KVS
Hatim Kaghat

"It was vital to speak out"

On Friday, 12 February, the initial verdict will be pronounced in the trial into little Mawda’s death. A police officer stands accused of firing the fatal shot and faces a one-year suspended sentence. Two other defendants were also put on trial - the presumed van driver and presumed co-driver - and face up to ten and seven years in prison. While media attention has focused on the bereaved family and the shooter, the other defendants have passed almost entirely unnoticed.

Now, the podcast The defendant no one heard is focusing on the fate of one of them, Mr Del. The podcast was created by Kristin Rogghe, together with Marie-Aurore d'Awans and Pauline Beugnies, after having attended both trials. The podcast creators are questioning the injustices in the judicial system and the dehumanisation of migrants at every stage. What if the balance of power in society at large was simply being reflected in the justice system? Their observations will be transformed into a stage play at KVS in the autumn, but in the meantime, these three young women examine the sociological aspect of the events, which they believe are symptoms of structural failings. We met with two of these critical witnesses.

Why did you create a podcast about the Mawda affair?

KR  It was vital to speak out. Few people had direct access to the trial, but we were able to attend. When we compared our experience of it with what was reported in the media, we felt that there was a story not being told. A dehumanisation of migrants throughout the whole process. 

In the podcast, you point particularly to inequalities in the treatment of the different people involved. 

K.R. Inequalities in treatment were apparent at all levels. In the sentences sought for the different defendants, of course (one year suspended for the police officer who fired the shot, ten years in prison for the presumed driver and seven years in prison for the presumed smuggler Editor’s Note) but also already evident in ‘details’ such as the arrangement of the court room. The police officer was not detained prior to trial and appeared in court facing the bench. The presumed smugglers were remanded in custody and were seated opposite the parents in court. From the beginning, there were translation problems when it became clear that Mawda’s family and the two accused could not understand the interpreter, who stated that he had only around 70 to 80% grasp of the Sorani language! Because the court had initially agreed to this interpreter, it was as though the justice system decided that it was fine for them to receive only 70-80% of their right to be judged in a language that they understood.

MAD'A They were even asked if they would agree to only a summary of the arguments being translated. All of these little things, one after the other, show that not everyone is placed on the same footing. No, you don’t just summarize the arguments, especially when people risk 10 and 7 years in prison. What’s even crazier is that the presumed driver and co-driver appeared before two hearings at the same time, in Mons and in Liège.

"The balance of power in society doesn’t stop at the court-room door."

Is this kind of dehumanisation the reason why a police officer can shoot at a van with people inside?

KR It’s hard to conclude that, because it isn’t just one police officer: it’s a whole system of dehumanisation and a migration policy that encourages it. So, every time there is an incident or event involving police officers, they try to blame it on exceptions, on ‘rotten apples’.

MAD’A The system always turns things on their head. In Mawda’s case, they said that it was the driver’s fault that she died. Or that the parents and family didn’t have to be there. Personally, I think that if Mawda’s parents had had another means of getting to England, they would have taken it. We wanted the podcast to change the way we tell the story. This time we’re listening to the presumed driver. Whether guilty or not, everyone has the right to state their case and be heard. 

Why has his voice not been heard?

KR It’s no coincidence that they were brought in at the very end. The trial was scheduled to take two days. At the end of those two days, we hadn’t heard from either of the presumed smugglers, nor their defence lawyers. We’d heard at great length from the police officer and his lawyer, but not from the other two defendants. So, they added a third day a few weeks later. The first two days were covered widely in the media, but the last day much less so. During the trial, the police officer’s humanity was emphasized through family stories, and that’s fine, but the others were constantly demonized. Ironically, the third day of the trial was 10 December, International Human Rights Day.  However, in the court that day, it seemed that there were humans and sub-humans. I was angry and we decided that Mr Del’s voice should be heard. It’s much easier to condemn someone to ten years in prison when you don’t see them as a human being, with emotions, dreams, a story and people who love them.

Is this a case of class justice in your opinion? 

KR Unfortunately, there is a clear double standard. 

MAD’A And an undocumented Iraqi is at the absolute bottom of the barrel. 

KR The balance of power in society doesn’t stop at the court-room door. Very often, people without power don’t even get to have a hearing. How often have cases been dismissed before trial when a police officer is implicated in the death of a racialized person? Without external pressure, Mawda’s case would never even have been brought to trial.

