KVS
© Michiel Devijver

Killjoy Quiz

Luanda Casella / NTGent
Thu 22.09.2022 - Fri 23.09.2022
22.09.2022
-
23.09.2022
  • 22.09.2022
    20:00 - 21:40
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    be patient please
  • 23.09.2022
    20:00 - 21:40
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    be patient please

Luanda Casella gradually replaces the cosy predictability of a television quiz with a much spicier thought exercise.

A killjoy? That’s someone who deliberately spoils the fun for others. In Killjoy Quiz, Luanda Casella makes use of Sara Ahmed’s character of the spoilsport: someone who is ready to suppress any form of violence, even when it’s uncomfortable.  

Participants answer questions. Points are given. But what does it mean to win a quiz? You might know a lot about the world, but that doesn’t mean you know the complexity behind the facts. Killjoy Quiz debunks the idea that you can score points for knowledge in a game – the ultimate goal: learning to have a dialogue.

Which dominant discourse do we collectively help maintain, deliberately or subconsciously? How does language sway our thinking – collectively and individually – when it comes to migration, economy, gender equality, ecology? Words can be powerful, and eloquence is a weapon. But the sly multiple-choice questions in this production mercilessly expose a number of biases.

Is part of the selection:
English please

Extra

Killjoy Quiz comes to KVS as part of a brand-new Brussels interdisciplinary feminist festival FAME (Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment). This international arts festival will take place in Brussels from 19 to 24 September 2022 and will question how a dialogue between arts, culture and feminism can be constructed. A host of (inter)national artists ponder this question and propose a wide range of answers. Keep an eye out for more news!

Luanda Casella is a Brazilian writer and performer trying to rescue the art of storytelling from its mediatised doomed destiny. By examining rhetorical concepts through humor, her work exposes language constructions, exploring unreliable narration in fiction and in everyday communicative processes.

Her work has been shown in venues and festivals around the world such as Spielart (Munich), Edinburg International Festival, Het TheaterFestival (Gent), Kaserne (Basel). With her last solo piece Short of Lying she won the Sabam writing prize at Theater aan Zee (TAZ Oostende).

Credits

CONCEPT, REGIE & TEKST / CONCEPT, MISE EN SCÈNE & TEXTE / CONCEPT, DIRECTION & TEXT Luanda Casella SPEL / JEU / PERFORMANCE Yolanda Mpelé, Lindah Nyirenda ZANG / CHANT / SINGING Maïmouna Rachels, Helena Casella, Timia Van Der Linden BEGELEIDING & CHOREOGRAFIE / ACCOMPAGNEMENT & CHORÉGRAPHIE / COACHING & CHOREOGRAPHY Lucius Romeo-Fromm DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Sébastien Hendrickx LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Dennis Diels SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Felix Fasolt COMPOSITIE / COMPOSITION Pablo Casella GRAFISCHE VORMGEVING & TYPESETTING PROJECTIES / GRAPHISME & PROJECTIONS DE LA COMPOSITION / GRAPHIC DESIGN & TYPESETTING PROJECTIONS Kahil Janssens PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTEUR·EUSE DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Greet Prové TECHNISCHE PRODUCTIE / COORDINATION PRODUCTION / TECHNICAL PRODUCTION Pieter Nys TECHNIEK / TECHNIQUE Jan Van Ooteghem UITVOEREND DECOR / EXÉCUTION DÉCOR / SET EXECUTION Decoratelier NTGent, Felix Fasolt MET DANK AAN / REMERCIEMENTS À / THANKS TO Dan Vandevoorde / X-Treme Creations KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Kostuumatelier Ntgent PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Ntgent COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Workspacebrussels, De Grote Post Oostende MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF The Belgian Tax Shelter, De Vlaamse Overheid

KVS
© Michiel Devijver

Killjoy Quiz

Luanda Casella / NTGent
jeu. 22.09.2022 - ven. 23.09.2022
22.09.2022
-
23.09.2022
  • 22.09.2022
    20:00 - 21:40
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    patientez svp
  • 23.09.2022
    20:00 - 21:40
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    patientez svp

Chez Luanda Casella, la prévisibilité conviviale d’un quiz télévisé cède graduellement la place à un exercice de réflexion bien plus corsé.

