KVS

MINDBLOWERS 2022: Amor

VUB & KVS
Tue 18.10.2022 18:00 - 21:30
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOL
18.10.2022
18:00 - 21:30
Past event

Scientists and artists are the visionaries of society. To give their voice and heartbeat a stage, KVS and VUB created Mindblowers. Expect performances at the crossroads of arts, culture and reflection.

What is humankind without love? Asking the question is answering it. No theme has filled more books, films and hearts than love. It seems indivisibly tied to the arts, where emotions, relationships and connection are often central tenets. But love is also the driving force in many sciences.

Is love overestimated? Is love really as close to hatred as is often claimed? When we say love, we often think of romantic love between partners, but we overlook the many other forms of love that exist. The love of parents for their children, between friends (framily, anyone?), love for an animal or for nature, ...

Do we also feel love for the world, for our planet and for humanity? Amor mundi, a concept that originated in the mind of philosopher Hannah Arendt, broaches this question. How can we all treat our earth lovingly, love each other as fellow humans, even if we are supposedly part of different groups? How can we bring back more solidarity and compassion in our world, and ensure a better future for everyone?

All intriguing questions and an ideal breeding ground for pressing interventions!

Is part of the selection:
English please

These speakers have confirmed:

  • An Jacobs is a professor at VUB. For Mindblowers, she delves into intimacy with non-human actors – think for example of how robots and technology are used today in the care sector and for sexual pleasure.
  • Kim Snauwaert and Anyuta Wiazemsky Snauwaert got married in 2018 – not for romantic reasons, but to work on a durable form of community and to redefine marriage as part of a joint art project.
  • Tom Deliens, Professor in Movement and Sports Sciences at VUB, proclaims his love for the body, for food, for eating and moving together, …
  • Lars De Laet, Professor of Architecture at VUB, finds love in bridges, both in a practical and a symbolic sense. For example, the Quechua community builds a new bridge every year, and in civil engineering bridges are seen as works of art.
  • Tine Hens, journalist and author of De wereld die we delen [The World We Share], talks about our love for the planet and how we are already grieving things we will lose due to climate change.
  • Khalid Benhaddou, Diversity and Inclusion Commissioner at UGent, director of research centre CIRRA and Belgium’s youngest imam, focuses on neighbourly love and charity, and how we can be more understanding of various expressions of love and culture.
  • Bahar Temiz, dancer, choreographer and KVS face, brings an updated version of her creation In Love (2014-16), a two-part solo performance in which she investigates how love can arise from objects. Together with sound designer Charo Calvo.
  • Liliane Saint-Pierre, Belgian pop icon, singer of the Eurovision hit Soldiers of Love and LGBTQIA+ rights pioneer, performs her greatest hits.

Students Tiphaine Clerincx and Jeremy Tshiyembi Kayoka will be Masters of Ceremony on this inspiring evening.

SebCat, the inspirer of Rebel Up will delight us with sultry records from all over the world, and then passes the torch to Sina Nimone, two former radio students at RITCS, who will continue the party until 1am.

Avila & KVS: film and theatre meet their match

There’s no doubting that Belgium is brimming with film talent. To help you pick the best of the bunch, the online video platform Avila has curated a careful selection, representing the best of Belgian…

KVS

MINDBLOWERS 2022: Amor

VUB & KVS
mar. 18.10.2022 18:00 - 21:30
KVS, Brussels
KVS BOL
18.10.2022
18:00 - 21:30
S'inscrire

Les scientifiques et les artistes sont les visionnaires de la société. Pour offrir une scène à ces voix et à ces battements du cœur, le KVS et la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) ont créé Mindblowers. Attendez-vous à des performances à la croisée de l’art, de la culture et de la réflexion.

Qu’est-ce que l’homme sans amour ? Poser la question, c’est y répondre. Aucun thème n’a inspiré plus de livres, de films et submergé plus de cœurs. L’amour et les arts paraissent être reliés par essence : les émotions, les relations et le lien jouent souvent le rôle principal dans les arts. Mais l’amour est aussi le catalyseur de nombreuses sciences.

L’amour est-il surestimé ? L’amour est-il vraiment aussi proche de la haine qu’on le prétend ? Qui dit amour, pense souvent à l’amour romantique, entre deux partenaires, mais en oublie qu’il en existe bien d’autres formes. L’amour des parents pour leurs enfants, l’amour entre ami·es – la famillechoisie –, l’amour pour un animal ou pour la nature...

Ressentons-nous également de l’amour pour le monde, pour notre planète et pour l’humanité ? Amor mundi, un concept qui a germé dans le cerveau de la philosophe Hannah Arendt, soulève cette question. Comment pouvons-nous collectivement traiter notre planète avec amour et ressentir de l’amour les uns pour les autres en tant qu’êtres humains, même si nous appartenons à des groupes apparemment différents ? Comment pouvons-nous générer plus de solidarité et de compassion dans le monde ? Et ainsi assurer un meilleur avenir pour tous ?

Autant de questions intrigantes et un terreau idéal pour des interventions sagaces et pertinentes !

Fait partie de la sélection :
English please

Ces intervenant·e·s sont confirmé·e·s :

  • An Jacobs est professeure à la VUB et lors de cette édition de Mindblowers, elle se penche sur l’intimité avec des acteurs non humains tels que les robots et la technologie mise en œuvre de nos jours dans le domaine des soins et pour le plaisir sexuel.
  • Kim Snauwaert et Anyuta Wiazemsky Snauwaert ont convolé en justes noces en 2018, non pas dans le cadre d’une romance, mais pour forger ensemble « une communauté de vie durable » et pour redéfinir le mariage en tant que projet artistique commun.
  • Tom Deliens, professeur en sciences du mouvement et en sport à la VUB célèbre l’amour porté au propre corps, à l’alimentation, au plaisir de manger et de faire du sport ensemble… 
  • Lars De Laet, professeur en architecture à la VUB, voit l’amour sous forme de ponts, autant au sens pratique que symbolique. Ainsi, la communauté Quechua construit chaque année un pont et la technique civile considère le pont comme une œuvre d’art.
  • Tine Hens, journaliste et autrice de De Wereld die we delen [Le monde que nous partageons] parlera de notre amour pour la planète et du deuil désormais entamé de tout ce que nous allons perdre à cause du changement climatique.
  • Khalid Benhaddou,  chargé de mission Diversité et Inclusion à UGent, directeur du centre de recherche CIRRA et le plus jeune imam de Belgique, porte son regard sur l’amour de son prochain et sur la manière dont nous pourrions témoigner davantage de compréhension pour les différentes expressions d’amour et les diverses cultures.
  • Bahar Temiz, danseuse, chorégraphe et visage du KVS revisite sa création In Love (2014-2016), un spectacle en solo en deux parties dans lequel elle analyse de quelle manière l’amour peut aussi naître d’objets.
  • Liliane Saint-Pierre, icône pop belge, chanteuse du tube de l’Eurovision Soldiers of Love et apôtre de la lutte pour les droits lgbtqia+, chante ses chansons les plus connues.

Les étudiants Tiphaine Clerincx et Jeremy Tshiyembi Kayoka seront les Maîtres de Cérémonie de cette soirée inspirante.
 

Consultez nos sélections