“The coroner ruled out death by gunshot without even going to the crime scene.”

How is the judicial treatment of this case symptomatic?

MAD’A During the whole trial, the parents’ story was constantly questioned. The trial started with a debate about the exact place where Mawda was sitting in the van at the time of the shooting. But is that so important? How did she die? By gunshot, full stop. A whole morning was taken up with questioning the parents’ statement.

KR It was very violent. The witness examination of the coroner and the ballistics expert gave the impression of using all possible means to make the unacceptable acceptable. If you state the facts, that a two-year-old child died because of a gunshot fired by a police officer, most people would say that was unacceptable. Whereas, for hours, experts were giving details on the trajectory of the ‘projectile’ when it penetrated her head. It all sounded scientific, but it’s a case of normalising the unacceptable. 

MAD’A And additionally, there were multiple versions, even in the statements: Police officers reportedly said that the child had fallen or even that migrants had used her head to break a window. The coroner ruled out death by gunshot without even going to the crime scene. This tendency towards a cover-up comes from a system, not an individual.

What do you think about the request for a 10-year sentence for the presumed driver?

MAD’A The Public Prosecution Service requested ten years because it was a repeat offence, as he had already been sentenced in France when he was barely 18.

KR People often mix up two terms: people smuggling and people trafficking. People smuggling is helping people to cross borders in exchange for a transaction. The issue which isn’t discussed is that there is hardly any legal way to request asylum, even for people who have the right to do so. They can’t get here legally to do so. 

MAD’A We know perfectly well that people find themselves driving vehicles or piloting boats because they want to cross the border themselves. They do it so that they can pay less by risking greater responsibility if they get caught.

KR There’s not even any evidence that Mr Del was driving. The traces of his DNA that were found could be explained in other ways. There are no witness statements naming him and many contradictory statements. The police officer himself identified someone else. It’s strange that for the undisputed crime, the gunshot, everyone is looking for exculpatory evidence. However, for the aspect where there is no concrete evidence, whether or not Mr Del was driving, there is no presumption of innocence.

MAD’A In court, Mr Del tried to explain himself succinctly. “I am not a people smuggler. I am a hairdresser and I have dreams for my life.”

There have been other cases where people have died through police contact. Are there links?

KR There’s a real problem with police impunity. To restore public confidence in the police, they need to acknowledge the structural problems and end the culture of silence and of tolerating the intolerable, such as racism. 

MAD’A You may remember that at the time of the death of Semira Adamu, the Belgian Minister for Home Affairs resigned and there was a wave of regularisations of migrants. On this occasion, Mawda’s parents had to wait more than nine months for temporary renewable papers, although their daughter is buried here. When Semira died, everyone was outraged that people were being treated like dirt, but in fact it’s gone from bad to worse. That’s why there should be a parliamentary inquiry.

 

CATHERINE MAKEREEL 

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

KVS
Hatim Kaghat

“Témoigner était une nécessité.”

Vendredi 12 février 2021, un premier verdict tombe dans l’affaire du décès de la petite Mawda. Un policier est accusé d’avoir tiré le coup de feu fatal et risque un an de prison avec sursis. Deux autres prévenus sont poursuivis en tant que présumés chauffeur et convoyeur de la camionnette, et risquent dix et sept ans de prison ferme. Si jusqu’à présent, l’attention médiatique s’est focalisée sur la famille endeuillée et le tireur, les deux derniers accusés sont presque passés inaperçus.

C’est sur le sort de l’un d’eux, Mr Del, que se penche « Le prévenu que personne n’a entendu », podcast réalisé par Kristin Rogghe. Après avoir assisté aux procès avec Marie-Aurore d’Awans et Pauline Beugnies, ces artistes s’interrogent sur l’injustice de la machine judiciaire et la déshumanisation des migrants à chaque étape. Et si la justice reflétait les rapports de force dans la société ? Avant de traduire leurs observations dans un spectacle prévu au KVS à l’automne, les trois jeunes femmes posent un regard plus sociologique sur ce drame, symptomatique d’après elles de défaillances structurelles. Nous avons rencontré deux de ces témoins critiques.

Pourquoi avoir réalisé un podcast sur l’affaire Mawda ?

