KVS
© Danny Willems

Junior Mthombeni

Junior Mthombeni is a theatre-maker, actor and musician. 

Junior Mthombeni is a theatre-maker, actor and musician. In recent years he has made a name for himself as the artistic head of the SinCollectief, with whom he created such highly praised productions as Troost (with the NoMoBS hip hop collective), Rumble in da Jungle and Reizen Jihad.

As a creator, he is also part of the collective Jr.cE.sA.r with Fikry El Azzouzi and Cesar Janssens. They were responsible for the successes Malcolm X (“breaking point in Flemish theatre history” – De Standaard) and Drarrie in de Nacht (“cool scattergun”, also according to De Standaard). Together with KVS artistic director Michael De Cock, he directed the Brel-adaptation of L’Homme de La Mancha, based on the book Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. This recent production was also widely praised: “A bomb. Explosive direction. Unexpected, poetic, and with a magnificent finale,” according to RTBF.

His work as a director presents a theatrical interpretation of burning topical issues (e.g. Syria fighters, corner boys, ...), but equally examines the contemporary significance of inspiring people, movements and events from the recent past, like Malcolm X. Working with a multiethnic cast, Mthombeni captures the metropolitan setting in a form of contemporary music theatre that is influenced by urban arts and musical traditions from every continent.

He himself also appeared on stage as a musician, singer and actor from a very early age. He has worked with, among others, Tone Brulin at the KNS and Alida Neslo at De Nieuwe Amsterdam, and for many years appeared with such bands as Afrobeat Association, El Tattoo Del Tigre, the African Jazz Pioneers and the Internationals.


In the spring of 2020, Junior Mthombeni brings a very personal story to the stage with Dear Winnie. As a tribute to his father, a former ANC resistance fighter, and to his confidant, Winnie Mandela, he creates a musical performance about the infectious power of exceptional people. 

PHOTOS
(high-res images which you can use free of charge with attribution)

Performances by and with Junior Mthombeni

Casting call Who's Tupac?

KVS is urgently looking for a female rapper / actress / performer or rapper / performer / singer who identifies as a woman for the touring production: Who's Tupac? directed by Junior Mthombeni.

Podcast KVS en route: Dear Winnie,

The first instalment of KVS en route gets you acquainted with Dear Winnie. Director Junior Mthombeni stops by to hand you some helpful insights. He guides you through four key scenes, each of which pr…

Tupac: how it started

City dramaturge Gerardo Salinas in conversation with writer Fikry El Azzouzi and actor Junior Akwety, who takes on one of the lead roles. 

The lexicon of Dear Winnie

In the performance Dear Winnie a number of specific concepts and names are mentionned that we list here and provide explanations for. 

This is what the audience thought of Dear Winnie

An evening that will reverberate for a long time, that much was clear from your reactions. Because we cherish your opinions, and because a sound is only real once it is heard, we have collected your r…

In this short documentary, young filmmakers Jaan Stevens and Aisha Adepoju aim their camera at three actresses from Dear Winnie. Alesandra Seutin, Tutu Puoane and Andie Dushime reflect on the past and…

KVS breaks out again: this time in a hospital, a school and a care home - and on our online platform 247.kvs.be.

KVS
© Danny Willems

Junior Mthombeni

Junior Mthombeni est créateur de théâtre, acteur et musicien. 

Junior Mthombeni est créateur de théâtre, acteur et musicien. Ces dernières années, il s’est fait remarquer, tout d’abord en tant que directeur artistique du SINcollectief avec lequel il a créé des spectacles unanimement applaudis, comme Troost (Consolation – avec le collectif de hip-hop NoMoBs), Rumble in da Jungle et Reizen Jihad (Voyages Jihad).

Ensuite, en tant que créateur dans le collectif Jr.cE.sA.r, avec Fikry El Azzouzi et Cesar Janssens. Ensemble, ils ont réalisé les spectacles à succès Malcolm X (« du jamais vu dans l’histoire du théâtre flamand » - De Standaard) et Drarrie in de Nacht (« une bombe à fragmentations », également dans De Standaard). Il a mis en scène, avec le directeur artistique du KVS, Michael De Cock, l’adaptation de Brel de L’Homme de La Mancha d’après le roman Don Quichotte de Miguel de Cervantes. Ce spectacle a aussi été accueilli avec enthousiasme : « C’est de la bombe. Une mise en scène explosive qui tient jusqu’au bout. C’est inattendu, c’est poétique, et avec une finale magistrale », selon la RTBF.

Ses mises en scène proposent une interprétation théâtrale de sujets brûlants de l’actualité (p.ex. des personnes parties combattre en Syrie, des jeunes désœuvrés qui traînent dans les rues), mais analysent aussi bien la signification contemporaine de personnages inspirants, de mouvements et d’événements du passé (récent), comme Malcolm X. Avec une distribution pluri-ethnique, Mthombeni saisit le contexte métropolitain et le transpose dans du théâtre musical contemporain influencé par les arts urbains et des traditions musicales des quatre coins du monde.

Très jeune déjà, Junior Mthombeni s’est produit sur scène en tant que musicien, chanteur et acteur. Il a travaillé, entre autres, avec Tone Brulin au KNS, avec Alida Neslo à De Nieuw Amsterdam, et a joué des années durant avec des groupes comme Afrobeat Association, El Tattoo Del Tigre, African Jazz Pioneers et les Internationals.

Au printemps 2020, Junior Mthombeni raconte une histoire très personnelle avec Dear Winnie. En hommage à son père, ancien résistant de l'ANC, et à sa personne de confiance, Winnie Mandela, il crée une performance musicale sur le pouvoir infectieux des personnes exceptionnels.

PHOTOS
(des photos en haute résolution que vous pouvez utiliser gracieusement 
à condition de mentionner la source)

Spectacles par et avec Junior Mthombeni

Audition Who's Tupac?

Le KVS cherche de toute urgence une rappeuse/actrice/performeuse ou un rappeur/performeur/chanteur qui s’identifie en tant que femme pour la production Who’s Tupac? mis en scène par Junior Mthombeni e…

Podcast KVS en route: Dear Winnie,

Le premier épisode de KVS en route vous guide à travers Dear Winnie. Le metteur en scène Junior Mthombeni vous pourvoit d’un joli bagage en vous emmenant par quatre scènes clés, représentant des momen…

Tupac : genèse du projet

Le dramaturge urbain, Gerardo Salinas, s’est entretenu avec Fikry El Azzouzi, auteur du spectacle, et Junior Akwety, qui interprète l’un des rôles principaux.

Le lexique de Dear Winnie

Dans le spectacle Dear Winnie, un certain nombre de concepts et de noms spécifiques sont discutés que nous énumérons ici et fournissons des explications.

Voici ce que le public a pensé de Dear Winnie.

Une soirée qui ne manquera pas de laisser des traces, c’est ce qui est apparu dans vos réactions dont nous nous faisons un plaisir de vous présenter quelques morceaux choisis. Nous réunissons donc ici…

Dans ce bref documentaire, les jeunes cinéastes Jaan Stevens et Aisha Adepoju donnent la parole à trois actrices de la pièce Dear Winnie. Alesandra Seutin, Tutu Puoane et Andie Dushime partagent leurs…

Le KVS change de nouveau d'air : cette fois dans un hôpital, une école et une maison de retraite. Et sur notre plateforme en ligne 247.kvs.be.