© Marleen Wynants

Philosophy in Islam?

VUB-Crosstalks i.s.m. KVS
07.06.2019
20:30
  • Fri 07.06.2019
    20:30 - 22:30
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOX
    Past event

The fear of an increasing influence of Islam on notions such as freedom and equality makes more and more people return to so-called ‘own values’. Values that were allegedly created during the European Enlightenment and that are not immediately associated with Islam. But is that true?

 

In his book Open to Reason. Muslim Philosophers in Conversation with the Western Tradition Souleymane Bachir Diagne shows that thinkers such as Avicenna, Al-Ghazali and Ibn Rushd or Averroës pleaded for freedom of thought and research very early in the history of Islam. Today, Diagne believes that the need for philosophical thinking is more topical than ever, and he advocates an open, pluralistic society in which critical thinking and dialogue are stimulated.

 

 

In response, Crosstalks asked four critical thinkers to delve into the history of philosophy in Islam, in interaction with the current and future challenges of a world that is constantly in motion. On June 7, Ted Bwatu, Mohamed Barrie, Aminata Ndow and Sukina Douglas will have a conversation with Souleymane Bachir Diagne on this subject.

 

VUB-Crosstalks in collaboration with KVS. This event is part of the VUB-chair History and Philosophy of Sciences

 

 

 

PROGRAMME
20:30 Intro by Mohamed Barrie
20:40 Spoken word by Sukina Douglas
20:50 Presentation by Souleymane Bachir Diagne
21:05 Discussion with Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Ted Bwatu, Mohamed Barrie, Aminata Ndow and Sukina Douglas, followed by Q&A
22:00 Spoken word by Sukina Douglas

 

Is part of the parcours:
> English please

Souleymane Bachir Diagne is a professor at Columbia University in the departments French and Philosophy. He is also director of the Institute of African Studies. His areas of research include History of Philosophy, History of Logic and Mathematics, Islamic Philosophy, and African Philosophy and Literature. His latest publications include: The Ink of the Scholars. Reflections on Philosophy in Africa (Codesria, 2016) and Open to Reason. Muslim philosophers in conversation with Western tradition (Columbia University Press, 2018)

 

Sukina Douglas, together with Muneera Rashida, is part of the British spoken word duo Poetic Pilgrimage and hip hop collective Nana. She tours worldwide and has led poetry workshops in countries including the United Kingdom, the United States, South Africa, Sweden, Morocco and Belgium. Her goal is to inspire people through the power of words. She is an associate artist of KVS and is currently writing her first theater play entitled Afropean//Human Being, which will premiere in KVS in February 2020. A first public try-out of this work in progress is organized on June 14-15, 2019.

 

 

Ted Bwatu is a financial consultant. He is interested in the North-South problem and the socio-economic impact of increasing inequality. He is currently writing his first novel, an allegorical epic with a view of contemporary society from the perspective of African and Eastern philosophies.

 

 

Mohamed Barrie and Aminata Ndow are two students from Antwerp. In 2017 they founded the student association AYO, together with Emmanuel Iyamu. With AYO they want to increase the self-awareness of Afro-Belgian students, among other things. Last year they organised the very first edition of Black History Month in Belgium, and they hope that this year again, March will be marked by Black History Month, and that this will further strengthen the voice of the African diaspora in Belgium.

 

© Marleen Wynants

Check out our themes

© Marleen Wynants
ven. 07.06.2019 20:30 - 22:30

La philosophie en islam?

VUB-Crosstalks i.s.m. KVS
07.06.2019
20:30 - 22:30
  • ven. 07.06.2019
    20:30 - 22:30
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BOX

La crainte d’une influence croissante de l’islam sur des notions telles que la liberté et l’égalité oblige de plus en plus de groupes à revenir à ce que l’on appelle des « valeurs propres ». Des valeurs qui auraient été établies pendant les Lumières européennes et que les gens n’associent pas immédiatement à l’Islam. Mais est-ce correct ?

Dans son livre Comment philosopher dans l’islam ? Souleymane Bachir Diagne montre que des penseurs tels qu’Avicenna, Abou Hamid Al-Ghazali et Ibn Rushd ou Averroës ont défendu très tôt dans l’histoire de l’islam la liberté de pensée et de recherche. Aujourd’hui, la nécessité d’une pensée philosophique est plus que jamais d’actualité selon Diagne et il plaide pour une société ouverte et pluraliste, dans laquelle la pensée critique et le dialogue sont encouragés.

En réponse à ceci, Crosstalks a demandé à quatre penseurs critiques de se plonger dans l’histoire de la philosophie en Islam, en interaction avec les défis actuels et futurs d’un monde en perpétuel mouvement. Le 7 juin, Ted Bwatu, Mohamed Barrie, Aminata Ndow et Sukina Douglas engageront un dialogue avec Souleymane Bachir Diagne.

VUB-Crosstalks en collaboration avec KVS. Cet événement fait partie de la chaire History and Philosophy of Sciences (VUB)

PROGRAMME
20:30 Introduction par Mohamed Barrie
20:40 Spoken word par Sukina Douglas
20:50 Présentation par Souleymane Bachir Diagne
21:05 Discussion avec Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Ted Bwatu, Mohamed Barrie, Aminata Ndow et Sukina Douglas, suivi par un Q&A
22:00 Spoken word par Sukina Douglas

Fait partie du parcours :
English please

Souleymane Bachir Diagne est professeur de français et de philosophie à l’Université de Columbia. Il est également directeur de l’Institut d'études africaines. Il est spécialisé en histoire de la philosophie, histoire de la logique et mathématique, la philosophie islamique, et la philosophie et littérature africaines. Selon Jeune Afrique, il est l’un des penseurs africains les plus influents de notre temps. Il est l’auteur, entre autres, de L'encre des savants : Réflexions sur la philosophie en Afrique (Présence Africaine, 2015) et Comment philosopher en islam ? (Éditions Philippe Rey, 2015).

Ensemble avec Muneera Rashida, Sukina Douglas fait partie du duo de hip-hop Poetic Pilgrimage et du collectif de spoken word Nana. Elle parcourt la planète pour animer des ateliers de poésie : au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis, en Afrique du Sud, en Suède, au Maroc, en Belgique, etc. Son objectif : inspirer les gens par le pouvoir des mots. Artiste associée du KVS, elle écrit actuellement sa première pièce de théâtre intitulée Afropean // Human Being, qui sera créée au KVS en février 2020. Un premier essai public de cette œuvre en cours est organisé les 14 et 15 juin, 2019.

Ted Bwatu est consultant financier. Il s’intéresse au problème Nord-Sud et à l'impact socio-économique de l’accroissement des inégalités. Il écrit actuellement son premier roman, une épopée allégorique qui aborde la société contemporaine sous l’angle des philosophies africaines et orientales.

Mohamed Barrie et Aminata Ndow sont deux étudiants anversois. Mohamed est actif dans la vie associative depuis des années. En 2017, il fonde avec Aminata et Emmanuel Iyamu l'association étudiante AYO, avec laquelle il souhaite, entre autres, renforcer la conscience de soi des étudiants afro-belges. En collaboration avec AYO, ils ont organisé la toute première édition du Mois de l'histoire des Noirs en Belgique l'année dernière. Cette année encore, Aminata et Mohamed espèrent que le mois de mars sera marqué par le BHM et que cela renforcera la voix de la diaspora africaine en Belgique.

© Marleen Wynants

Consultez nos parcours