KR  Témoigner était une nécessité. Nous avons pu assister au procès alors que peu de gens ont eu cet accès direct. En comparant ce qu’on a vécu avec ce qui est sorti dans la presse, on sentait qu’il y avait une histoire pas du tout relayée. Une déshumanisation des migrants qui se poursuit jusqu’au tribunal. 

Dans le podcast, vous pointez notamment une inégalité de traitement entre protagonistes. 

KR L’inégalité dans le traitement se reflète à tous les niveaux. Bien sûr, dans les peines requises entre les différents prévenus (un an avec sursis pour le policier qui a tiré, dix ans ferme pour le présumé chauffeur et sept ans ferme pour le présumé convoyeur, NDLR) mais ça commence déjà par des « détails » comme l’installation dans l’espace. Le policier est face aux juges et comparait libre. Les deux prévenus kurdes-irakiens sont incarcérés et assis sur le côté opposé des parents. Dès le début, il y a eu un problème de traduction lorsqu’on s’est aperçu que la famille de Mawda et les deux prévenus ne comprenaient pas l’interprète qui ne maitrisait selon lui que 70 à 80% de la langue sorani ! Puisqu’ils avaient accepté de travailler avec ce traducteur au départ, c’est comme si la justice considérait que cela suffisait pour eux d’avoir 70 à 80% de leur droit à être jugé dans une langue qu’ils comprennent.

MAD'A On leur a même demandé si cela leur convenait qu’on ne leur traduise qu’un résumé de ce qui se disait pendant les débats. Toutes ces petites choses, les unes après les autres, montrent qu’on ne met pas tout le monde sur le même pied. Non, on ne fait pas le résumé d’une plaidoirie, surtout quand on risque 10 et 7 ans de prison. Ce qui est dingue en plus, c’est que les présumés chauffeur et convoyeur comparaissaient dans deux procès en même temps, à Mons et à Liège.

“Les rapports de force dans la société ne s’arrêtent pas aux portes du tribunal.”

Est-ce cette déshumanisation qui explique qu’un policier puisse tirer sur une camionnette avec des gens dedans ?

KR C’est dur à dire comme ça parce qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un seul policier : c’est tout un système de déshumanisation, et la politique migratoire l’encourage. Or à chaque incident ou drame avec des policiers ou policières, ils essaient d’invoquer des exceptions, des « pommes pourries ».

MAD'A Le système retourne toujours les situations. Pour Mawda, ils disent que c’est de la faute du conducteur si elle morte. Ou que les parents et la famille n’avaient pas à être là. Moi je pense que si les parents de Mawda avaient eu un autre choix pour aller en Angleterre, ils l’auraient pris. Avec le podcast, on voulait changer le sens dans lequel on raconte l’histoire. Cette fois, c’est le présumé chauffeur qu’on écoute. Coupable ou pas, tout le monde a le droit de s’exprimer et d’être entendu. 

Pourquoi n’a-t-on pas entendu cette voix ?

KR Ce n’est pas un hasard s’ils sont passés à la fin, en tout dernier. Normalement le procès était prévu sur deux jours. A la fin des deux jours, nous n’avions pas entendu la parole des deux présumés passeurs, ni les plaidoiries de leurs avocats. On avait entendu en long et en large le policier et son avocat mais pas les deux autres. Donc, ils ont dû rajouter un troisième jour quelques semaines après. Les deux premiers jours ont été largement médiatisés mais ce dernier jour l’était beaucoup moins. Pendant le procès, le policier a été humanisé par des récits de famille, et c’est bien, mais les autres ont été sans cesse diabolisés. Ironiquement, le troisième jour du procès tombait le 10 décembre, journée internationale de la déclaration universelle des droits humains. Pourtant, ce jour-là, devant ce tribunal, il m’a paru qu’il y avait des hommes et des sous-hommes. J’ai ressenti de la colère et on s’est dit qu’il fallait que la voix de Mr Del soit entendue. C’est plus facile de condamner quelqu’un à dix ans de prison quand on ignore qu’il y a un homme derrière avec des émotions, des rêves, une histoire et des gens qui l’aiment.

Y voyez-vous une justice de classe ? 

KR Malheureusement, il y a clairement deux poids, deux mesures. 

MAD'A Et un Iraquien sans papier, c’est le bas du bas du panier.

