KVS
© Tina Herbots

Mount Average

Julian Hetzel / CAMPO
Fri 31.03.2023 - Sat 01.04.2023
31.03.2023
-
01.04.2023

Welcome to Mount Average. In this performative tour, Julian Hetzel takes us on a factory visit that confronts us with our own ideologies. The theatre creator grinds statues of rulers, dictators and tyrants into pulp in order to give them a new, meaningful purpose. 

Mount Average questions acquired rights, traditions, privileges and wealth, ideologies and totalitarian ideas – aspects present in every (post-colonial) society. In this industrial environment, the clash between a static past and a fluid present creates a productive form of friction that stirs up the dust. With KVS face Pitcho Womba Konga.

Julian Hetzel’s performances are attempts to unravel the world, while also trying to offer strategies for transforming it. His work gives us speculative methods that teach us to deal with both the traumas of the past and the challenges of the present. The future is in our hands. 

Extra

Mount Average is a performative track, where 4 people can enter every time slot (each 10 minutes apart). The performance is mainly spoken in English and Dutch. On Saturday 1 April between 5 & 7 pm you have the opportunity to see the French performance.

Credits

CONCEPT Julian Hetzel MET / AVEC / WITH Kristien De Proost / Lisi Estaras, Pitcho Womba Konga & Jana De Kockere / Simon Baetens DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Miguel Angel Melgares ARTISTIEK ADVIES / CONSEIL ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ADVICE Sodja Lotker PRODUCTIELEIDING, DECOR / DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION, DÉCOR Wim Clapdorp PRODUCTIE ASSISTENT / PRODUCTION ASSISTENT Valentine Galeyn SCENOGRAFIE ASSISTENT / ASSISTENT SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY ASSISTENT Pleun Verhees KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Andrea Kränzlin TECHNIEK / TECHNIQUE Piet Depoortere, Jonas Lambrigts, Jannes Dierynck & Anne Meeussen PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Ism & Heit Utrecht (NL) I.S.M. Campo Gent (BE) COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Frascati Producties (Amsterdam), Standplaats MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Fonds Podiumkunsten Nl, Fonds 21, Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, We Are Public, Kickstart Cultuurfonds, Vlaamse Gemeenschap & Stad Gent

KVS
© Tina Herbots

Mount Average

Julian Hetzel / CAMPO
ven. 31.03.2023 - sam. 01.04.2023
31.03.2023
-
01.04.2023

Bienvenue à Mount Average. Au cours de ce parcours performatif, Julian Hetzel nous emmène visiter une fabrique où nous faisons face à nos propres idéologies. Cette fois, l’homme de théâtre broie en poudre des statues de potentats, de dictateurs, de tyrans afin de leur donner un nouveau sens et une nouvelle teneur. 

Droits acquis, traditions, privilèges et richesses, idéologies et idées totalitaires – des aspects inhérents à toute société (postcoloniale) : Mount Average les remet en question. Dans cet environnement industriel, l’affrontement entre passé statique et présent fluide génère une friction productive qui soulève beaucoup de poussière. Avec, entre autres, le visage du KVS Pitcho Womba Konga.

Les spectacles de Julian Hetzel constituent à la fois des tentatives de décortiquer le monde et des propositions de stratégies pour le transformer. Son œuvre déploie des méthodes spéculatives pour apprendre à vivre avec des traumatismes du passé ainsi qu’à relever les défis actuels. L’avenir est entre nos mains.

Extra

Mount Average est un parcours performatif, où 4 personnes peuvent entrer par tranche de temps de 10 minutes. Le spectacle se déroule principalement en anglais et en néerlandais. Le samedi 1er avril entre 17 et 19 heures, vous aurez l'occasion d'assister à la représentation française.

Crédits

CONCEPT Julian Hetzel MET / AVEC / WITH Kristien De Proost / Lisi Estaras, Pitcho Womba Konga & Jana De Kockere / Simon Baetens DRAMATURGIE / DRAMATURGY Miguel Angel Melgares ARTISTIEK ADVIES / CONSEIL ARTISTIQUE / ARTISTIC ADVICE Sodja Lotker PRODUCTIELEIDING, DECOR / DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION, DÉCOR Wim Clapdorp PRODUCTIE ASSISTENT / PRODUCTION ASSISTENT Valentine Galeyn SCENOGRAFIE ASSISTENT / ASSISTENT SCÉNOGRAPHIE / SCENOGRAPHY ASSISTENT Pleun Verhees KOSTUUMONTWERP / CONCEPTION COSTUMES / COSTUME DESIGN Andrea Kränzlin TECHNIEK / TECHNIQUE Piet Depoortere, Jonas Lambrigts, Jannes Dierynck & Anne Meeussen PRODUCTIE / PRODUCTION Ism & Heit Utrecht (NL) I.S.M. Campo Gent (BE) COPRODUCTIE / COPRODUCTION Frascati Producties (Amsterdam), Standplaats MET DE STEUN VAN / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE / WITH THE SUPPORT OF Fonds Podiumkunsten Nl, Fonds 21, Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, We Are Public, Kickstart Cultuurfonds, Vlaamse Gemeenschap & Stad Gent