Congolisation

CONGOLISATION aka the Festival Afro-Diaspo-Arts Made in Belgium is a multidisciplinary festival with expositions, dance performances, theater, music, films, conferences, … The festival takes place in a Belgian context and wants to draw the attention to not only the Congolese but the entire African diaspora. It takes a look ‘from within’ diversity towards the world surrounding it, rather than a look ‘at’ this diversity. With Eddy Ape, Alesh, Nix, Moya Michael, Nadine Baboy, ... and many more! 

Sixty years have passed since independence for the countries of sub-Saharan Africa, and yet the debates haven’t stopped. Every so often new terminology arises to define or redefine the relationships that North and South should entertain. Currently, decolonisation is all the rage. Whereas independence applies to territory, decolonisation applies to the mind and for that matter to the imagination. The challenge consists in making sure other stories are being heard, not to compete with each other, but as an addition to the existing stories. To achieve this, it’s important to direct specific attention to those who have difficulties gaining access to these different spaces of expression. It’s within this context that CONGOLISATION takes place. The aim is to restore the balance in terms of visibility, speaking time and concerns, and to make sure that everyone has ‘equal opportunity to seize opportunity’.

The 5th edition of CONGOLISATION has the theme of ‘Links and roots’. This 60th birthday is a perfect moment in time for the festival to see how and why the African diaspora and the Afro descendants keep their connection with the motherland and the original culture. This means the festival wants to invite you, into a space of encounter where the dialogue between here and yonder can be held, in order to distinguish, observe and understand the challenges of these crossroads.

Resto Congolisation 

The love of culture also passes through the stomach! During CONGOLISATION, SoulFoodMama serves delicious culinary specialties in her Resto Congolisation: 

  • on Thursday 16 January: 17:00 - 22:30 (Café Congo) 
  • on Friday 17 January: 17:00 - 21:30 (Café Congo) 
  • on Saturday 18 January: 12:00 - 14:00 (KVS Brazza) & 19:00 - 00:00 (KVS BOL) 

More than a culinary concept, SoulFoodMama is an invitation to travel! For more than five years, Lina, driving force behind SoulFoodMama, has been preparing Afro-fusion-food without boundaries. The purpose of this exceptional project? Lina loves to share her knowledge, her roots and the things that make her human. 

Shows in this selection

  • <p>Sorry, we couldn’t find any matches for your search.</p>

    Sorry, we couldn’t find any matches for your search.

Congolisation

CONGOLISATION aka le Festival Afro-Diaspo-Arts Made in Belgium est un festival multidisciplinaire composé d’expositions, de danse, de théâtre, de musique, de films et de conférences. Le festival s’inscrit dans un context e belge et a pour vocation de mettre en relief la diversité artistique de la diaspora congolaise, en particulier, et africaine, en général. Il se définit non pas comme un regard « sur » cette diversité mais plutôt comme un regard « de » cette diversité sur le monde qui l’entoure.

Avec entre autres Eddy Ape, Alesh, Nix, Moya Michael, Nadine Baboy, ... Suivez de près cette page-ci, parce qu'au cours des prochaines semaines nous ajouterons encore des évènements. Il y a soixante ans, un flot de déclarations d’indépendance des pays d’Afrique noire a commencé. Malgré des années d’indépendance, les débats n’en finissent pas. En ce moment, il n’est pas rare d’entendre parler de «Décolonisation ».  Puisque l’acte d’indépendance concerne les territoires, celui de décolonisation est plutôt du domaine de l’esprit donc de l’imaginaire. L’enjeu est de permettre à d’autres récits d’être pris en considération, non pas pour être mises en concurrence mais plutôt pour apporter une complémentarité. Pour ce faire, il est nécessaire d’accorder une attention particulière à ceux qui n’ont pas la facilité d’accès à ces différents espaces d’expressions. C’est dans cette démarche que s’inscrit le festival, c’est à dire créer un moment pour tenter d’équilibrer la balance de visibilité, de temps de parole, des préoccupations et faire en sorte que les opportunités puissent être les mêmes pour tous.

La 5ème édition de CONGOLISATION aura comme thèmes «Liens et racines ». Ce 60ème anniversaire offre un cadre adéquat au festival pour se questionner sur le comment et le pourquoi de cette diaspora africaine, ces afrodescendants restent-ils en lien avec leur terre et leur culture d’origine. De manière concrète, le festival voudrait se positionner comme un espace de rencontre et de dialogue entre ici et là-bas pour mieux discerner, appréhender et comprendre les enjeux de ces intersections.

Resto Congolisation 

L’amour de la culture passe aussi par l’estomac ! Voilà pourquoi SoulFoodMama vous mijote de délicieuses spécialités culinaires pendant le festival CONGOLISATION dans son Resto Congolisation: 

  • jeudi 16 janvier: 17:00 - 22:30 (Café Congo) 
  • vendredi 17 janvier: 17:00 - 21:30 (Café Congo) 
  • samedi 18 janvier: 12:00 - 14:00 (KVS Brazza) & 19:00 - 00:00 (KVS BOL) 

Plus qu’un concept culinaire, SoulFoodMama est une invitation au voyage ! Depuis plus de cinq ans, Lina, la force motrice, prépare une cuisine afrofusion, sans frontières. L’objectif de ce projet particulier ? Lina veut partager ses connaissances, ses racines et tout ce qui la rend humaine.

Spectacles dans ce parcours