches artistiques sont sous pression dans l’enseignement depuis que l’esthétique est menacée d’être retirée des objectifs finaux du programme. Que ce soit donc aussi un signal ! »

Le KVS a approché quelques organisations et artistes amis pour participer à ce parcours. Kristien De Coster (Ultima Vez) s’engage à enseigner ainsi qu’à initier les élèves à la danse avec Wim Vandekeybus. Par ailleurs, Gerado Salinas, Joanna Rossi et Lisette Ma Neza vont également travailler avec les élèves autour de l’identité, du chez-soi et de la littérature. D’ici quelques semaines, les élèves découvriront les salles de répétitions du KVS et d’Ultima Vez et monteront eux-mêmes sur les planches du KVS.

Le théâtre à l’école : Schaduwangsten

Le dramaturge urbain Gerardo Salinas élabore avec Enrique Noviello, Chaib Idrissi et Junior Mthombeni le projet Schaduwangsten. Une comédie noire, musicale, à propos d’un virus qui ne veut pas s’intégrer à la société et de la peur croissante qu’il suscite auprès de la population. Ou comment le coronavirus peut stimuler l’inspiration et représenter un terreau fertile pour de nouvelles créations artistiques.

Puisque les élèves ne peuvent souvent plus venir au théâtre et que les salles sont provisoirement fermées, nous allons jouer ce spectacle dans les écoles. Fikry El Azzouzi écrit un texte pour ces deux acteurs exceptionnels qu’on a pu voir dans L’Homme de la Mancha.

Comment se faire confiance alors que l’ennemi est invisible ? Ou n’est-ce pas aussi nouveau que nous le pensons ? Toutes les époques étaient-elles contaminées par la peur et la méfiance ?

KVS 24/7

Le KVS était la première maison en Belgique à miser abondamment sur une nouvelle plateforme numérique dès le premier confinement. Elle répond au nom de KVS 24/7. Même si le streaming, ou diffusion continue, ne remplacera jamais le fait d’assister en personne et en public à un spectacle, c’est néanmoins une manière d’atteindre notre public (partout sur la planète) – certainement les personnes les plus vulnérables de la société. Nous sommes donc très fiers des multiples visionnages et des très nombreuses réactions sur notre plateforme.

Ces dernières semaines, KVS 24/7 a proposé d’anciennes pépites et de nouvelles créations. Ainsi, on a pu y voir Onbezongen de Valentijn Dhaenens (1800 visionnages en deux semaines) à l’occasion des élections présidentielles aux États- Unis et le nouveau film de Dayna Ash – qui suscite la controverse – dans le cadre de SLOW#05: Queer Courage. En décembre, vous pouvez profiter du film Here After que Wim Vandekeybus a réalisé pour son spectacle Puur et du puissant spectacle Malcolm X de Junior Mthombeni, Cesar Janssens et Fikry El Azzouzi.

Bon nombre de ces diffusions restent disponibles à la demande. Ainsi, vous pouvez visionner, quand et comme vous le souhaitez, ICE, Mindblowers 2020, Mrs Dalloway et Just as long as you are there.

WIM VANDEKEYBUS
PREMIÈRE EN LIGNE

En novembre 2020, Wim Vandekeybus devait présenter sa nouvelle création de danse au KVS. La première a dû être annulée, mais cela ne nous a pas empêchés de travailler d’arrache-pied à une alternative derrière nos portes fermées. En attendant que le rideau puisse se lever sur Hands do not touch your precious Me, vous pouvez en voir la première sur écran ! Profitez de la diffusion en direct du spectacle confortablement installé·e dans votre fauteuil le samedi 16 janvier à 20 heures. La diffusion ne restera disponible que 48 heures. Les billets coûtent 8 € et peuvent être achetés à partir du 15 décembre sur 247.kvs.be.

MORGEN IS EEN ANDER LAND
RADIO TEATRO / AUDIOBOEK

Avec le FITAM (le festival international Santiago A Mil), nous lançons aussi le livre audio Mañana es otro pais (demain est un autre pays) qui sera diffusé sous forme d’audiodrame et que des milliers d’enfants, d’adolescents et d’adultes chiliens pourront écouter. La version espagnole est interprétée par l’actrice chilienne Maria-José Parga. La version néerlandophone, avec la voix de l’actrice vedette néerlandaise Angela Schijf, sera bientôt lancée et convient aux enfants à partir de 8 ans. L’artiste acoustique Charo Calvo signe le magnifique paysage sonore.

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies