© Tom Bruelemans
Wed 21.03.2018 18:00

Rise Up: Poetic Memorial 2018

Sukina Douglas / KVS
21.03.2018
18:00
  • 21.03.2018
    18:00
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BRAZZA

Rise Up is an interactive poetry project that takes the anniversary of the Brussels attacks to put a wide range of experiences into words, to share and to heal. After the ‘knockdown’ and the ‘lockdown’ that Brussels faced, Rise Up is driven by the resilience of its inhabitants. It is also an occasion to reflect together on the shifts in society and to help turn them in a certain direction. Urban dramaturgy founded on poetry, so to speak. On the symbolic date of 22 March, the poems created in the workshop will be shared as memorials in and with the city. On the evening before – 21 March – you can come and hear what was written at the KVS during a Poetic Memorial for a limited audience.

Poetry has the capacity to evoke the inexpressible. What does it mean to feel at home somewhere – or not to feel at home anywhere? What is the impact of terrorist attacks on a life, and on a society? The poet and performer Sukina Douglas (Poetic Pilgrimage, Malcolm X) went out into the city with these questions. On the basis of poetry she enters into dialogue with Brussels people of the most varied backgrounds. After a series of encounters and preliminary workshops in various districts, organisations and clubs, she will bring together participants of all types for a weekendlong multilingual poetry workshop. People who share the same city, but rarely come into contact with each other.

 

On the symbolic date of 22 march, the poems produced in the workshop will be shared in and with the city as memorials. On the eve of the occasion – 21 march at 6pm – you can come and listen to the poetry in the intimate setting of the Brazza Bar at KVS. It’s free, but booking is recommended.

Is part of the parcours:
KVS creation

Credits

WORKSHOPS & PROJECTONTWIKKELING / ATELIERS & DÉVELOPPEMENT DU PROJET / WORKSHOPS & PROJECT DEVELOPMENT Sukina Douglas CONCEPT & DRAMATURGIE/ CONCEPT & DRAMATURGY Kristin Rogghe CULTURELE BEMIDDELING / MÉDIATION CULTURELLE / CULTURAL MEDIATION Delphine Somers & Hajar Ibnouthen ASSISTENT PRODUCTIE / ASSISTANT PRODUCTION Tara Claeys MET / AVEC / WITH Sukina Douglas, Priscilla Adede-Helledy, Hüsnü Can, Sayira Maruf, Kurt Snoeckx, Manuel Pueyo, Jacob Boorsma, Cendre Struye, Anna Kamniska, Patrick Lens, Fanny Brouyaux, Awoulath Alougbin, Nejib Murad, Camille Ronti, Robert Thomas, Marie Blanco, El Bekkaye, Abu Jabbiee,Maimouna Bah, David Trembla, Martha Vandermeulen, Joy Slam, Mohamed Brarrie, Pitcho Womba Konga, Saidou Ly, Saïda Manai, Ifrah Yusuf Magan, Jérémie Richir Aka Rimakay, Bouchra Lamsyeh, Baminla, Bart, Louise, Mohamed, Roos, Saïda Abbassi, Hayat El Issaoui, Aicha Ech Achanti, Fatna Benllafki, Rachida Bouchannaoui, Jamila Abdellaoui, Rasmia Zaaza, Khadija Ahros, Christa Ndikumana, Chloé Christians, Chanel Frederix, Kim Lien Charuhas, Marine Teixeira, Perinne Tshiamanga, Manon Dellea, Imane Mesbahi, Stella Marie Nizigire, Marine Hamzi, Shaka Jean-David, Adrienne Kamgu Nzentchep, Jad Bouzi, Salma Allam, Annelies Lansoght PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTIONKVS IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Slameke, Globe Aroma, Pigment, Ruach, Kaleidoscoop (Vaartkapoen), Het Anker, Tropicana (Vrienden van Brussel), Kuumba, Next Generation Please (Bozar), K.A. Etterbeek, JH Chicago, Imelda …

Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

© Tom Bruelemans
mer. 21.03.2018 18:00

Rise Up: Poetic Memorial 2018

Sukina Douglas / KVS
21.03.2018
18:00
  • 21.03.2018
    18:00
    KVS, Brussel
    KVS BRAZZA

Rise Up est un projet interactif autour de la poésie qui se saisit de l’anniversaire des attentats de Bruxelles pour mettre en mots des expériences divergentes, pour les partager et pour tenter d’en guérir. Après le knock-down et le lock-down qu’a connus la ville, Rise Up est porté par la résilience des Bruxellois. C’est aussi l’occasion de réfléchir aux changements observés dans la société et de contribuer à déterminer leur orientation. De la dramaturgie urbaine à la faveur de poésie. À la date symbolique du 22 mars, les poèmes créés lors de l’atelier feront office de mémorial et seront partagés dans et avec la ville. La veille, le 21 mars, vous pouvez venir écouter les textes au KVS lors d’un Poetic Memorial pour un public restreint.