Un rabat-joie (killjoy) est quelqu’un qui gâche intentionnellement le plaisir des autres. Dans Killjoy Quiz, Luanda Casella se sert du personnage de rabat-joie féministe conceptualisé par Sara Ahmed : une personne prête à étouffer dans l’œuf toute forme de violence même lorsque cet exercice est inconfortable.

Les participants répondent à des questions. Des points sont distribués. Mais que signifie gagner un quiz ? On peut savoir beaucoup sur le monde, mais pour autant cela ne veut pas dire qu’on connaisse la complexité derrière les faits. Killjoy Quiz ébranle l’idée que l’on puisse marquer des points pour du savoir en jouant un jeu dont le but ultime est d’apprendre à engager le dialogue.

Quel discours dominant entretenons-nous, consciemment ou inconsciemment ? Comment le langage séduit-il notre réflexion – collective et individuelle – sur la migration, l’économie, l’égalité des genres, l’écologie ? Les mots sont parfois puissants et la rhétorique est une arme. Mais les sournoises questions à choix multiples de cette production dévoilent férocement un certain nombre de préjugés.

Fait partie de la sélection :
English please

Extra

Killjoy Quiz est à l’affiche du KVS dans le cadre d’un tout nouveau festival bruxellois féministe et interdisciplinaire FAME (Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment). Ce festival international des arts se tiendra à Bruxelles du 19 au 24 septembre 2022 et soulèvera la question de savoir comment établir un dialogue entre les arts, la culture et le féminisme. Un éventail d’artistes nationaux et internationaux se pencheront sur cette question et offriront un large spectre de réponses. Tenez bien notre site à l’œil pour plus d’informations à ce sujet !

Luanda Casella est une autrice et performeuse brésilienne. Elle tente de sauver l’art de la mise en récit de la médiatisation et de la damnation. En explorant avec humour des concepts rhétoriques, son œuvre dévoile des constructions linguistiques révélatrices. Elle examine des récits peu fiables dans les fictions et les flux de communication qu’on nous déverse au quotidien.
 
Casella se produit dans des théâtres et des festivals du monde entier, comme Spielart (Munich), Edinburg International Festival, le TheaterFestival (Gand) et Kaserne (Bâle). Son récent spectacle solo Short of Lying, qu’on a pu voir au KVS, lui a valu le prix Sabam de l’écriture dramatique au festival Theater aan Zee (Ostende).

Crédits

CONCEPT, REGIE & TEKST / CONCEPT, MISE EN SCÈNE & TEXTE / CONCEPT, DIRECTION & TEXT Luanda Casella SPEL / JEU / PERFORMANCE Yolanda Mpelé, Lindah Nyirenda ZANG / CHANT / SINGING Maïmouna Rachels, Helena Casella, Timia Van Der Linden BEGELEIDING & CHOREOGRAFIE / ACCOMPAGNEMENT & CHORÉGRAPHIE / COACHING & CHOREOGRAPHY Lucius Romeo-Fromm DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Sébastien Hendrickx LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Dennis Diels SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Felix Fasolt COMPOSITIE / COMPOSITION Pablo Casella GRAFISCHE VORMGEVING & TYPESETTING PROJECTIES / GRAPHISME & PROJECTIONS DE LA COMPOSITION / GRAPHIC DESIGN & TYPESETTING PROJECTIONS Kahil Janssens PRODUCTIELEIDING / DIRECTEUR·EUSE DE PRODUCTION / PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Greet Prové TECHNISCHE PRODUCTIE / COORDINATION PRODUCTION / TECHNICAL PRODUCTION Pieter Nys TECHNIEK / TECHNIQUE Jan Van Ooteghem UITVOEREND DECOR / EXÉCUTION DÉCOR / SET EXECUTION Decoratelier NTGent, Felix Fasolt MET DANK AAN / REMERCIEMENTS À / THANKS TO Dan Vandevoorde / X-Treme Creations KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Kostuumatelier Ntgent PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Ntgent COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Workspacebrussels, De Grote Post Oostende MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF The Belgian Tax Shelter, De Vlaamse Overheid