© Joe Murray
Tue 21.04.2020 - Fri 30.04.2021

Slap and Tickle

Liz Aggiss
21.04.2020
-
30.04.2021

Maverick, anarchic, indomitable and fearless: all words that have been used to describe performance artist Liz Aggiss. Born in an era when children were seen and not heard, Aggiss never had a clue what she wanted to do. She just knew she wanted to be seen and heard.

Slap and Tickle is an award-winning, dark and ribald physical commentary on cultural mores and sexual taboos: a disorientating display of interpretations and contradictions about women, girls, mothers, bitches and senior citizens. Beating a path through the personal and historical, Aggiss creates a feminist soup that lurches from spoken word to expressionist movement, from music hall to radio nostalgia, from costume change to prop manipulation. It is push and pull, punishment and reward, slap and tickle... all the way home.

Is part of the parcours:
English please

Credits

THEATERMAKER / CRÉATRICE DE THÉÂTRE / THEATRE MAKER Liz Aggiss VERTALING / TRADUCTION / TRANSLATION Steven Tallon (NL), Anne Vanderschueren (FR) BOVENTITELING / SURTITRAGE / SURTITLING Inge Floré MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Arts Council England, The British Council, Dance4, South East Dance, University Of Bath
Cookies
KVS uses cookies. Because we want to guarantee your privacy and improve the usability of your visit to our websites. We think it is important that you know how and why we use it.
Read our privacy statement

KVS
© Joe Murray

Slap and Tickle

Liz Aggiss
mar. 21.04.2020 - ven. 30.04.2021
21.04.2020
-
30.04.2021
  • 21.04.2020
    20:30 - 21:30
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé
  • 30.04.2021
    20:30 - 21:30
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOX
    Évenement passé

Non-conformiste, anarchiste, indomptable et intrépide : des qualificatifs qui caractérisent parfaitement Liz Aggiss. Née à une époque où les enfants étaient vus, mais pas entendus, Liz Aggiss a eu du mal à  décider ce qu'elle voulait faire ou devenir. Elle savait juste qu'elle voulait être vue et entendue.

Slap and Tickle est une réplique - audacieuse, sombre et prisée - aux moeurs culturelles et aux tabous sexuels. Une présentation déconcertante d'interprétations et de contradictions à propos de femmes, de filles, de mères, de salopes et dames âgées. Se frayant un chemin entre l'intime et l'historique, Liz Aggiss crée une bouillie féministe qui essaime du spoken word au mouvement expressionniste, du music-hall à  Radio Nostalgie, de changement de costumes à la manipulation d'accessoires. Il s'agit d'un jeu de qui tire et qui pousse, qui frappe et qui soulage, qui gifle et qui chatouille... jusqu'à la fin douce-amère.

Fait partie de la sélection :
English please

Crédits

THEATERMAKER / CRÉATRICE DE THÉÂTRE / THEATRE MAKER Liz Aggiss VERTALING / TRADUCTION / TRANSLATION Steven Tallon (NL), Anne Vanderschueren (FR) BOVENTITELING / SURTITRAGE / SURTITLING Inge Floré MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Arts Council England, The British Council, Dance4, South East Dance, University Of Bath