La poésie peut évoquer l’indicible. Que signifie se sentir chez soi quelque part – ou nulle part ? Quel est l’impact d’attentats terroristes sur une vie, sur une société ? Avec ces questions, la poétesse et performeuse Sukina Douglas (Poetic Pilgrimage, Malcolm X) part à la rencontre de la ville. Par le biais de la poésie, elle entame le dialogue avec des Bruxellois de tous horizons. Après un parcours de rencontres et d’ateliers préliminaires dans divers quartiers, organisations et associations, elle réunit un week-end durant des participants de tous bords pour un atelier de poésie plurilingue. Des personnes qui vivent dans la même ville, mais ne se rencontrent quasi jamais.

 

À la date symbolique du 22 mars, les poésies créées lors de l’atelier feront office de mémorial et seront partagées dans et avec la ville. La veille, le 21 mars à 18:00, vous pouvez venir écouter les textes au KVS dans le cadre intime du Brazza-bar. Gratuit, mais il est recommandé de réserver !

Fait partie du parcours :
KVS creation

Crédits

WORKSHOPS & PROJECTONTWIKKELING / ATELIERS & DÉVELOPPEMENT DU PROJET / WORKSHOPS & PROJECT DEVELOPMENT Sukina Douglas CONCEPT & DRAMATURGIE/ CONCEPT & DRAMATURGY Kristin Rogghe CULTURELE BEMIDDELING / MÉDIATION CULTURELLE / CULTURAL MEDIATION Delphine Somers & Hajar Ibnouthen ASSISTENT PRODUCTIE / ASSISTANT PRODUCTION Tara Claeys MET / AVEC / WITH Sukina Douglas, Priscilla Adede-Helledy, Hüsnü Can, Sayira Maruf, Kurt Snoeckx, Manuel Pueyo, Jacob Boorsma, Cendre Struye, Anna Kamniska, Patrick Lens, Fanny Brouyaux, Awoulath Alougbin, Nejib Murad, Camille Ronti, Robert Thomas, Marie Blanco, El Bekkaye, Abu Jabbiee,Maimouna Bah, David Trembla, Martha Vandermeulen, Joy Slam, Mohamed Brarrie, Pitcho Womba Konga, Saidou Ly, Saïda Manai, Ifrah Yusuf Magan, Jérémie Richir Aka Rimakay, Bouchra Lamsyeh, Baminla, Bart, Louise, Mohamed, Roos, Saïda Abbassi, Hayat El Issaoui, Aicha Ech Achanti, Fatna Benllafki, Rachida Bouchannaoui, Jamila Abdellaoui, Rasmia Zaaza, Khadija Ahros, Christa Ndikumana, Chloé Christians, Chanel Frederix, Kim Lien Charuhas, Marine Teixeira, Perinne Tshiamanga, Manon Dellea, Imane Mesbahi, Stella Marie Nizigire, Marine Hamzi, Shaka Jean-David, Adrienne Kamgu Nzentchep, Jad Bouzi, Salma Allam, Annelies Lansoght PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTIONKVS IN SAMENWERKING MET / EN COLLABORATION AVEC / IN COLLABORATION WITH Slameke, Globe Aroma, Pigment, Ruach, Kaleidoscoop (Vaartkapoen), Het Anker, Tropicana (Vrienden van Brussel), Kuumba, Next Generation Please (Bozar), K.A. Etterbeek, JH Chicago, Imelda …

Cookies
Le KVS utilise des cookies. Parce que nous voulons garantir votre confidentialité et améliorer la convivialité de votre visite sur notre site web. Nous pensons qu'il est important que vous sachiez comment et pourquoi nous l'utilisons.
Lire notre politique de confidentialité