KR Les rapports de force dans la société ne s’arrêtent pas aux portes du tribunal. Très souvent, les gens qui n’ont pas de pouvoir n’arrivent même pas à avoir un procès, surtout si l. Combien de non-lieux quand la police est impliqué dans la mort d’une personne racisée ? Dans l’affaire Mawda, sans pression externe, il n’y aurait jamais eu de procès.

« Le légiste avait exclu la mort par balle sans même se rendre sur place »

En quoi le traitement judiciaire de cette affaire est-il symptomatique ?

MAD'A Pendant tout le processus, l’histoire des parents a toujours été remise en cause. Le procès a commencé en débattant de la place exacte qu’occupait Mawda dans la camionnette au moment du tir. Est-ce si important ? Elle est morte de quoi ? D’une balle, ok, point. Cela a pris une matinée pour mettre en doute la parole des parents.

KR C’était très violent. Les auditions du médecin légiste et de l’expert balistique donnaient l’impression d’utiliser tous les moyens possibles pour rendre acceptable l’inacceptable. Si on raconte les faits, qu’un enfant de deux ans est mort à cause d’une balle tirée par un policier, la plupart des gens diraient que c’est inacceptable. Alors, durant des heures, les experts sont venus avec des détails sur la trajectoire du « projectile » lorsqu’elle a traversé la tête. Cela avait l’air d’être scientifique mais c’est normaliser l’inacceptable.  

MAD'A Par ailleurs, il y a eu plusieurs versions, même sur P.V. : Des policiers auraient dit qu’elle était tombée ou même que des migrants auraient utilisé la tête de l’enfant pour casser une vitre. Le légiste avait exclu la mort par balle sans même se rendre sur place. Ce désir de camouflage n’est pas l’initiative d’un homme mais d’un système. 

Que pensez-vous des dix ans requis pour le présumé chauffeur ?

MAD'A Le Ministère Public a requis dix ans car il y a récidive vu qu’il a déjà été condamné en France. Il avait à peine 18 ans à cette époque.

KR On mélange souvent deux termes : trafic d’êtres humains et traite d’êtres humains. Le trafic d’êtres humains, c’est aider des gens à passer des frontières en échange d’un avantage. Le problème qui n’est pas discuté, c’est qu’il n’y a quasiment pas de voie légale pour demander l’asile même pour des gens qui y ont droit. Ils ne peuvent pas arriver légalement ici pour le faire. 

MAD'A On sait très bien que des gens se retrouvent à conduire des véhicules ou des embarcations parce qu’eux-mêmes veulent passer. Ils le font pour payer moins en prenant le risque d’une responsabilité accrue s’ils se font prendre.

KR Il n’est même pas prouvé que Mr Del était au volant lors de la course-poursuite fatale. La présence de son ADN pourrait s’expliquer autrement. Il n’y a aucun témoignage qui le désigne et plein de déclarations contradictoires. Le policier lui-même a reconnu quelqu’un d’autre. Ce qui est étrange, c’est que pour la faute qui n’est pas contestable, c’est-à-dire le tir, tout le monde cherche des arguments à décharge. Par contre, là où il n’y a aucune preuve ferme, que Mr Del était ou non au volant, il n’y a aucune présomption d’innocence.

MAD'A Au tribunal, Mr Del a essayé de s’expliquer en peu de mots. « Je suis ne suis pas un trafiquant d’êtres humains. Je suis coiffeur, et j’ai des rêves dans ma vie ».

Il y a eu d’autres affaires de personnes décédées au contact de la police. Voyez-vous un lien ?

KR Il y a un réel problème d’impunité de la police. Pour réparer la confiance de la population, la police doit reconnaitre les problèmes structurels et mettre fin à la culture du silence et de tolérance de choses intolérables comme le racisme. 

MAD'A Il faut se rappeler qu’à l’époque de Semira Adamu, il y a eu une vague de régularisations et la démission du Ministre de l’Intérieur. Ici, les parents de Mawda ont dû attendre plus de neuf mois pour avoir une régularisation temporaire reconductible, alors que leur fille est enterrée ici. A la mort de Semira, tout le monde était scandalisé de ces gens traités comme des moins que rien. Mais en faite, cela est allé de pire en pire. C’'est pour ça qu’il faut une enquête parlementaire.

CATHERINE MAKEREEL

 

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies