KVS
© Kurt Van der Elst

Vijand van het volk

Olympique Dramatique / Toneelhuis
Fri 02.12.2022 - Sun 04.12.2022
02.12.2022
-
04.12.2022
  • 02.12.2022
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    Past event
  • 03.12.2022
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    Past event
  • 04.12.2022
    15:00 - 17:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
    Past event

A repertory play could not be more topical: the environmental scandals close to home, the manipulative mechanisms of political decision-making, the struggles of whistle-blowers... Ibsen’s An Enemy of the People analyses it all. But his wry comedy also shows the personal consequences of fighting for one's ideals

Doctor Thomas Stockman discovers that the water at the spa in his town is extremely polluted and is causing the visitors to become deathly ill. In the interest of public health, he wants to publicize his findings. He asks the local authorities to intervene. His brother, Peter Stockman, is the mayor of the town. He has his reservations. Publicizing the news will have incalculable economic consequences for the town. What’s more, the townspeople will be left footing the bill.

The clash between a fiery idealist and a pragmatic politician turns into a municipal war between the rightness of one person and the ‘common sense’ of the masses. Science versus politics. What is the value of truth? And how far do you go in support of your convictions? Simmering beneath this conflict over the common good is the competition and personal strife between two brothers.

Vijand van het volk (An Enemy of the People, Henrik Ibsen, 1882) describes both a social crisis and a family crisis. This timeless, wry comedy evokes burningly topical echoes of recent environmental scandals close to home and whistle-blower affairs. It mercilessly shows the manipulative mechanisms of behind-the-scenes decision-making, and the scheming in the corridors. 

True to form, Olympique Dramatique has assembled a sophisticated and strong cast of performers, with an eye for new talent.

'This show has been chronically relevant for 140 years.'

Stijn Van Opstal

Credits

TEKST (NAAR DIVERSE BRONNEN) / TEXTE (D’APRÈS DIVERSES SOURCES) / TEXT (AFTER VARIOUS SOURCES) Henrik Ibsen BEWERKING / ADAPTATION / ADAPTATION Tom Dewispelaere, Joeri Happel, Lucie Plasschaert VAN & MET / DE & AVEC / BY & WITH Sanne Samina Hanssen, Joeri Happel, Han Kerckhoffs, Lucie Plasschaert, Nico Sturm, Iris Van Cauwenbergh, Stijn Van Opstal / Jan Bijvoet / Koen De Sutter GELUIDSONTWERP, ZANGCOACH / CONCEPTION SONORE, COACH VOCAL / SOUND DESIGN, VOCAL COACH Wouter Deltour SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Stef Stessel LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Frank Hardy KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Inge Büsscher ASSISTENT KOSTUUMONTWERP / ASSISTANT CONCEPTION COSTUMES / ASSISTANT COSTUME DESIGN Louis Verlinde PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Toneelhuis, Olympique Dramatique MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF De Tax Shelter Van De Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter

KVS
© Kurt Van der Elst

Vijand van het volk

Olympique Dramatique / Toneelhuis
ven. 02.12.2022 - dim. 04.12.2022
02.12.2022
-
04.12.2022
  • 02.12.2022
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
  • 03.12.2022
    20:00 - 22:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL
  • 04.12.2022
    15:00 - 17:00
    KVS, Brussels
    KVS BOL

Un chef d'oeuvre qui ne pourrait être plus actuel : les scandales environnementaux proches de chez nous, les mécanismes de manipulation des décisions politiques, le combat des lanceurs d'alerte... tout cela est magistralement décortiqué par Ibsen dans Un ennemi du peuple. Mais sa comédie grinçante montre aussi les conséquences pour la vie privée de celui qui va jusqu'au bout pour ses idéaux.

Le docteur Thomas Stockman découvre que l’eau de la station thermale de sa ville est fortement polluée et contamine mortellement les curistes. Dans l’intérêt de la santé publique, il veut publier ses constatations et se tourne vers la politique locale pour intervenir. Son frère, Peter Stockman, qui est le maire de la ville, émet des réserves. Rendre la nouvelle publique aurait des conséquences économiques insondables pour la ville. Pire encore, ce seront les citoyens qui en paieront les pots cassés.

L’affrontement entre un idéaliste militant et un politicien pragmatique aboutit à une guerre municipale entre la bonne cause de l’un et le bon sens de la foule. La science opposée à la politique. Quelle est donc la valeur de la vérité ? Jusqu’où aller pour ses convictions ? Derrière ce conflit pour l’intérêt général se jouent une compétition et une lutte personnelle entre deux frères.

Vijand van het volk / Ennemi du Peuple (Henrik Ibsen, 1882) dépeint une crise sociale et familiale. Cette comédie âpre et intemporelle fait écho à de récents scandales environnementaux et autres affaires de lancement d’alerte très proches de nous. Elle montre sans merci les rouages de la manipulation du processus de décision dans les coulisses et les intrigues de couloirs.

Olympique Dramatique réunit pour ce classique une distribution comprenant trois générations.

"Ce spectacle a été chroniquement pertinent pendant 140 ans."

Stijn Van Opstal

Crédits

TEKST (NAAR DIVERSE BRONNEN) / TEXTE (D’APRÈS DIVERSES SOURCES) / TEXT (AFTER VARIOUS SOURCES) Henrik Ibsen BEWERKING / ADAPTATION / ADAPTATION Tom Dewispelaere, Joeri Happel, Lucie Plasschaert VAN & MET / DE & AVEC / BY & WITH Sanne Samina Hanssen, Joeri Happel, Han Kerckhoffs, Lucie Plasschaert, Nico Sturm, Iris Van Cauwenbergh, Stijn Van Opstal / Jan Bijvoet / Koen De Sutter GELUIDSONTWERP, ZANGCOACH / CONCEPTION SONORE, COACH VOCAL / SOUND DESIGN, VOCAL COACH Wouter Deltour SCENOGRAFIE / SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY Stef Stessel LICHTONTWERP / CONCEPTION LUMIÈRE / LIGHTING DESIGN Frank Hardy KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Inge Büsscher ASSISTENT KOSTUUMONTWERP / ASSISTANT CONCEPTION COSTUMES / ASSISTANT COSTUME DESIGN Louis Verlinde PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Toneelhuis, Olympique Dramatique MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF De Tax Shelter Van De Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter